Biography

Russell Thomas

Current as of July 2019

American tenor Russell Thomas is already one of the most sought-after singers of his generation. Following his role debut as Otello at concert performances of Verdi’s opera with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, he appeared in 2018/19 in fully staged performances of the work at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin and with the Canadian Opera Company in Toronto. Plans for the coming season include appearances as Otello at the Washington National Opera and two further role debuts in Verdi operas: Ernani for the San Francisco Opera and Radamès (Aida) for the Houston Grand Opera and the Canadian Opera Company.

Russell Thomas’s most recent house debuts have taken him to the San Francisco Opera for Donizetti’s Roberto Devereux, to the Frankfurt Opera for Verdi’s Stiffelio, to the Bavarian State Opera for Manrico (Il trovatore) under Asher Fisch, to the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, for Gabriele Adorno (Simon Boccanegra) under Antonio Pappano and to the Lyric Opera of Chicago for Pollione (Norma). An alumnus of the Metropolitan Opera’s Lindemann Program, he has recently returned to the company for Rodolfo (La bohème) and Ismaele (Nabucco). The second of these productions was broadcast to cinemas worldwide as part of the Metropolitan Opera Live in HD series of relays.

Russell Thomas has already worked frequently with Peter Sellars, notably in 2014 for his English National Opera debut as Lazarus in John Adams’s The Gospel According to the Other Mary and for his Salzburg Festival debut in Sellars’s 2017 production of La clemenza di Tito under Teodor Currentzis. He had already appeared as Lazarus in the world premiere of the work with the Los Angeles Philharmonic under Gustavo Dudamel, a live recording of which was released by Deutsche Grammophon. He went on to sing Tito in a revival of the Salzburg production for the Dutch National Opera and in a new production under James Conlon at the Los Angeles Opera.

Russell Thomas is also in great demand as a concert artist. He has appeared in performances of Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra and in Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony for his BBC Proms debut, in both cases under Donald Runnicles. In 2019/20 he will be heard in Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony for his Vienna Konzerthaus debut under Gianandrea Noseda and with the Vienna Philharmonic under Andris Nelsons at the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie and at the Gasteig in Munich.

 

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Thomas Russell tenor
open gallery
Thomas Russell tenor
open gallery
Russell Thomas Singer Tenor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Russell Thomas

Stand: Juli 2019

Der amerikanische Tenor Russell Thomas hat sich rasch als einer der gefragtesten Sänger seiner Generation einen Namen gemacht. Nach seinem Rollendebüt als Verdis Otello in konzertanten Aufführungen mit dem Atlanta Symphony Orchestra sang er die Partie in der Spielzeit 2018/19 an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und der Canadian Opera Company in Toronto. Zu seinen Projekten der kommenden Saison zählen Auftritte als Otello an der Washington National Opera und zwei weitere Verdi-Rollendebüts: Ernani an der San Francisco Opera sowie Radamès (Aida) an der Houston Grand Opera und der Canadian Opera Company.

Seine jüngsten Hausdebüts führten Russell Thomas als Donizettis Roberto Devereux an die San Francisco Opera, als Verdis Stiffelio an die Oper Frankfurt, als Manrico (Il trovatore) unter Asher Fisch an die Bayerische Staatsoper, als Gabriele Adorno (Simon Boccanegra) unter Antonio Pappano ans Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, und als Pollione (Norma) an die Lyric Opera of Chicago. Er ist Absolvent des Lindemann Program der Metropolitan Opera, wohin er zuletzt als Rodolfo (La bohème) und Ismaele (Nabucco) zurückkehrte; letztere Produktion wurde im Rahmen der Reihe „Metropolitan Opera Live in HD“ weltweit in Kinos übertragen.

Russell Thomas hat bereits mehrmals mit Peter Sellars zusammengearbeitet, so 2014 bei seinem Debüt an der English National Opera als Lazarus in John Adams’ The Gospel According to the Other Mary – eine Rolle, die er bereits bei der Uraufführung des Werks mit dem Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra unter Gustavo Dudamel gestaltete (ein CD-Mitschnitt erschien bei Deutsche Grammophon) – und 2017 bei seinem Salzburger Festspieldebüt in der Titelrolle in La clemenza di Tito unter Teodor Currentzis. Er sang die Rolle des Tito anschließend in einer Wiederaufnahme der Salzburger Produktion an der Niederländischen Nationaloper und in einer Neuproduktion unter James Conlon an der Los Angeles Opera.

Auch auf dem Konzertpodium ist Russell Thomas sehr gefragt. Unter Donald Runnicles war er in Mahlers Lied von der Erde mit dem Dallas Symphony Orchestra und in Beethovens 9. Symphonie bei seinem Debüt bei den BBC Proms zu hören. In der Saison 2019/20 wird er Beethovens 9. Symphonie auch bei seinem Debüt im Wiener Konzerthaus unter Gianandrea Noseda sowie mit den Wiener Philharmonikern unter Andris Nelsons in der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie und im Gasteig in München aufführen.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Thomas Russell Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Thomas Russell Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Russell Thomas Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen