Biography

Teodor Currentzis

Current as of August 2018

Teodor Currentzis was born in Athens and studied at the Greek National Conservatory. He has lived in Russia since 1994, where he then studied at the St Petersburg Conservatory with Ilya Musin. Between 2004 and 2010 he was principal conductor of the Novosibirsk Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre and since 2011 has been artistic director of the Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre. At the start of the 2018/19 season he will take over as principal conductor of the SWR Symphony Orchestra in Stuttgart.

Highlights of his career include Don Carlos at the Paris Opéra, Weinberg’s The Passenger with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra in Bregenz, Così fan tutte with the Balthasar Neumann Choir and Ensemble in Baden-Baden, Wozzeck and Don Giovanni at the Bolshoi Theatre, Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District in Zurich, Iolanta and Persephone at Teatro Real, Madrid, Purcell’s The Indian Queen in a Perm Opera co-production with the Teatro Real and English National Opera, Dmitri Kourliandski’s Nosferatu and Syumak’s Cantos at the Perm Opera, Das Rheingold with musicAeterna at the Ruhr Triennale and La clemenza di Tito at the 2017 Salzburg Festival.

Conducted by Teodor Currentzis, Robert Wilson’s staging of La traviata, in a co-production with the Perm Opera Theatre, Unlimited Performing Arts of Copenhagen, the Linz State Theatre and Les Théâtres de la Ville in Luxembourg, became a milestone in the performing history of Verdi’s opera. For his work, Teodor Currentzis received the Golden Mask Russian National Theatre Award, his seventh such award.

Teodor Currentzis and musicAeterna record with Sony Classical. Their releases include Le nozze di Figaro, which won the 2014 Echo Klassik Award for opera recording of the year, Così fan tutte, which won CD of the year in Opernwelt in 2015, and Don Giovanni. Other recordings include Rameau: The Sound of Light, Le Sacre du printemps, which won the 2016 Echo Klassik Award for symphonic recording of the year, Les Noces and Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto with Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Tchaikovsky’s ‘Pathétique’ Symphony. Teodor Currentzis and musicAeterna’s earlier recording of Dido and Aeneas, with Simone Kermes as Dido, received international acclaim when it was released in 2008.

Teodor Currentzis is artistic director of the International Diaghilev Festival in Perm and founder and artistic director of the musicAeterna Orchestra and Choir. He is also co-founder of Moscow’s Territoria Festival and a recipient of the Order of Friendship and the Alfred Toepfer Foundation’s Kairos Culture Prize.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Teodor Currentzis Conductor
open gallery
Teodor Currentzis Conductor
open gallery
Teodor Currentzis Conductor
open gallery
Teodor Currentzis Conductor
open gallery
Teodor Currentzis Conductor
open gallery
Teodor Currentzis Condcutor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Teodor Currentzis

Stand: August 2018

Teodor Currentzis wurde in Athen geboren, wo er am Nationalen Konservatorium studierte. 1994 übersiedelte er nach Russland und setzte seine Ausbildung bei Ilya Musin am Sankt Petersburger Konservatorium fort. Von 2004 bis 2010 war er Chefdirigent des Opern- und Balletttheaters Nowosibirsk. Seit 2011 ist er Künstlerischer Leiter des Tschaikowski-Opern- und Balletttheaters Perm. Ab der Saison 2018/19 übernimmt er die Position des Chefdirigenten des SWR Symphonieorchesters in Stuttgart.

Zu den Höhepunkten seiner Karriere zählen Don Carlo an der Pariser Opéra, Weinbergs Die Passagierin mit den Wiener Symphonikern bei den Bregenzer Festspielen, Così fan tutte mit dem Balthasar-Neumann-Chor und -Ensemble in Baden-Baden, Wozzeck und Don Giovanni am Bolschoi-Theater in Moskau, Lady Macbeth von Mzensk am Opernhaus Zürich, Tschaikowskis Iolanta in Kombination mit Strawinskys Persephone am Teatro Real in Madrid, Purcells The Indian Queen als Koproduktion des Operntheaters Perm, des Teatro Real und der English National Opera, Dmitri Kourliandskis Nosferatu und Alexey Syumaks Cantos am Operntheater Perm, Das Rheingold mit musicAeterna bei der Ruhrtriennale 2015 in Bochum sowie La clemenza di Tito bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2017.

Die von Teodor Currentzis dirigierte La traviata in der Regie von Robert Wilson, die als Koproduktion des Operntheaters Perm, von Unlimited Performing Arts in Kopenhagen, des Landestheaters Linz und den Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg entstand, war ein Meilenstein in der Interpretationsgeschichte von Verdis Oper und brachte Currentzis zum siebenten Mal den Russischen Nationalen Theaterpreis Goldene Maske ein.

Im Rahmen ihres Vertrags mit Sony Classical haben Teodor Currentzis und musicAeterna mehrere Aufnahmen vorgelegt, darunter Le nozze di Figaro (2014, ausgezeichnet mit dem ECHO Klassik in der Kategorie Operneinspielung des Jahres – Oper bis inkl. 17./18. Jahrhundert), Così fan tutte (2014, bei der Opernwelt-Kritikerumfrage 2015 zur CD des Jahres gewählt) und Don Giovanni (2016), außerdem Rameau – The Sound of Light (2014), Strawinskys Le Sacre du printemps (2015, ausgezeichnet mit dem ECHO Klassik in der Kategorie Sinfonische Einspielung – Musik 20./21. Jahrhundert) sowie ein Album mit Strawinskys Les Noces und Tschaikowskis Violinkonzert mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja (2016). Weltweite Beachtung fand bereits eine Aufnahme von Purcells Dido and Aeneas (2008) mit dem musicAeterna Orchester und Chor sowie Simone Kermes als Dido.

Teodor Currentzis ist Künstlerischer Leiter des Internationalen Diaghilev-Festivals in Perm und Gründer und Künstlerischer Leiter des musicAeterna Orchesters und Chors. Er ist Mitbegründer des Festivals Territoria in Moskau sowie Träger des Ordens der Freundschaft und des Kairos-Kulturpreises der Alfred Toepfer Stiftung.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Teodor Currentzis Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Teodor Currentzis Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Teodor Currentzis Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Teodor Currentzis Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Teodor Currentzis Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Teodor Currentzis Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen