Biography

SWR Symphonieorchester

Current as of July 2021

Teodor Currentzis, one of the world’s most renowned conductors, has been chief conductor of the SWR Symphony Orchestra since the beginning of the 2018/19 season. The Orchestra was formed in September 2016 from the merger of the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra and the SWR Symphony Orchestra Baden-Baden and Freiburg. Its artistic profile combines various interpretive elements, including historically informed performance practice, the Classical-Romantic core repertoire and contemporary music.

Annual fixtures in the SWR Symphony Orchestra’s concert calendar include its own series in Stuttgart, Freiburg and Mannheim, as well as appearances at the Donaueschingen Music Festival and the Schwetzingen SWR Festival. The SWR Symphony Orchestra has been the resident orchestra at the Baden-Baden Whitsun Festival since 2020 and is regularly invited to appear at the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, the Konzerthaus in Vienna and the Philharmonie in Cologne. The SWR Symphony Orchestra has made guest appearances in cities such as Berlin, London, Frankfurt, Madrid, Dortmund, Salzburg, Essen, Edinburgh, Barcelona and Warsaw. In Asia, the SWR Symphony Orchestra last appeared on tour in China in May 2019.

Internationally sought-after conductors such as Herbert Blomstedt, Péter Eötvös, Christoph Eschenbach, Jakub Hrůša, Eliahu Inbal, Ingo Metzmacher, Kent Nagano, Roger Norrington, Michael Sanderling, Pablo Heras-Casado and David Zinman have worked with the SWR Symphony Orchestra. Among various leading soloists, the Orchestra’s artists in residence include Gil Shaham, Antoine Tamestit, Nicolas Altstaedt and Patricia Kopatchinskaja, as well as many other celebrated guests such as Hilary Hahn, Fazıl Say, Renaud Capuçon, Martin Grubinger, Janine Jansen, Sabine Meyer, Julia Fischer, Anna Vinnitskaya and Mischa Maisky.

The SWR Symphony Orchestra reaches around 15,000 children, young people and adults every year through its wide range of music education programmes. Music lovers around the world can also experience the Orchestra’s concert recordings via the SWR2 radio programme and the SWRClassic.de web portal.

read more collapse

Biografie

SWR Symphonieorchester

Stand: Juli 2022

Das SWR Symphonieorchester ging im September 2016 aus der Zusammenführung des Radio-Sinfonieorchesters Stuttgart und des SWR Sinfonieorchesters Baden-Baden und Freiburg hervor. Interpretationsansätze aus der historisch informierten Aufführungspraxis, das klassisch-romantische Kernrepertoire sowie Musik der Gegenwart prägen gleichermaßen das künstlerische Profil des Orchesters. Seit Beginn der Saison 2018/19 steht mit Teodor Currentzis einer der international gefragtesten Dirigenten an der Spitze des SWR Symphonieorchesters.

Zu den jährlichen Fixpunkten im Konzertkalender des SWR Symphonieorchesters zählen die Konzertreihen in Stuttgart, Freiburg und Mannheim sowie Auftritte bei den Donaueschinger Musiktagen und den Schwetzinger SWR Festspielen. Seit 2020 ist das SWR Symphonieorchester Residenzorchester der Pfingstfestspiele Baden-Baden. Einladungen führen das Orchester regelmäßig in die Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, ins Wiener Konzerthaus und die Kölner Philharmonie. Es gastierte u. a. in Berlin, London, Frankfurt, Madrid, Dortmund, Salzburg, Essen, Edinburgh, Barcelona und Warschau. Im asiatischen Raum konzertierte das SWR Symphonieorchester zuletzt im Mai 2019 auf einer China-Tournee.

International gefragte Dirigenten wie Herbert Blomstedt, Peter Eötvös, Christoph Eschenbach, Jakub Hrůša, Eliahu Inbal, Ingo Metzmacher, Kent Nagano, Roger Norrington, Michael Sanderling, Pablo Heras-Casado und David Zinman haben mit dem SWR Symphonieorchester zusammengearbeitet. Unter den hochkarätigen Solistinnen und Solisten finden sich als Artists in Residence u. a. Gil Shaham, Antoine Tamestit, Nicolas Altstaedt, Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Vadym Kholodenko und Martin Grubinger sowie viele weitere namhafte Gäste wie Hilary Hahn, Sabine Meyer, Julia Fischer, Yulianna Avdeeva, Renaud Capuçon, Anna Vinnitskaya, Janine Jansen, Mischa Maisky, Vilde Frang und Fazıl Say.

Mit seinem umfangreichen Musikvermittlungsangebot erreicht das SWR Symphonieorchester jährlich rund 15 000 Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene im Sendegebiet des SWR. Musikfreunde auf der ganzen Welt können die zahlreichen Konzertaufzeichnungen im Radioprogramm SWR2 und über das Webportal SWRClassic.de miterleben.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen