Biography

Sandrine Piau

Current as of June 2019

A distinguished figure in the world of Baroque music, French soprano Sandrine Piau has appeared with conductors of the eminence of William Christie, Philippe Herreweghe, Christophe Rousset, Gustav Leonhardt, Ivor Bolton, Ton Koopman, René Jacobs, Marc Minkowski and Nikolaus Harnoncourt.

Among the numerous roles that she has sung to great acclaim in leading opera houses all over the world are Cleopatra (Giulio Cesare) and Morgana (Alcina) at the Paris Opéra, Dalinda (Ariodante) at the 2017 Salzburg Festival and in Monte Carlo, Alcina, Mélisande, Sandrina (La finta giardiniera) and Sœur Constance (Dialogues des Carmélites) at La Monnaie in Brussels, Alcina and Dalinda in Amsterdam, Pamina (Die Zauberflöte), Donna Anna (Don Giovanni) and Sœur Constance at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris and Despina (Così fan tutte) and Tytania (A Midsummer Night’s Dream) at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence.

Sandrine Piau has also made a name for herself as an outstanding exponent of French mélodies and German Lieder, working with accompanists of the distinction of Jos van Immerseel, Roger Vignoles and Susan Manoff. Her busy recital and concert schedule has taken her to New York, Paris, London, Tokyo, Munich, Zurich, Salzburg and Hamburg, the latter for the opening of the new Elbphilharmonie.

As a concert singer Sandrine Piau has appeared in recent years at the Salzburg Festival, New York’s Carnegie Hall, London’s Wigmore Hall, the Covent Garden Festival, the Vienna Musikverein, the Salle Pleyel, the Festival de Saint-Denis, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw and the Teatro Comunale in Florence and Bologna, while the leading orchestras with which she has shared a platform include the Berlin and Munich Philharmonics, the Orchestre de Paris and the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Sandrine Piau’s extensive discography includes four CDs of music by Handel and Mozart, three solo albums (Après un rêve, Évocation and, in 2018, Chimère) with Susan Manoff, with whom she has developed a close artistic partnership, and a highly praised CD of Mozart arias, Desperate Heroines, with the Salzburg Mozarteum Orchestra under Ivor Bolton.

Highlights of the 2018/19 season include her return to the Salzburg Festival, appearances at New York’s Lincoln Center with Les Arts Florissants and a European tour with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra.

Sandrine Piau was honoured with the title of Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 2006 and was named Singer of the Year at the 2009 Victoires de la Musique Classique.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Sandrine Piau Singer Soprano
open gallery
Sandrine Piau Singer Soprano
open gallery
Sandrine Piau Singer Soprano
open gallery
Sandrine Piau Singer Soprano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Sandrine Piau

Stand: Juni 2019

Die französische Sopranistin Sandrine Piau zählt zu den angesehensten Sängerinnen im Bereich der Barockmusik und ist unter so bedeutenden Dirigenten wie William Christie, Philippe Herreweghe, Christophe Rousset, Gustav Leonhardt, Ivor Bolton, Ton Koopman, René Jacobs, Marc Minkowski und Nikolaus Harnoncourt aufgetreten.

Auf internationalen Opernbühnen feierte sie in vielen Rollen Erfolge, u.a. als Cleopatra (Giulio Cesare) und Morgana (Alcina) an der Pariser Opéra, als Dalinda (Ariodante) bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2017 und in Monte Carlo, als Alcina, Mélisande, Sandrina (La finta giardiniera) und Sœur Constance (Dialogues des Carmélites) an der Monnaie in Brüssel, als Alcina und Dalinda in Amsterdam, als Pamina (Die Zauberflöte), Donna Anna (Don Giovanni) und Sœur Constance am Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris sowie als Despina (Così fan tutte) und Tytania (A Midsummer Night’s Dream) beim Festival d’Aix-en-Provence.

Einen herausragenden Namen machte sich Sandrine Piau auch als Interpretin des französischen und deutschen Liedrepertoires, dem sie sich mit Pianisten wie Jos van Immerseel, Roger Vignoles und Susan Manoff widmet. Ihre Rezital- und Konzertauftritte führten sie u.a. nach New York, Paris, London, Tokio, München, Zürich und Salzburg sowie nach Hamburg zur Eröffnung der Elbphilharmonie.

Als Konzertsängerin trat sie in den letzten Jahren bei den Salzburger Festspielen, in der Carnegie Hall, der Wigmore Hall, beim Covent Garden Festival, im Wiener Musikverein, der Salle Pleyel, beim Festival de Saint-Denis, im Amsterdamer Concertgebouw, im Teatro Comunale in Florenz und in Bologna auf und teilte das Podium mit führenden Orchestern, darunter die Berliner und die Münchner Philharmoniker, das Orchestre de Paris und das Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Sandrine Piaus umfangreiche Diskografie umfasst vier CDs mit Musik von Händel und Mozart, die Soloalben Après un rêve, Évocation und Chimère (2018) mit Susan Manoff, mit der sie eine enge künstlerische Partnerschaft verbindet, sowie eine hochgelobte CD mit Mozart-Arien, Desperate Heroines, mit dem Mozarteumorchester Salzburg unter Ivor Bolton.

Zu den Höhepunkten der Saison 2018/ 19 zählen neben ihrer Rückkehr zu den Salzburger Festspielen Auftritte am New Yorker Lincoln Center mit Les Arts Florissants und eine Europa-Tournee mit dem Freiburger Barockorchester.

Sandrine Piau wurde 2006 mit dem Titel eines Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ausgezeichnet und 2009 bei den Victoires de la Musique Classique zur Sängerin des Jahres gekürt.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Sandrine Piau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Sandrine Piau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Sandrine Piau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Sandrine Piau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen