Biography

Placido Domingo

Current as of May 2022

Plácido Domingo is a singer, conductor and arts administrator. He has sung more than 150 different roles – more than any other singer in the history of music – and during his career has given around 4,100 performances to date. He appears at all the world’s major opera houses as a guest artist, and has made an unprecedented number of recordings. His discography of more than 100 complete operas, aria and duet albums and crossover projects has earned him twelve Grammy Awards, including three Latin Grammys. In addition, he has appeared in more than 50 music videos, and won two Emmy Awards for them. He participated in three opera films – Carmen, La traviata and Otello – and his television broadcast of Tosca, filmed in the original locations in Rome, was seen by more than one billion viewers in 117 countries. From 1990 he performed in ‘The Three Tenors’ with José Carreras and Luciano Pavarotti, giving concert performances worldwide for many years. In addition, he has conducted more than 600 opera performances and symphony concerts. In 1993 he founded the international singing competition Operalia; he has also served as the General Manager of Los Angeles Opera and Washington National Opera.

In 2009 Plácido Domingo added to his repertoire the baritone role of Simon Boccanegra, and went on to sing it at the Metropolitan Opera, New York, La Scala, Milan, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, and in Madrid, Berlin and Los Angeles. He followed this in 2010 with the title role of Rigoletto. In 2010 he also created the role of Pablo Neruda in the world premiere of Daniel Catán’s Il postino at Los Angeles Opera. In March 2012 he took on the role of Athanaël (Thaïs) in Valencia, and in the ensuing seasons added nine more Verdi baritone roles to his repertoire: Francesco Foscari (I due Foscari) in Los Angeles, Germont (La traviata) at the Metropolitan Opera, Nabucco at Covent Garden, Giacomo (Giovanna d’Arco) at the Salzburg Festival, Count di Luna (Il trovatore) and Macbeth at Berlin State Opera, Don Carlo (Ernani) at the Metropolitan Opera, the Marquis of Posa (Don Carlo) at the Vienna State Opera, and, in the 2017/18 season, Miller (Luisa Miller) at the Metropolitan Opera. In 2015 he sang the title role of Puccini’s Gianni Schicchi for the first time with Los Angeles Opera, and in May 2019, also with Los Angeles Opera, he made his first appearance as Juanillo in Manuel Penella Moreno’s El gato montés.

In 2020 he was awarded the Austrian Music Theatre Prize for his lifetime achievements. Highly acclaimed concerts followed at the Royal Palace of Caserta (Naples) and at La Scala. In January 2021 he celebrated his 80th birthday at the Vienna State Opera with a performance of Nabucco, broadcast live on ORF. Plácido Domingo has received numerous awards and in 2021 was named Honorary Ambassador of the World Heritage of Spain.

He made his debut at the Salzburg Festival in 1975 in the title role of Don Carlo, and has since appeared at the Festival in numerous opera productions (both staged and in concert) and concert performances, most recently in 2014 as Count di Luna, in 2016 as Athanaël, in 2017 as Francesco Foscari, in 2018 in his role debut as Zurga (Les Pêcheurs de perles) and in 2019 as Miller.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Plácido Domingo Tenor
open gallery
Plácido Domingo Singer Tenor
open gallery
Plácido Domingo Singer Tenor
open gallery
Plácido Domingo Singer Tenor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Placido Domingo

Stand: Mai 2022

Plácido Domingo ist Sänger, Dirigent und Kulturmanager. Er hat mehr als 150 verschiedene Partien gesungen – mehr als irgendein anderer Sänger in den Annalen der Musikgeschichte – und war bisher in über 4100 Auftritten zu erleben. Er ist in allen bedeutenden Opernhäusern der Welt zu Gast und hat eine beispiellose Anzahl von Aufnahmen vorgelegt. Seine über 100 Einspielungen von gesamten Opern, Arien- und Duettalben sowie Crossover-Projekten haben ihm zwölf Grammy Awards, darunter drei Latin Grammys, eingebracht; außerdem hat er mehr als 50 Musikvideos gedreht und zwei Emmy Awards gewonnen. Er spielte in drei Opernfilmen – Carmen, La traviata, Otello –, und seine von Originalschauplätzen in Rom im Fernsehen ausgestrahlte Tosca wurde von über einer Milliarde Menschen in 117 Ländern gesehen. Mit José Carreras und Luciano Pavarotti stand er ab 1990 als „Die drei Tenöre“ über viele Jahre weltweit gemeinsam auf der Konzertbühne. Darüber hinaus hat er über 600 Opernaufführungen und Symphoniekonzerte als Dirigent geleitet. Er gründete 1993 den internationalen Gesangswettbewerb Operalia und war zudem als General Manager der Los Angeles und der Washington Opera aktiv.

2009 fügte Plácido Domingo seinem Repertoire die Baritonrolle des Simon Boccanegra hinzu und sang sie im Folgenden an der Metropolitan Opera New York, der Mailänder Scala, am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, in Madrid, Berlin und Los Angeles. 2010 folgte die Titelpartie in Rigoletto. An der Los Angeles Opera übernahm er 2010 die Rolle des Pablo Neruda in der Uraufführung von Daniel Catáns Il postino. Im März 2012 sang er in Valencia erstmals Massenets Athanaël (Thaïs), und in den folgenden Saisonen erweiterte er sein Repertoire um neun weitere Baritonrollen von Verdi: Francesco Foscari (I due Foscari) in Los Angeles, Germont (La traviata) an der Met, Nabucco an Covent Garden, Giacomo (Giovanna d’Arco) bei den Salzburger Festspielen, Graf Luna (Il trovatore) und Macbeth an der Berliner Staatsoper, Don Carlo (Ernani) an der Met, Marquis von Posa (Don Carlo) an der Wiener Staatsoper sowie in der Spielzeit 2017/18 Miller (Luisa Miller) an der Met. Außerdem sang er in Los Angeles 2015 erstmals die Titelrolle in Puccinis Gianni Schicchi und im Mai 2019 erstmals den Juanillo in Manuel Penella Morenos El gato montés.

2020 wurde ihm der Österreichische Musiktheaterpreis für sein Lebenswerk verliehen. Es folgten vielbeachtete Konzerte im Palast von Caserta (Neapel) und an der Scala. Im Januar 2021 feierte er seinen 80. Geburtstag an der Wiener Staatsoper mit einer Vorstellung von Nabucco, die live im ORF übertragen wurde. Plácido Domingo wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet und 2021 zum Ehrenbotschafter des Spanischen Welterbes ernannt.

Bei den Salzburger Festspielen debütierte er 1975 in der Titelpartie in Don Carlo und war seither in einer Vielzahl von szenischen und konzertanten Opernproduktionen und Konzerten zu erleben, zuletzt 2014 als Graf Luna, 2016 als Athanaël, 2017 als Francesco Foscari, 2018 bei seinem Rollendebüt als Zurga (Les Pêcheurs de perles) und 2019 als Miller.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Plácido Domingo tenor
Galerie öffnen
Plácido Domingo Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Plácido Domingo Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Plácido Domingo Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen