Biography

Peter Sellars

Current as of June 2017

Peter Sellars has gained international renown for his ground-breaking and transformative interpretations of artistic masterpieces and for collaborative projects with an extraordinary range of creative artists. He has staged operas at the Dutch National Opera, the English National Opera, the Lyric Opera of Chicago, the Opéra national de Paris and the San Francisco Opera, among others. He made his Salzburg Festival debut in 1992 with Messiaen’s Saint François d’Assise.

Peter Sellars has collaborated on the creation of many works with composer John Adams, including Nixon in China, The Death of Klinghoffer, El Niño, Doctor Atomic, A Flowering Tree and The Gospel According to the Other Mary. Inspired by the compositions of Kaija Saariaho, he has guided the creation of productions of her work that have expanded the field of modern opera, including the world premiere of her first opera, L’Amour de loin, at the 2000 Salzburg Festival.

Recent projects include concert stagings of Pelléas et Mélisande with the Berlin Philharmonic and the London Symphony Orchestra, the staging of Kaija Saariaho’s new opera Only the Sound Remains in Amsterdam and a revival of his production of Oedipus Rex/ Symphony of Psalms in Aix-en-Provence with Esa-Pekka Salonen. Sellars served as music director of the 2016 Ojai Music Festival in California. Plans for 2017 include La clemenza di Tito at the Salzburg Festival and the world premiere of John Adams’s new opera, Girls of the Golden West, at the San Francisco Opera.

Peter Sellars has led several major arts festivals, including the 1990 and 1993 Los Angeles Festivals and the 2002 Adelaide Festival of Arts. In 2006 he was artistic director of New Crowned Hope, a month-long festival in Vienna for which he invited artists from diverse cultural backgrounds to create new work in the fields of music, theatre, dance, film, the visual arts and architecture for the celebration of the 250th anniversary of Mozart’s birth.

Peter Sellars is a distinguished professor in the Department of World Arts and Culture at the University of California, Los Angeles, and a resident curator of the Telluride Film Festival in Colorado. He was a mentor for the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative. He is the recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship, the Erasmus Prize for contributions to European culture and the Gish Prize. He is also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2014 he was awarded the prestigious Polar Music Prize and named Artist of the Year by Musical America.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Peter Sellars Direction Director
open gallery
Peter Sellars Director Direction
open gallery
Peter Sellars Teodor Currentzis
open gallery
Peter Sellars Director Direction
open gallery
Peter Sellars Director Direction
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Peter Sellars

Stand: Juli 2019

Peter Sellars hat sich mit seinen bahnbrechenden und innovativen Interpretationen von Meisterwerken und mit Gemeinschaftsprojekten in Zusammenarbeit mit einer außerordentlichen Bandbreite an Kunstschaffenden internationales Ansehen erworben. Seine Operninszenierungen führten ihn u.a. an die Canadian Opera Company, die Niederländische Nationaloper, das Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, die Lyric Opera of Chicago, die Pariser Opéra und die San Francisco Opera. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen debütierte er 1992 mit Messiaens Saint François d’Assise.

Mit dem Komponisten John Adams arbeitete Peter Sellars an zahlreichen neuen Werken zusammen, darunter Nixon in ChinaThe Death of KlinghofferEl NiñoDoctor AtomicA Flowering Tree und The Gospel According to the Other Mary. In seiner Begeisterung für die Musik von Kaija Saariaho hat er einige Werke der finnischen Komponistin inszeniert (L’Amour de loin bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2000, Adriana Mater, Only the Sound Remains) und mit diesen Produktionen dem zeitgenössischen Musiktheater neue Bereiche erschlossen.

Zu Peter Sellars’ jüngsten Projekten zählen La clemenza di Tito bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2017, die Uraufführung der jüngsten Adams/Sellars-Zusammenarbeit, Girls of the Golden West, an der San Francisco Opera, eine Neuproduktion von Doctor Atomic an der Santa Fe Opera und eine gefeierte Inszenierung von Claude Viviers Kopernikus beim Festival d’Automne in Paris.

Peter Sellars hat mehrere bedeutende Kunstfestivals geleitet, u.a. das Los Angeles Festival 1990 und 1993 sowie das Adelaide Festival of Arts 2002. In Wien war er 2006 er künstlerischer Leiter von New Crowned Hope, einem einmonatigen Festival zur Feier von Mozarts 250. Geburtstag, für das er Künstler unterschiedlicher kultureller Herkunft einlud, Arbeiten in den Bereichen Musik, Theater, Tanz, Film, bildende Kunst und Architektur zu schaffen. Er war Musikdirektor des Ojai Music Festival 2016 in Kalifornien.

Peter Sellars ist Distinguished Professor im Department of World Arts and Cultures an der University of California in Los Angeles sowie Kurator des Telluride Film Festival in Colorado und war Mentor der Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative. Er erhielt das MacArthur Fellowship, den Erasmuspreis für Verdienste um die europäische Kultur und den Gish Prize und ist Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences. 2014 wurde er mit dem renommierten Polar Music Prize ausgezeichnet und von Musical America zum Künstler des Jahres gekürt.

 

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Peter Sellars Teodor Currentzis
Galerie öffnen
Peter Sellars Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Peter Sellars Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Peter Sellars Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Peter Sellars Regisseur Regie
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen