Biography

Rosa Feola

Current as of July 2019

Italian soprano Rosa Feola came to international prominence in 2010 after winning multiple awards, including the second prize, the audience prize and the zarzuela prize, at Plácido Domingo’s Operalia Competition. She studied with Mara Naddei and has attended masterclasses with Renata Scotto, Anna Vandi and Cesare Scarton at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome. She made her operatic debut as Corinna (Il viaggio a Reims) under Kent Nagano in Rome. Her other roles include Donizetti’s Adina (L’elisir d’amore) and Serafina (Il campanello), Gilda (Rigoletto), Nannetta (Falstaff), Susanna (Le nozze di Figaro), Zerlina (Don Giovanni), Musetta (La bohème) and Micaëla (Carmen). Past engagements have taken her to the Lyric Opera of Chicago, the Rome Opera, La Scala, Milan, the Teatro Regio in Turin, the Zurich Opera, the Teatro Real in Madrid, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich and the Deutsche Oper in Berlin as well as to the Ravenna and Glyndebourne Festivals. She first appeared at the Salzburg Festival in 2011 when she sang Inez in Mercadante’s I due Figaro under Riccardo Muti at that year’s Whitsun Festival.
In 2018/19 Rosa Feola made her acclaimed debut at the Metropolitan Opera in New York as Gilda under Nicola Luisotti. She also returned to the Bavarian State Opera for Musetta and Lauretta (Gianni Schicchi) and to the Zurich Opera for Sandrina and Gilda and made her successful role debut as Lucia di Lammermoor in Basel.
On the concert platform, too, Rosa Feola has already made a name for herself, working with conductors of the distinction of Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Daniel Oren, Bertrand de Billy, Nicola Luisotti, Giampaolo Bisanti, Bruno Campanella, Louis Langrée and Kent Nagano. Under Riccardo Muti, with whom she continues to work on a regular basis, she has sung Mahler’s Fourth Symphony and Nannetta with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.
Plans for the 2019/20 season include her return to Zurich and to La Scala for Adina, the role she will also sing at her forthcoming debuts at the Vienna and Hamburg State Operas. She will also sing Fiorilla (Il turco in Italia) at La Scala and in Zurich, Amina (La sonnambula) at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin and Gilda at the Munich Opera Festival.
Rosa Feola’s debut solo disc Musica e Poesia appeared in 2015 and features songs by Respighi, Martucci, Ponchielli, Pinsuti and Liszt. Her accompanist on that release was Iain Burnside, with whom she will also give song recitals in New York and Washington during the 2019/20 season.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Rosa Feola Soprano singer
open gallery
Rosa Feola Soprano singer
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Rosa Feola

Stand: Juli 2019

Die italienische Sopranistin Rosa Feola erregte internationale Aufmerksamkeit, als sie 2010 bei Plácido Domingos Operalia-Wettbewerb u.a. den zweiten Preis, den Publikumspreis und den Zarzuela-Preis gewann. Sie studierte bei Mara Naddei und nahm an der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom an Meisterklassen bei Renata Scotto, Anna Vandi and Cesare Scarton teil. Ihr Operndebüt gab Rosa Feola als Corinna (Il viaggio a Reims) unter Kent Nagano in Rom. Ihr Repertoire umfasst auch Donizettis Adina (L’elisir d’amore) und Serafina (Il campanello), Gilda (Rigoletto), Nannetta (Falstaff), Susanna (Le nozze di Figaro), Zerlina (Don Giovanni), Musetta (La bohème) und Micaëla (Carmen). Engagements führten sie u.a. an die Lyric Opera of Chicago, das Teatro dell’Opera in Rom, die Mailänder Scala, das Teatro Regio in Turin, das Opernhaus Zürich, das Teatro Real in Madrid, die Bayerische Staatsoper in München und die Deutsche Oper Berlin sowie zum Ravenna und zum Glyndebourne Festival. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen war sie erstmals zu Pfingsten 2011 zu erleben: als Inez in Mercadantes I due Figaro unter Riccardo Muti.
In der Spielzeit 2018/19 gab Rosa Feola ihr umjubeltes Debüt an der New Yorker Metropolitan Opera als Gilda unter Nicola Luisotti und kehrte als Musetta und Lauretta (Gianni Schicchi) an die Bayerische Staatsoper sowie als Sandrina und Gilda nach Zürich zurück; außerdem gab sie ihr erfolgreiches Rollendebüt als Lucia di Lammermoor in Basel.
Auch auf dem Konzertpodium hat sich Rosa Feola bereits einen Namen gemacht. Zu den Dirigenten, unter deren Leitung sie aufgetreten ist, zählen Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Daniel Oren, Bertrand de Billy, Nicola Luisotti, Giampaolo Bisanti, Bruno Campanella, Louis Langrée und Kent Nagano. Unter Riccardo Muti, mit dem sie weiterhin regelmäßig zusammenarbeitet, war sie u.a. in Mahlers 4. Symphonie und als Nannetta mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra zu hören.
In der Spielzeit 2019/20 kehrt Rosa Feola als Adina nach Zürich und an die Scala zurück und wird in dieser Rolle auch ihre Debüts an den Staatsopern in Wien und Hamburg geben. Außerdem singt sie Fiorilla (Il turco in Italia) an der Scala und in Zürich, Amina (La sonnambula) an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und Gilda bei den Münchner Opernfestspielen.
2015 erschien ihr erstes Soloalbum Musica e Poesia mit Liedern von Respighi, Martucci, Ponchielli, Pinsuti und Liszt. Mit dem Pianisten dieser CD, Iain Burnside, gibt Rosa Feola in der Saison 2019/20 auch Liederabende in New York und Washington.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Rosa Feola Sopran Sängerin
Galerie öffnen
Rosa Feola Sopran Sängerin
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen