Biography

Riccardo Muti

Current as of August 2019

Riccardo Muti was born in Naples and studied the piano with Vincenzo Vitale at the city’s Conservatorio di San Pietro a Majella, graduating with distinction, before going on to study composition and conducting with Bruno Bettinelli and Antonino Votto at the Giuseppe Verdi Conservatory in Milan.

Riccardo Muti first came to the attention of critics and public alike in 1967, when he was unanimously awarded first prize at the Guido Cantelli Conducting Competition in Milan. The following year he was appointed principal conductor of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, a position he held until 1980. In 1971 he was invited by Herbert von Karajan to conduct at the Salzburg Festival, the first of many such occasions. From 1972 to 1982 he was Otto Klemperer’s successor as principal conductor of the Philharmonia Orchestra. In 1980 he took over from Eugene Ormandy as music director of the Philadelphia Orchestra, remaining in charge until 1992.

From 1986 to 2005 Riccardo Muti was music director of La Scala, Milan. During his tenure — the longest in the house’s history — he oversaw several major projects, including a Mozart-Da Ponte cycle and Wagner’s Ring. Alongside the classics of the repertoire, including numerous operas by Verdi, he also brought rarely performed and neglected works to light, including Poulenc’s Dialogues des Carmélites, for which he won the prestigious Premio Abbiati. In December 2004 he triumphantly reopened the restored opera house with Salieri’s L’Europa riconosciuta.

In the course of his exceptional career, Riccardo Muti has conducted many of the world’s leading orchestras from the Berlin Philharmonic and Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra to the New York Philharmonic and the Orchestre National de France. He has particularly close ties to the Vienna Philharmonic and has appeared with the orchestra at the Salzburg Festival on a regular basis since 1971. When he conducted the orchestra’s 150th anniversary concert in 1992, he was presented with its Golden Ring. He began 2018 conducting the New Year’s Day Concert in Vienna, marking the fifth time he has conducted the event, following appearances in 1993, 1997, 2000 and 2004.

In 2004 Riccardo Muti founded the Luigi Cherubini Youth Orchestra, which is made up of young musicians selected by an international jury from more than 600 instrumentalists from all over Italy.

His social and civic conscience as an artist is reflected in the concerts he has conducted as part of his ‘The Paths of Friendship’ project organized by the Ravenna Festival. These concerts are given in places symbolizing our troubled past and contemporary history. Among the ensembles that he has conducted on these occasions are the Orchestra and Chorus of La Scala, the Orchestra and Chorus of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, the Musicians of Europe United and the Cherubini Youth Orchestra.

Riccardo Muti’s multi-award-winning discography ranges from Classical symphonic works to operas and contemporary music. His current label is RMMusic.

He has received innumerable awards. He is a Cavaliere di Gran Croce of the Italian Republic, a recipient of the German Order of Merit, an Officer of the French Legion of Honour and an honorary Knight Commander of the British Empire. The Salzburg Mozarteum has awarded him its Silver Medal and in Vienna he is an honorary member of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde, the Vienna Hofmusikkapelle and the Vienna State Opera. He has also been awarded the Russian Order of Friendship and Israel’s Wolf Prize for the Arts. He has received more than 20 honorary degrees from the most important universities of the world.

In 2007 Riccardo Muti initiated a five-year project with the Cherubini Orchestra at the Salzburg Whitsun Festival devoted to the rediscovery and reassessment of the operatic and sacred music heritage of the Neapolitan school of the 18th century.

In September 2010 Riccardo Muti became music director of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. The same year he was named musician of the year by Musical America. In 2011 his live recording of the Verdi Requiem with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus won two Grammy Awards, for best classical album and best choral performance.

In 2011 Riccardo Muti not only received the coveted Birgit Nilsson Prize, the Prince of Asturias Prize for the Arts and an Opera News Award, but he was also appointed an honorary member of the Vienna Philharmonic and honorary director for life of Teatro dell’Opera di Roma. In 2012 he was awarded the highest papal honour when Pope Benedict XVI appointed him a Knight of the Grand Cross First Class of the Order of St Gregory the Great. In 2016 he was honoured by the Japanese government with the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star. In October 2018 Riccardo Muti received the prestigious Praemium Imperiale for his life’s work.

In July 2015 Riccardo Muti set up a further scheme for training young musicians, when the first Riccardo Muti Opera Academy for young conductors, répétiteurs and singers attracted participants from all over the world to the Teatro Alighieri in Ravenna. The aim of the academy is to pass on to young musicians Riccardo Muti’s experience and mastery and to familiarize audiences with the complex process that goes into performing opera.

www.riccardomuti.com

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Wiener Philharmoniker Herbert Blomstedt Conductor
open gallery
Riccardo Muti conductor
open gallery
Wiener Philharmoniker Herbert Blomstedt Conductor
open gallery
Wiener Philharmoniker Herbert Blomstedt Conductor
open gallery
Riccardo Muti conductor
open gallery
Riccardo Muti conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biography

Riccardo Muti

Riccardo Muti wurde in Neapel geboren, wo er bei Vincenzo Vitale am Conservatorio di San Pietro a Majella Klavier studierte und mit Auszeichnung abschloss. Anschließend studierte er Komposition und Dirigieren bei Bruno Bettinelli und Antonino Votto am Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi in Mailand.

Muti erregte erstmals 1967 Aufsehen bei Presse und Publikum, als ihm einstimmig der erste Preis des renommierten Guido-Cantelli-Dirigierwettbewerbs in Mailand zuerkannt wurde. Im folgenden Jahr wurde er zum Chefdirigenten des Maggio Musicale Fiorentino ernannt, eine Position, die er bis 1980 innehatte. 1971 lud Herbert von Karajan ihn ein, bei den Salzburger Festspielen zu dirigieren – es wurde der erste vieler Auftritte dort. Von 1972 bis 1982 war er als Nachfolger Otto Klemperers Chefdirigent des Philharmonia Orchestra in London. 1980 übernahm er von Eugene Ormandy die Position des Musikdirektors des Philadelphia Orchestra, die er bis 1992 bekleidete.

Von 1986 bis 2005 war Riccardo Muti Musikdirektor der Mailänder Scala. Während seiner Amtszeit – der längsten in der Geschichte des Opernhauses – realisierte er wichtige Projekte wie die Mozart / Da Ponte-Trilogie und Wagners Ring und dirigierte neben den Klassikern des Repertoires – darunter zahlreiche Opern von Verdi – auch Raritäten und seltener aufgeführte Werke wie Poulencs Dialogues des Carmélites, die ihm den renommierten Premio Abbiati einbrachten, und Salieris Europa riconosciuta zur triumphalen Wiedereröffnung des renovierten Opernhauses im Dezember 2004.

Im Lauf seiner außerordentlichen Karriere hat Riccardo Muti viele der wichtigsten Orchester der Welt dirigiert: von den Berliner Philharmonikern und dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks bis zum New York Philharmonic und dem Orchestre National de France. Besonders eng ist er den Wiener Philharmonikern verbunden, mit denen er seit 1971 auch regelmäßig bei den Salzburger Festspielen auftritt. Als Muti 1992 das Konzert zu Ehren des 150-jährigen Jubiläums der Wiener Philharmoniker dirigierte, überreichte ihm das Orchester den Goldenen Ring. Am Neujahrstag 2018 leitete er zum fünften Mal, nach 1993, 1997, 2000 und 2004, das prestigeträchtige Neujahrskonzert der Wiener Philharmoniker.

2004 gründete Muti das Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini, in dem junge Musiker aus ganz Italien spielen, die von einer internationalen Jury unter etwa 600 Bewerbern ausgewählt werden.

Mutis soziales und zivilgesellschaftliches Bewusstsein schlägt sich u. a. in den Konzerten nieder, die er im Rahmen des vom Ravenna Festival veranstalteten Projekts „Le vie dell’Amicizia“ an Orten dirigiert hat, die unsere vergangene und zeitgenössische Geschichte reflektieren – mit dem Philharmonischen Orchester und dem Chor der Mailänder Scala, dem Orchester und Chor des Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, den Musicians of Europe United, einem Ensemble führender Musiker großer europäischer Orchester, und dem Orchestra Cherubini. Mutis vielfach preisgekrönte Diskografie reicht von klassisch-symphonischen Werken und der Opernliteratur bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik. Sein gegenwärtiges Label ist RMMusic.

Riccardo Muti sind unzählige Ehrungen zuteilgeworden. Er wurde zum Cavaliere di Gran Croce der italienischen Republik, zum Offizier der französischen Ehrenlegion sowie zum Knight Commander of the British Empire ernannt und erhielt das deutsche Bundesverdienstkreuz. Das Salzburger Mozarteum verlieh ihm seine Silbermedaille; in Wien wurde ihm die Ehrenmitgliedschaft der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde, der Wiener Hofmusikkapelle und der Wiener Staatsoper verliehen; in Russland der Orden der Freundschaft und in Israel der Wolf-Preis in der Kunst. Muti hat zahlreiche Ehrendoktorwürden erhalten, zuletzt 2014 von der Northwestern University in Chicago.

In Salzburg initiierte Riccardo Muti 2007 bei den Pfingstfestspielen ein fünfjähriges Projekt mit dem Orchestra Cherubini, das der Wiederentdeckung und Wertschätzung des musikalischen Erbes der neapolitanischen Schule des 18. Jahrhunderts, sowohl auf dem Gebiet der Oper wie auf dem der geistlichen Musik, gewidmet war.

Im September 2010 übernahm Riccardo Muti die Position des Musikdirektors des Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Ebenfalls 2010 wählte ihn Musical America zum Musiker des Jahres. 2011 gewann seine Live-Aufnahme von Verdis Messa da Requiem mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra und dem Chicago Symphony Chorus den Grammy Award in gleich zwei Kategorien: „Bestes Klassik-Album“ und „Beste Chor-Aufführung“.

2011 wurde Muti nicht nur mit dem renommierten Birgit-Nilsson-Preis, dem Prinz-von-Asturien-Preis für die Künste und dem Opera News Award ausgezeichnet und, sondern es wurde ihm auch die Ehrenmitgliedschaft der Wiener Philharmoniker verliehen. Zudem wurde er zum Ehrendirektor auf Lebenszeit des Teatro dell’Opera in Rom ernannt. 2012 erhielt er die höchste päpstliche Ehrung, als er von Papst Benedikt XVI. zum Großkreuz-Ritter I. Klasse des Gregoriusordens ernannt wurde. 2016 ehrte ihn die japanische Regierung mit dem Orden der aufgehenden Sonne in Gold und Silber. Im Juli 2018 wurde bekannt gegeben, dass Riccardo Muti für sein Lebenswerk mit dem renommierten Praemium Imperiale ausgezeichnet wird.

Im Juli 2015 rief Riccardo Muti ein weiteres Projekt zur Ausbildung junger Musiker ins Leben: Die erste Riccardo Muti Opera Academy für junge Dirigenten, Korrepetitoren und Sänger fand mit Teilnehmern aus der ganzen Welt im Teatro Alighieri in Ravenna statt. Ziel der Akademie ist es, Mutis Erfahrungen und Meisterschaft an junge Musiker weiterzugeben und dem Publikum die komplexe Entstehung einer Opernproduktion zu vermitteln.

www.riccardomuti.com

Stand: August 2018

mehr dazu collapse
)