Biography

Xavier de Maistre

Current as of August 2019

Born in Toulon, Xavier de Maistre studied the harp with Vassilia Briano at his local conservatory, before continuing his studies with Catherine Michel and Jacqueline Borot in Paris. In 1998 he was awarded first prize at the prestigious USA International Harp Competition in Bloomington, Indiana and in the same year became the first French musician to be admitted to the Vienna Philharmonic.

As a soloist, Xavier de Maistre has performed under many leading conductors including Simon Rattle, Riccardo Muti, Daniele Gatti, Philippe Jordan, André Previn, Kristjan Järvi, Bertrand de Billy, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Daniel Harding and Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla. He has appeared with orchestras such as the Chicago, Montréal, São Paulo, City of Birmingham and Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestras, the London and China Philharmonic Orchestras, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg and the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, as well as with all the leading orchestras in his native France.

Xavier de Maistre has given recitals at the Lucerne Culture and Congress Centre, the Festspielhaus in Baden-Baden, the Liederhalle in Stuttgart, the Boulez Saal in Berlin and the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.

He has also performed at various major festivals including the Schleswig-Holstein, Rheingau, Salzburg, Verbier and Budapest Spring Festivals, the Würzburg Mozartfest and Mostly Mozart in New York. His chamber music partners include Diana Damrau, Arabella Steinbacher, Daniel Müller-Schott, Baiba Skride, Antoine Tamestit, Mojca Erdmann and Magali Mosnier.

In 2008 Xavier de Maistre became an exclusive artist with Sony Classical and recorded Nuit d’étoiles, dedicated to the music of Debussy, and was awarded the Echo Klassik Award for instrumentalist of the year. Subsequent albums include Hommage à Haydn (2009), Aranjuez (2010) and Notte Veneziana (2012). 2013 saw the release of a DVD with Diana Damrau and a recording of Mozart’s Flute and Harp Concerto K. 299 and Xavier de Maistre’s own transcription of the Piano Concerto No. 19 in F major K. 459 with the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg and Ivor Bolton. Following the release of Moldau in 2015, featuring Romantic works and arrangements, Xavier de Maistre recorded La Harpe Reine with Les Arts Florissants and William Christie. In March 2018 he released a duo album of Spanish repertoire with the legendary castanet performer Lucero Tena.

Since 2001 he has taught at the Music University in Hamburg.

Xavier de Maistre plays a Lyon-Healy harp.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Liederabende Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Xavier de Maistre
open gallery
Liederabende Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Xavier de Maistre
open gallery
Xavier de Maistre Harpist Harp
open gallery
Xavier de Maistre Harpist Harp
open gallery
Xavier de Maistre Harpist Harp
open gallery
Xavier de Maistre Harpist Harp
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Xavier de Maistre

Stand: August 2019

Xavier de Maistre wurde in Toulon geboren, begann sein Studium bei Vassilia Briano am Konservatorium seiner Geburtsstadt und setzte es in Paris bei Catherine Michel und Jacqueline Borot fort. 1998 gewann er den ersten Preis der renommierten USA International Harp Competition in Bloomington, Indiana, und wurde im selben Jahr als erster französischer Musiker Mitglied der Wiener Philharmoniker.

Als Solist konzertiert Xavier de Maistre mit namhaften Dirigenten wie Simon Rattle, Riccardo Muti, Daniele Gatti, Philippe Jordan, Kristjan Järvi, Bertrand de Billy, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Daniel Harding, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla und André Previn. Zu den Orchestern, mit denen er auftritt, zählen das Chicago Symphony Orchestra, das Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, das Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo, das City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, das Finnische Radiosinfonieorchester, das London Philhamonic Orchestra, die Chinesischen Philharmoniker, das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg und das Orchestre de la Suisse Romande sowie alle führenden französischen Orchester.

Rezitale führten ihn in das KKL Luzern, das Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, die Liederhalle Stuttgart, den Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin und die Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg. Xavier de Maistre gastiert zudem regelmäßig bei internationalen Festivals wie dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, dem Rheingau Musik Festival, den Salzburger Festspielen, dem Verbier Festival, dem Frühlingsfestival in Budapest, dem Mozartfest Würzburg und dem Mostly Mozart Festival in New York. Zu seinen Kammermusikpartnern zählen Diana Damrau, Arabella Steinbacher, Daniel Müller-Schott, Baiba Skride, Antoine Tamestit, Mojca Erdmann und Magali Mosnier.

2008 wurde Xavier de Maistre Exklusivkünstler bei Sony Classical, nahm das Debussy gewidmete Album Nuit d’étoiles auf und gewann den ECHO Klassik als Instrumentalist des Jahres. Danach erschienen die Alben Hommage à Haydn (2009), Aranjuez (2010) und Notte Veneziana (2012). 2013 veröffentlichte er eine DVD mit Diana Damrau sowie eine Aufnahme von Mozarts Konzert für Flöte und Harfe KV 299 und Xavier de Maistres eigener Transkription des Klavierkonzerts F-Dur KV 459 mit dem Mozarteumorchester Salzburg unter Ivor Bolton. Nach dem Album Moldau (2015) mit Werken der Romantik und Arrangements nahm Xavier de Maistre La Harpe Reine mit Les Arts Florissants und William Christie auf. Im März 2018 erschien ein Duo-Album mit spanischem Repertoire gemeinsam mit der Kastagnettenvirtuosin Lucero Tena.

Seit 2001 unterrichtet Xavier de Maistre an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg.

Xavier de Maistre spielt eine Harfe von Lyon & Healy.

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Liederabende Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Xavier de Maistre
Galerie öffnen
Liederabende Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Xavier de Maistre
Galerie öffnen
Xavier de Maistre Harpist Harp
Galerie öffnen
Xavier de Maistre Harfenist Harfe
Galerie öffnen
Xavier de Maistre Harfenist Harfe
Galerie öffnen
Xavier de Maistre Harfenist Harfe
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen