Biography

Raphaël Pichon

Current as of July 2018

French Baroque conductor Raphaël Pichon was born in 1984 and sang as a child at Versailles. He then studied at the Versailles Conservatory before continuing his studies at the Paris Conservatoire with Kenneth Weiss and Howard Crook. He also studied conducting with Pierre Cao and had further training in orchestral conducting with Michel Marc Gervais and Boris Tevlin.

Raphaël Pichon was invited to sing as a countertenor with Jordi Savall, Gustav Leonhardt, Ton Koopman, Gabriel Garrido, Vincent Dumestre and Laurence Equilbey’s ensembles. As a member of Les Cris de Paris, he developed his interest in contemporary repertoire and collaborated with groups such as Ensemble Intercontemporain, 2e2m, TM+ and Linea. His operatic appearances include the Spirit (Dido and Aeneas), the Shade of Bussiride (Ercole amante) and Nutrice (Giuditta).

Following the completion of his formal education, Raphaël Pichon founded the chamber choir OTrente, specializing in Romantic and contemporary repertoire, as well as founding a period instrument orchestra performing Classical and Romantic works. In 2005 he founded Ensemble Pygmalion, an orchestra and chorus of young professionals dedicated to period instrument performance, with whom he has appeared at renowned festivals in France and abroad. With them he has also recorded the complete Bach short masses, winning numerous awards. Other recent, highly acclaimed recordings include Missa 1733, Dardanus from Versailles and Bach’s Trauermusik BWV 244a.

Other conducting appearances include Gassmann’s L’opera seria in Nantes in 2010, a staged version of Bach’s St John Passion with the Holland Baroque Society and the Nationale Reisopera, the Christmas Oratorio with the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra, a cappella works by Brahms and Bruckner at La Folle Journée in Nantes and the Festival International de Piano La Roque d’Anthéron and a series of Rameau operas in Beaune, Versailles and Bordeaux. He also received particular praise for his 2013 performances of Hippolyte et Aricie at Versailles.

Future engagements include Castor et Pollux, Bach’s St John Passion and the Mass in B minor, a new production by Katie Mitchell at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence and productions at the Opéra de Bordeaux, the Opéra Comique, Versailles, the Paris Opéra, the Salle Pleyel, the Beaune, La Chaise-Dieu, Oslo and St Denis Festivals and the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.

read more collapse

Biografie

Raphaël Pichon

Stand: Juli 2018

Der 1984 geborene Dirigent Raphaël Pichon studierte Violine und Klavier in Versailles, bevor er sein Studium in den Fächern Alte Musik, Musiktheorie, Chor- und Orchesterleitung am Pariser Konservatorium bei Kenneth Weiss und Howard Crook fortsetzte. Zusätzlich belegte er die Fächer Dirigieren und Orchesterdirigat bei Pierre Cao, Michel Marc Gervais und Boris Tewlin.

Raphaël Pichon trat als Countertenor unter Dirigenten wie Jordi Savall, Gustav Leonhardt, Ton Koopman, Gabriel Garrido, Vincent Dumestre und Laurence Equilbey auf. Als Mitglied von Les Cris de Paris entwickelte er sein Interesse am zeitgenössischen Repertoire und arbeitete mit Ensembles wie dem Ensemble intercontemporain, 2e2m, TM+ und dem Ensemble Linea zusammen. Zu den Opernpartien, die er interpretierte, zählen The Spirit of Sorceress (Dido and Aeneas), Ombra di Bussiride (Ercole amante) und Nutrice (Giuditta).

Um sich stärker auch dem Repertoire der Romantik und zeitgenössischen Werken zu widmen, gründete Raphaël Pichon den Kammerchor OTrente und später ein zugehöriges Orchester, das auf historisch-authentischen Instrumenten Musik der Klassik und Romantik spielt. 2005 rief Raphaël Pichon das aus einem Chor und einem Orchester bestehende Ensemble Pygmalion ins Leben, das auf historische Aufführungspraxis spezialisiert und mit dem er bei namhaften Festivals zu Gast ist. Mit dem Ensemble Pygmalion spielte er u.a. alle Missae breves von Bach ein, die mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurden. Zu den jüngsten, hochgelobten Aufnahmen gehören Missa 1733, Dardanus aus Versailles und Bachs Köthener Trauermusik BWV 244a.

Als Gastdirigent betreute er Aufführungen von Gassmanns L’opera seria in Nantes 2010, eine szenische Fassung von Bachs Johannes-Passion mit Holland Baroque für die Nederlandse Reisopera, das Weihnachtsoratorium mit dem Stavanger Symfoniorkester, A-cappella-Werke von Brahms und Bruckner bei La Folle Journée in Nantes und dem Festival International de Piano La Roque d’Anthéron sowie mehrere Aufführungen von Opern Rameaus in Beaune, Versailles und Bordeaux. Große Anerkennung erhielt er für seine Aufführung von Hippolyte et Aricie in Versailles 2013.

Zukünftige Engagements beinhalten Castor et Pollux, Bachs Johannes-Passion und die h-Moll-Messe, eine Neuproduktion von Katie Mitchell für das Festival d’Aix-en-Provence sowie Produktionen an der Opéra National de Bordeaux, an der Opéra Comique in Paris, in Versailles, an der Pariser Opéra, im Salle Pleyel, bei den Festivals in Beaune, La Chaise-Dieu, Oslo und St. Denis und an der Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen