Biography

Renaud Capuçon

Current as of August 2022

French violinist Renaud Capuçon was born in Chambéry in 1976 and began his musical education aged 14 at the Paris Conservatoire, where he won numerous awards. He then studied in Berlin with Thomas Brandis and Isaac Stern. In 1997 Claudio Abbado appointed him concertmaster of the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra, where he worked with conductors such as Pierre Boulez, Seiji Ozawa, Daniel Barenboim, Franz Welser-Möst and Claudio Abbado for three years.

Renaud Capuçon has since established himself as one of the most important violinists working today. He has performed with leading orchestras such as the Berlin, the Vienna and the New York Philharmonics, the London and Boston Symphony Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the Orchestra della Scala, the Orchestre National de France, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of de Venezuela under such renowned conductors as Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov, Stéphane Denève, Christoph von Dohnányi, Gustavo Dudamel, Christoph Eschenbach, Valery Gergiev, Bernard Haitink, Daniel Harding, Long Yu, Paavo Järvi, Andris Nelsons, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, François-Xavier Roth, Lahav Shani, Robin Ticciati and Jaap van Zweden.

He has a great affinity with chamber music and has appeared at the Edinburgh, Berlin, Lucerne, Verbier, Aix-en-Provence, Roque d’Anthéron, San Sebastián, Stresa, Tanglewood and Salzburg Festivals with Nicholas Angelich, Martha Argerich, Yuri Bashmet, Yefim Bronfman, Khatia Buniatishvili, Hélène Grimaud, Maria João Pires and Yuja Wang, as well as his brother, cellist Gautier Capuçon. He has also represented France at prestigious international events, including performing with Yo-Yo Ma under the Arc de Triomphe for the official centenary commemoration of Armistice Day and playing for world leaders at the G7 Summit in Biarritz.

Renaud Capuçon is artistic director of the Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence, which he founded in 2013, and in 2016 was appointed artistic director of the Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad. In 2017 he founded the Lausanne Soloists, comprised of current and former students of the Lausanne School of Music, where he has held a professorship since 2014. Since the 2021/22 season, he has taken over as chief conductor and artistic director of the Lausanne Chamber Orchestra.

Renaud Capuçon has amassed an extensive discography as an exclusive artist of Erato / Warner Classics. His latest CD, featuring Elgar’s Violin Concerto with the London Symphony Orchestra and Simon Rattle and the composer’s Violin Sonata with pianist Stephen Hough, was released in March 2021. His recording of contemporary concertos by Wolfgang Rihm, Pascal Dusapin and Bruno Mantovani was nominated for the French Victoires de la Musique in 2017 and won an ECHO Klassik.

In 2011 Renaud Capuçon was appointed Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Mérite and in 2016 Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur. In March 2020, he published his first book, Mouvement perpétuel.

Renaud Capuçon plays the Guarneri violin ‘Panette’ of 1737, which previously belonged to Isaac Stern.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Renaud Capuçon Violin Player Violin
open gallery
Renaud Capuçon Violin Player Violin
open gallery
Renaud Capuçon Violin Player Violin
open gallery
Renaud Capuçon Violin Player Violin
open gallery
Renaud Capuçon Violin Player Violin
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Renaud Capuçon

Stand: August 2021

Der französische Geiger Renaud Capuçon, geboren 1976 in Chambéry, begann seine musikalische Ausbildung mit 14 Jahren am Pariser Konservatorium und gewann noch während seines Studiums zahlreiche Preise. Danach studierte er in Berlin bei Thomas Brandis und Isaac Stern. 1997 ernannte ihn Claudio Abbado zum Konzertmeister des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters, in dem er drei Jahre lang mit Dirigenten wie Pierre Boulez, Seiji Ozawa, Daniel Barenboim, Franz Welser-Möst und Claudio Abbado zusammenarbeitete.

Seitdem hat sich Renaud Capuçon als einer der bedeutendsten Violinsolisten der Gegenwart etabliert. Er konzertierte mit führenden Orchestern wie den Berliner und den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem New York Philharmonic Orchestra, dem London und dem Boston Symphony Orchestra, dem Orchestre de Paris, dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, dem Orchester der Mailänder Scala, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe, dem Orchestre National de France und dem Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela unter der Leitung von namhaften Dirigenten wie Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov, Stéphane Denève, Christoph von Dohnányi, Gustavo Dudamel, Christoph Eschenbach, Valery Gergiev, Bernard Haitink, Daniel Harding, Long Yu, Paavo Järvi, Andris Nelsons, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, François-Xavier Roth, Lahav Shani, Robin Ticciati und Jaap van Zweden.

Renaud Capuçon hat eine große Affinität zur Kammermusik: Mit Künstlerpersönlichkeiten wie Nicholas Angelich, Martha Argerich, Yuri Bashmet, Yefim Bronfman, Khatia Buniatishvili, Hélène Grimaud, Maria João Pires und Yuja Wang sowie mit seinem Bruder, dem Cellisten Gautier Capuçon, trat er u. a. bei den Festivals in Edinburgh, Berlin, Luzern, Verbier, Aix-en-Provence, Roque d’Anthéron, San Sebastián, Stresa, Tanglewood und Salzburg auf. Darüber hinaus hat er Frankreich bei prestigeträchtigen internationalen Veranstaltungen vertreten: So war Renaud Capuçon u. a. mit Yo-Yo Ma unter dem Pariser Arc de Triomphe anlässlich der offiziellen Gedenkfeier zum 100. Jahrestag des Waffenstillstands nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg zu hören und spielte für die Staats- und Regierungschefs beim G7-Gipfel in Biarritz.

Er ist Künstlerischer Leiter des 2013 von ihm gegründeten Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence und wurde 2016 zum Künstlerischen Leiter der Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad ernannt. 2017 gründete er das Ensemble Lausanne Soloists, bestehend aus Studierenden und Absolventen der Hochschule für Musik in Lausanne, wo er seit 2014 unterrichtet. Ab der Saison 2021/22 übernimmt er als Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter das Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne.

Renaud Capuçon ist Exklusivkünstler des Labels Erato / Warner Classics und hat bereits eine umfangreiche Diskografie vorgelegt. Seine neueste CD, die Elgars Violinkonzert mit dem London Symphony Orchestra unter Simon Rattle sowie Elgars Violinsonate mit dem Pianisten Stephen Hough enthält, erschien im März 2021. Seine Aufnahme zeitgenössischer Konzerte von Wolfgang Rihm, Pascal Dusapin und Bruno Mantovani wurde für die französischen Victoires de la Musique 2017 nominiert und mit einem ECHO Klassik gewürdigt.

2011 wurde Renaud Capuçon zum Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Mérite und 2016 zum Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur ernannt. Im März 2020 veröffentlichte er sein erstes Buch, Mouvement perpétuel.

Renaud Capuçon spielt die Guarneri-Violine „Panette“ von 1737, die vorher Isaac Stern gehörte.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Renaud Capuçon Violinist Violine
Galerie öffnen
Renaud Capuçon Violinist Violine
Galerie öffnen
Renaud Capuçon Violinist Violine
Galerie öffnen
Renaud Capuçon Violinist Violine
Galerie öffnen
Renaud Capuçon Violinist Violine
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen