Biography

Sylvain Cambreling

Current as of July 2019

French-born conductor Sylvain Cambreling is principal guest conductor of Klangforum Wien and is well known for his persuasive championship of contemporary music.
He became chief conductor of the Hamburg Symphony Orchestra at the start of the 2018/19 season. At the end of March 2019 he finished his tenure as principal conductor of the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra in Tokyo, which he had held since 2010. Sylvain Cambreling was also general music director of the Stuttgart State Opera from 2012 to 2018, as well as being music director of La Monnaie in Brussels for a decade, before becoming music director at the Frankfurt Opera in 1993.
His most prominent opera productions include Pelléas et Mélisande and Les Troyens at the Salzburg Festival and Wozzeck, Fidelio and the Ring in Frankfurt. He has also conducted regularly at the Paris Opéra, including Saint François d’Assise, Pelléas et Mélisande, Katya Kabanova, La clemenza di Tito, The Love for Three Oranges, Don Giovanni, Le nozze di Figaro, Simon Boccanegra, Les Troyens, Louise, La traviata, Ariane et Barbe-Bleue and Wozzeck.
Sylvain Cambreling has conducted orchestras such as the Vienna and Berlin Philharmonics, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Frankfurt, Hamburg, Berlin, Hanover, Cologne, Copenhagen and Stockholm Radio Symphony orchestras, the Philharmonia Orchestra and the BBC Symphony Orchestra in London, the German Symphony Orchestra in Berlin, the Munich Philharmonic, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre de Paris and the Oslo Philharmonic. In North America, he has conducted the Cleveland Orchestra, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.
A great believer in imaginative programming, Sylvain Cambreling is famed for the originality of his concert planning, juxtaposing contrasting but related works or composers, including Haydn and Messiaen or Berlioz’s La Damnation de Faust and Schumann’s Szenen aus Goethes Faust. One of his boldest projects was the performance on consecutive evenings of Messiaen’s three largest works: the Turangalîla-Symphonie, Éclairs sur l’au-delà… and La Transfiguration de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ.
In 2009 Sylvain Cambreling won the Echo Klassik Award for conductor of the year and the German Record Critics’ Prize for best orchestral CD. The following year he won the MIDEM Contemporary Music Award for his recording of works by Messiaen with the SWR Symphony Orchestra Freiburg and Baden-Baden. In 2012 he was awarded the Cross of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Sylvain Cambreling Conductor
open gallery
Sylvain Cambreling Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Sylvain Cambreling

Stand: Juli 2022

Der gebürtige Franzose Sylvain Cambreling ist Ehrenmitglied und Erster Gastdirigent emeritus des Klangforum Wien und gilt als Meister der zeitgenössischen Musik.

Mit Beginn der Spielzeit 2018/19 wurde er Chefdirigent der Symphoniker Hamburg. Ende März 2019 beendete er seine Tätigkeit als Chefdirigent des Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra in Tokio, die er seit 2010 innehatte. Von 2012 bis 2018 war Sylvain Cambreling Generalmusikdirektor an der Staatsoper Stuttgart. 1993 wechselte er nach einem Jahrzehnt als Musikdirektor an der Monnaie in Brüssel an die Frankfurter Oper.

Zu seinen bedeutendsten Opernproduktionen zählen Pelléas et Mélisande und Les Troyens bei den Salzburger Festspielen sowie Wozzeck, Fidelio und der Ring in Frankfurt. Regelmäßig dirigierte er auch an der Pariser Opéra, darunter Saint François d’Assise, Pelléas et Mélisande, Kát’a Kabanová, La clemenza di Tito, Die Liebe zu den drei Orangen, Don Giovanni, Le nozze di Figaro, Simon Boccanegra, Les Troyens, Louise, La traviata, Ariane et Barbe-Bleue und Wozzeck.

Sylvain Cambreling dirigierte Orchester wie die Wiener und Berliner Philharmoniker, das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, die Radiosinfonieorchester in Frankfurt, Hamburg, Berlin, Hannover, Köln, Kopenhagen und Stockholm, das Philharmonia Orchestra und das BBC Symphony Orchestra in London, das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, die Münchner Philharmoniker, die Wiener Symphoniker, das Orchestre de Paris und das Oslo Philharmonic. In Nordamerika dirigierte er das Cleveland Orchestra, das Los Angeles Philharmonic, das San Francisco Symphony Orchestra und das Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

Sylvain Cambreling ist als großer Befürworter einfallsreicher Programmgestaltung bekannt für die Originalität seiner Konzertplanung und stellt kontrastierende, aber dennoch verwandte Werke einander gegenüber, darunter Haydn und Messiaen oder Berlioz’ La Damnation de Faust und Schumanns Szenen aus Goethes Faust. Eines seiner kühnsten Projekte war die Aufführung der drei größten Werke Messiaens an aufeinanderfolgenden Abenden: die Turangalîla-Symphonie, Éclairs sur l’au-delà… und La Transfiguration de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ.

2009 gewann Sylvain Cambreling den ECHO Klassik als Dirigent des Jahres und den Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik für die beste Aufnahme von Orchesterwerken. Im folgenden Jahr erhielt er den MIDEM Classical Award für zeitgenössische Musik für seine Einspielung von Werken Olivier Messiaens mit dem SWR Sinfonieorchester Freiburg und Baden-Baden. Im Jahr 2012 wurde er mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ausgezeichnet.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Sylvain Cambreling Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Sylvain Cambreling Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen