Biography

Piotr Beczala

Current as of May 2022

Piotr Beczala is one of the most outstanding tenors of our time, and appears regularly as a guest artist at the world’s most important opera houses.
He began the 2021/22 season performing in Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony under Christian Thielemann in a concert at the Semperoper Dresden. Song recitals with the pianist Helmut Deutsch have taken him to the Theater im Park in Vienna, the Philharmonie Luxembourg and the Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg. He has also been heard at the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona with the pianist Sarah Tysman, and has performed an aria and lieder programme in São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro and Buenos Aires. Other concert and song recital engagements this season include performances at the Musikverein Graz, the Vienna State Opera, the Salzkammergut Festwochen in Gmunden and as part of the Great Voices concert series in Linz.

At the Zurich Opera in October 2021 Piotr Beczala made his role debut as Manrico (Il trovatore); this season he has also been heard at the Metropolitan Opera, New York, as Lensky (Eugene Onegin) and as the Duke of Mantua (Rigoletto). In addition, he has sung Cavaradossi (Tosca) at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, where he returns in June 2022 as Riccardo (Un ballo in maschera).

In 2006 Piotr Beczala made his Metropolitan Opera debut as the Duke of Mantua. He has since returned regularly to the Met as a guest artist in roles including Prince (Rusalka), Edgardo (Lucia di Lammermoor), Rodolfo (La bohème), Vaudémont (Iolanta), Riccardo, and Gounod’s Roméo and Faust. In 2011 he accompanied the Metropolitan Opera to Japan, and in 2012 in New York he made his role debut with the company as Des Grieux (Manon).
Piotr Beczala sings regularly at the State Operas of Munich and Vienna, and at La Scala, Milan. He has also been engaged by the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Teatre del Liceu, Barcelona, San Francisco Opera, the Dutch National Opera in Amsterdam, the Théâtre Royal de La Monnaie in Brussels, the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the Berlin State Opera, and by the Grand Théâtre de Genève, Warsaw National Opera and the Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg. At the Salzburg Festival he has most recently been heard as Rodolfo and Faust, as Vaudémont and Werther and, in 2019, as Rodolfo in a concert staging of Verdi’s Luisa Miller. In 2016 he made his role debut at the Semperoper Dresden as Lohengrin under Christian Thielemann, with Anna Netrebko as Elsa.

A sought-after concert performer and recitalist, Piotr Beczala took part in New Year’s Eve concerts in 2011 and 2012 at the Semperoper under Thielemann. Other concert engagements have taken him to cities including Baden-Baden, Amsterdam, Madrid, Budapest, Vienna, Milan and Oman.
Piotr Beczala was born in Czechowice-Dziedzice in the south of Poland, and studied at the Music Academy in Katowice, where he was taught by famous artists such as Pavel Lisitsian and Sena Jurinac.

He appears on numerous CDs and DVDs in a wide-ranging repertoire, and has released five solo albums to date. With Deutsche Grammophon he released his first album Mein ganzes Herz in 2013, and, in 2015, The French Collection. In May 2020 his album Vincerò! appeared on the Dutch label Pentatone. In 2014 he was named ‘Singer of the Year’ at the ECHO Klassik Awards.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Piotr Beczala Tenor Singer
open gallery
Piotr Beczala Tenor Singer
open gallery
tenor Piotr Beczala singer
open gallery
tenor Piotr Beczala singer
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Piotr Beczala

Stand: Mai 2022

Piotr Beczala ist einer der herausragenden Tenöre unserer Zeit und regelmäßig an den bedeutendsten Opernhäusern der Welt zu Gast.
Die Spielzeit 2021/22 begann er auf der Konzertbühne mit Beethovens 9. Symphonie unter Christian Thielemann an der Semperoper Dresden. Liederabende mit dem Pianisten Helmut Deutsch führten ihn ans Theater im Park in Wien, an die Philharmonie Luxembourg und in die Elbphilharmonie Hamburg. Er war mit der Pianistin Sarah Tysman am Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona zu hören und trat in einem Arien- und Liedprogramm in São Paulo, in Rio de Janeiro und Buenos Aires auf. Weitere Konzerte und Liederabende führen ihn in den Musikverein Graz, an die Wiener Staatsoper, zu den Salzkammergut Festwochen nach Gmunden und im Rahmen der Great Voices Konzertreihe nach Linz.

An der Oper Zürich gab Piotr Beczala im Oktober 2021 sein Rollendebüt als Manrico (Il trovatore); als Lenski (Eugen Onegin) und Herzog von Mantua (Rigoletto) war er an der Metropolitan Opera New York zu hören. Zudem sang er Cavaradossi (Tosca) an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München, wohin er im Juni 2022 als Riccardo (Un ballo in maschera) zurückkehren wird.

2006 debütierte Piotr Beczala als Herzog von Mantua an der Met, wo er seither regelmäßig zu Gast ist und Rollen wie u. a. Prinz (Rusalka), Edgardo (Lucia di Lammermoor), Rodolfo (La bohème), Vaudémont (Iolanta), Riccardo sowie Gounods Roméo und Faust sang. 2011 begleitete er die Met nach Japan und gab 2012 in New York sein Rollendebüt als Des Grieux (Manon).

Auch an den Staatsopern in München und Wien sowie an der Mailänder Scala ist Piotr Beczala regelmäßig zu erleben. Engagements führten ihn außerdem ans Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, das Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, die San Francisco Opera, die Niederländische Nationaloper in Amsterdam, das Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel, die Deutsche Oper Berlin und die Berliner Staatsoper, das Grand Théâtre de Genève, die Nationaloper Warschau und das Mariinski-Theater in Sankt Petersburg. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen war er zuletzt u. a. als Rodolfo und Faust sowie als Vaudémont, Werther und 2019 als Rodolfo in einer konzertanten Aufführung von Verdis Luisa Miller zu hören. 2016 gab er an der Semperoper Dresden sein Rollendebüt als Lohengrin unter Christian Thielemann mit Anna Netrebko als Elsa.
Als gefragter Konzert- und Liedsänger wirkte Piotr Beczala 2011 und 2012 in Silvesterkonzerten der Semperoper unter Thielemann mit. Weitere Konzertauftritte führten ihn u. a. nach Baden-Baden, Amsterdam, Madrid, Budapest, Wien, Mailand und in den Oman.
Piotr Beczala wurde in Czechowice-Dziedzice in Südpolen geboren und studierte an der Musikakademie in Katowice, wo er von so berühmten Künstlerpersönlichkeiten wie Pavel Lisitsian und Sena Jurinac unterrichtet wurde.

Er ist auf zahlreichen CDs und DVDs in einem breitgefächerten Repertoire zu erleben und legte bisher fünf Soloalben vor. Bei der Deutschen Grammophon veröffentlichte er 2013 sein erstes Album Mein ganzes Herz und 2015 The French Collection. Im Mai 2020 erschien sein Album Vincerò! beim niederländischen Label Pentatone. 2014 erhielt er den ECHO Klassik als „Sänger des Jahres“.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Piotr Beczala Tenor Sänger
Galerie öffnen
Piotr Beczala Tenor Sänger
Galerie öffnen
tenor Piotr Beczala sänger
Galerie öffnen
tenor Piotr Beczala sänger
Galerie öffnen
Piotr Beczala Luisa Miller Salzburger Festspiele 2019
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen