Biography

Tobias Moretti

Current as of July 2021

Tobias Moretti initially studied music at the Academy of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. After training as an actor at the Otto Falckenberg School in Munich, he left his first engagement at the Staatstheater Hannover to join the Munich Residenztheater under Frank Baumbauer. From 1986 he was an ensemble member at the Munich Kammerspiele, where he enjoyed success in productions including Shakespeare’s Troilus and Cressida, Fassbinder’s Katzelmacher and Achternbusch’s Der Frosch. Following his first guest appearances in Vienna, he made his Burgtheater /Akademietheater debut in 1995 with Chekhov’s A Marriage Proposal.

In 2001, Tobias Moretti played the leading role in the world premiere of Botho Strauss’s Pancomedia at the Schauspielhaus Bochum (director: Matthias Hartmann). He played Mozart in the world premiere of Peter Turrini’s Da Ponte in Santa Fe (director: Claus Peymann, co-production with the Berliner Ensemble, 2002), as well as the title role in Martin Kušej’s production of Grillparzer’s König Ottokar, which was shown at the Vienna Burgtheater until 2009. With Faust (director: Matthias Hartmann), he took on a further title role at the Burgtheater from 2009 to 2012. At the Munich Residenztheater, Tobias Moretti played Friedrich Hofreiter in Schnitzler’s Das weite Land from 2011 to 2014 and the Border Guard in Karl Schönherr’s Der Weibsteufel from 2012 to 2016; the latter, directed by Martin Kušej, was also revived at the Vienna Akademietheater in 2019. In Kušej’s staging of Mozart’s Die Entführung aus dem Serail at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence in 2015, he appeared as Bassa Selim. In 2016, he acted and sang as Macheath in Brecht’s and Weill’s Die Dreigroschenoper at the Theater an der Wien (conductor: Johannes Kalitzke, director: Keith Warner). At the Vienna Akademietheater in 2018, he played the role of Désiré /Romeo in the world premiere of Rosa oder Die barmherzige Erde, adapted from William Shakespeare and Dimitri Verhulst and directed by Luk Perceval. Since the 2019/20 season, Tobias Moretti has been an ensemble member at the Burgtheater.

In 2001, Tobias Moretti staged Don Giovanni in Bregenz, his first production as a director. In 2009, he directed Haydn’s Il mondo della luna at the Theater an der Wien (conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt). Prior to this, he staged a further two Mozart productions with Nikolaus Harnoncourt: Zaide at the Festspielhaus in Salzburg (Mozartwoche, 2005) and La finta giardiniera at the Opernhaus Zürich in 2006.

Tobias Moretti has regularly appeared in film and television productions since the early 1990s: after a stint in a TV series, he made numerous feature films, including Workaholic (director: Sharon von Wietersheim), Krambambuli (director: Xaver Schwarzenberger), Todfeinde (director: Oliver Hirschbiegel), Schwabenkinder (director: Jo Baier), Jürgen Flimm’s adaptation of Kleist’s Käthchen von Heilbronn and Jud Süß – Film ohne Gewissen (director: Oskar Röhler). This was accompanied by further television work, such as The Return of the Dancing Master (director: Urs Egger), his portrayal of Hitler in Heinrich Breloer’s docudrama Speer und Er and Das jüngste Gericht together with Christoph Waltz (director: Urs Egger). His television productions in recent years include Mobbing (director: Nicole Weegmann), Das Zeugenhaus (director: Matti Geschonneck), Alles Fleisch ist Gras (director: Reinhold Bilgeri), Im Namen meines Sohnes (director: Damir Lukačević), Andreas Prochaska’s three-part ORF miniseries Maximilian. Das Spiel von Macht und Liebe, Spuren des Bösen – Wut (also directed by Prochaska), Bad Banks (director: Christian Schwochow) and Achterbahn, a 2018 crime drama set in Vienna (director: Wolfgang Murnberger). His latest work for TV was shot in 2019: the thriller Im Abgrund (director: Stefan Bühling) and Louis van Beethoven (director: Niki Stein).

Tobias Moretti’s films in recent years include Das finstere Tal (director: Andreas Prochaska), Hirngespinster (director: Christian Bach), Der Vampir auf der Couch (director: David Rühm), Das ewige Leben and Luis Trenker – Der schmale Grat der Wahrheit (director: Wolfgang Murnberger), as well as Die Hölle – Inferno (director: Stefan Ruzowitzky). In 2016, he worked with Terrence Malick on his feature film about Franz Jägerstätter, A Hidden Life; in 2017, he made the movie Gipsy Queen (director: Hüseyin Tabak); and in 2018, he played Macheath in Mackie Messer – Brechts Dreigroschenfilm (director: Joachim A. Lang). 2019 saw the release of Deutschstunde, a highly acclaimed new adaptation of Siegfried Lenz’s book (director: Christian Schwochow), as well as Baumbacher Syndrome (director: Gregory Kirchhoff).

Tobias Moretti has received numerous awards, including the Bavarian Film Award (1995, 2013), the Bavarian TV Award (1999), the Grimme Award (2000, 2002) and multiple nominations and wins at the Austrian Romy awards, most recently in spring 2021. In 2020, his performance in Gypsy Queen received the Austrian Film Award for best actor in a leading role. He was also awarded the Salzburg Festival Pin in 2020. In 2005, he was awarded the Gertrud-Eysoldt-Ring by the German Academy of the Performing Arts for his stage performance as Ottokar. He received the German Film Award Lola in 2014, the Grand Diagonale Acting Prize in 2015 and the German Bambi Award for ‘Best Actor – national’ in 2015. In 2016, he was named ‘Austrian of the Year’ in the category of ‘cultural heritage’. In August 2021, he will be honoured with the European Cultural Award.

At the Salzburg Festival, Tobias Moretti appeared as Everyman’s Good Companion /Death in Jedermann from 2002 to 2005, in the 2005 premiere of Grillparzer’s König Ottokars Glück und Ende and as Bassa Selim in Mozart’s Die Entführung aus dem Serail in 2013 (director: Adrian Marthaler). From 2017 to 2020, Tobias Moretti performed the role of Jedermann and in 2019 premiered Albert Ostermaier’s monologue Zum Sisyphos. Ein Abendmahl.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Tobias Moretti actor
open gallery
Tobias Moretti Actor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Tobias Moretti

Stand: Mai 2019

Tobias Moretti studierte zunächst Musik an der Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien. Nach seiner Theaterausbildung an der Otto Falckenberg Schule in München wechselte er noch während seines ersten Engagements am Staatstheater Hannover zu Frank Baumbauer an das Residenztheater München. Ab 1986 war er Ensemblemitglied der Münchner Kammerspiele. Dort feierte er Erfolge u. a. in Shakespeares Troilus und Cressida, Fassbinders Katzelmacher und Achternbuschs Der Frosch. Nach ersten Gastspielen in Wien debütierte er 1995 am Burgtheater /Akademietheater in Tschechows Der Heiratsantrag.

2001 übernahm Tobias Moretti die Hauptrolle in der Uraufführung von Botho Strauß’ Pancomedia am Schauspielhaus Bochum (Regie: Matthias Hartmann). Er spielte den Mozart in der Uraufführung von Peter Turrinis Da Ponte in Santa Fe (Regie: Claus Peymann, Koproduktion mit dem Berliner Ensemble, 2002) sowie die Titelrolle in Martin Kušejs Inszenierung von Grillparzers König Ottokar, die bis 2009 am Wiener Burgtheater zu sehen war. Von 2009 bis 2012 war Tobias Moretti als Faust (Regie: Matthias Hartmann) am Burgtheater zu sehen. Am Residenztheater München spielte er von 2011 bis 2014 den Friedrich Hofreiter in Schnitzlers Das weite Land sowie von 2012 bis 2016 den Grenzjäger in Karl Schönherrs Weibsteufel (Regie: Martin Kušej). In Kušejs Inszenierung der Entführung aus dem Serail beim Festival d’Aix-en-Provence 2015 war er Bassa Selim. 2016 war er in Brecht/Weills Die Dreigroschenoper als Macheath am Theater an der Wien zu sehen und zu hören (Musikalische Leitung: Johannes Kalitzke, Regie: Keith Warner). 2018 feierte Luk Percevals Inszenierung Rosa oder Die barmherzige Erde nach Dimitri Verhulst und William Shakespeare mit Tobias Moretti in der Rolle des Désiré/Romeo am Wiener Akademietheater ihre Uraufführung.

2001 führte Tobias Moretti erstmals Regie bei der Opernproduktion Don Giovanni in Bregenz. 2009 inszenierte er am Theater an der Wien Haydns Il mondo della luna (Dirigent: Nikolaus Harnoncourt). Mit Nikolaus Harnoncourt gab es zuvor bereits zwei Mozart-Produktionen, 2005 dessen Zaide im Salzburger Festspielhaus im Rahmen der Mozartwoche und 2006 am Opernhaus Zürich La finta giardiniera.

Seit Anfang der Neunzigerjahre ist Tobias Moretti kontinuierlich für Film und Fernsehen tätig: Nach einem Serienausflug folgten zahlreiche Spielfilme, darunter Workaholic (Regie: Sharon von Wietersheim), Krambambuli (Regie: Xaver Schwarzenberger), Todfeinde (Regie: Oliver Hirschbiegel), Schwabenkinder (Regie: Jo Baier), Jürgen Flimms Adaption von Kleists Käthchen von Heilbronn oder Jud Süß – Film ohne Gewissen (Regie: Oskar Röhler). Dazu kamen Fernsehspiele wie The Return of the Dancing Master (Regie: Urs Egger), seine Hitler-Darstellung in Heinrich Breloers Dokudrama Speer und Er und Das jüngste Gericht (Regie: Urs Egger, mit Christoph Waltz). Zu den Fernsehproduktionen der letzten Jahre zählen Mobbing (Regie: Nicole Weegmann), Das Zeugenhaus (Regie: Matti Geschonneck), Alles Fleisch ist Gras (Regie: Reinhold Bilgeri), Im Namen meines Sohnes (Regie: Damir Lukacevic), Andreas Prochaskas ORF-Dreiteiler Maximilian. Das Spiel von Macht und Liebe sowie dessen Spuren des Bösen – Wut und Bad Banks (Regie: Christian Schwochow), zuletzt 2018 der Landkrimi Achterbahn (Regie: Wolfgang Murnberger).

Zu Tobias Morettis Kinoarbeiten der letzten Jahre zählen Das finstere Tal (Regie: Andreas Prochaska), Hirngespinster (Regie: Christian Bach), Der Vampir auf der Couch (Regie: David Rühm), Das ewige Leben und Luis Trenker – Der schmale Grat der Wahrheit (Regie: Wolfgang Murnberger) sowie Die Hölle – Inferno (Regie: Stefan Ruzowitzky). 2016 arbeitete er mit Terrence Malick am internationalen Spielfilm A Hidden Life über Franz Jägerstätter; 2017 drehte er den Kinofilm Gipsy Queen (Regie: Hüseyin Tabak); 2018 spielte er den Macheath in Mackie Messer – Brechts Dreigroschenfilm (Regie: Joachim A. Lang).

Zu den zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Preisen, Auszeichnungen und Nominierungen, die Tobias Moretti in über 30 Jahren erhalten hat, zählen der Bayerische Filmpreis (1995, 2013), der Bayerische Fernsehpreis (1999), der Grimme-Preis (2000, 2002) sowie mehrfache Nominierungen und Auszeichnungen mit dem österreichischen Film- und Fernsehpreis Romy, zuletzt 2017. 2005 wurde ihm für seine Darstellung des Ottokar der Gertrud-Eysoldt-Ring der Deutschen Akademie der Darstellenden Künste verliehen. 2014 erhielt er den Deutschen Filmpreis Lola, 2015 den Großen Schauspielpreis der Diagonale sowie den deutschen Medien- und Fernsehpreis Bambi in der Kategorie „Schauspieler national“; 2016 wurde Tobias Moretti „Österreicher des Jahres“ in der Kategorie „Kulturerbe“.

Bei den Salzburger Festspielen spielte Tobias Moretti von 2002 bis 2005 den Guten Gesell/Teufel im Jedermann; 2005 hatte Grillparzers König Ottokars Glück und Ende Premiere auf der Perner-Insel; 2013 gab er hier den Bassa Selim in Mozarts Die Entführung aus dem Serail (Regie: Adrian Marthaler). Seit 2017 ist er bei den Salzburger Festspielen als Jedermann zu sehen.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Tobias Moretti Schauspieler
Galerie öffnen
Tobias Moretti Schauspieler
Galerie öffnen
Salzburger Festspiele 2018 Jedermann Tobias Moretti Ensemble
Galerie öffnen
Salzburger Festspiele 2018 Jedermann Tobias Moretti Peter Lohmeyer Tod
Galerie öffnen
Salzburger Festspiele 2018 Jedermann Christoph Franken Mammon Tobias Moretti
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen