Biography

Peter Kálmán

Current as of March 2020

With his performances at leading international opera houses, Peter Kálmán has made a name for himself in a wide-ranging repertoire as one of today’s most versatile bass-baritones, enjoying equal success with his engaging portrayals of Italian buffo roles as in works by Bartók, Wagner and Strauss. The conductors with whom he has worked include Christoph von Dohnányi, Ádám Fischer, Valery Gergiev, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Ingo Metzmacher, Marc Minkowski, Nello Santi, Stefan Soltesz, Franz Welser-Möst and Jaap van Zweden.

Engagements during the 2019/20 season have included his American stage debut as Don Magnifico (La Cenerentola) in Seattle and Mustafà in a concert performance of L’italiana in Algeri under Jean-Christophe Spinosi at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris. After his return to the Salzburg Whitsun Festival for the title role in Don Pasquale he will appear as Alberich in Wagner’s Ring under Ádám Fischer at the Müpa in Budapest.

In 2018/19 Peter Kálmán was heard as the Impresario in Laurent Pelly’s production of Donizetti’s Le convenienze ed inconvenienze teatrali at the Grand Théâtre de Genève and as the King of Scotland in a revival of Christof Loy’s Salzburg production of Ariodante under Gianluca Capuano at the Opéra de Monte-Carlo.

Other recent highlights include Mustafà at the 2018 Salzburg Whitsun Festival, Don Magnifico under Enrique Mazzola at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées and Leporello in Thomas Allen’s production of Don Giovanni for Scottish Opera. He also dazzled audiences as Bartolo in Laurent Pelly’s new production of Il barbiere di Siviglia under Jérémie Rhorer at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées and also in Luxembourg and Edinburgh, where the production went on tour.

A native of Budapest, Peter Kálmán appears regularly at the Hungarian State Opera, notably in Così fan tutte, The Rake’s Progress, L’elisir d’amore and Der Rosenkavalier as well as in the title roles in Don Pasquale and Gianni Schicchi.

He made his Salzburg Festival debut at Whitsun 2012 as Curio (Giulio Cesare), returning as Boland (Fierrabras), Elmiro in Rossini’s Otello, Cadmus/Somnus in Handel’s Semele and Mustafà. He has also enjoyed great personal acclaim as Alberich (Götterdämmerung) with the Hong Kong Philharmonic, as Oroveso (Norma) in Paris, Baden-Baden and Monte Carlo, as the Tutor (Le Comte Ory) at the Theater an der Wien and as Bartolo (Le nozze di Figaro) at the Vlaamse Opera and the Theater an der Wien.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

open gallery
open gallery
Peter Kálmán Bass Opernsänger
open gallery
Peter Kálmán Bass Opera singer
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Peter Kálmán

Stand: März 2020

Mit seinen Auftritten an führenden internationalen Opernbühnen hat sich Peter Kálmán in einem breiten Repertoire als einer der interessantesten Bassbaritone unserer Zeit einen Namen gemacht. Dabei feiert er mit seinen charaktervollen Porträts italienischer Buffo-Rollen ebenso große Erfolge wie in Werken von Bartók, Strauss oder Wagner. Zu den vielen bedeutenden Dirigenten, mit denen er zusammengearbeitet hat, zählen Christoph von Dohnányi, Ádám Fischer, Valery Gergiev, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Ingo Metzmacher, Marc Minkowski, Nello Santi, Stefan Soltesz, Franz Welser-Möst und Jaap van Zweden.

In der Spielzeit 2019/20 gab Peter Kálmán sein amerikanisches Bühnendebüt als Don Magnifico (La Cenerentola) an der Seattle Opera und sang Mustafà in einer konzertanten Aufführung von L’italiana in Algeri unter Jean-Christophe Spinosi am Pariser Théâtre des Champs-Élysées. Nach seiner Rückkehr zu den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen in der Titelrolle in Don Pasquale ist er im Juni 2020 als Alberich in Wagners Ring unter Ádám Fischer am Müpa in Budapest zu erleben.

In der Saison 2018/19 gastierte Peter Kálmán als Impresario in Laurent Pellys Inszenierung von Donizettis Le convenienze ed inconvenienze teatrali am Grand Théâtre de Genève und als König von Schottland in Christof Loys Salzburger Inszenierung von Ariodante unter Gianluca Capuano an der Opéra de Monte-Carlo.

Zu den Höhepunkten der jüngeren Vergangenheit zählen auch Mustafà bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen 2018, Don Magnifico unter Enrique Mazzola am Théâtre des Champs-Élysées und Leporello (Don Giovanni) in der Regie von Thomas Allen an der Scottish Opera. Als Dottor Bartolo (Il barbiere di Siviglia) glänzte er 2017 in einer Neuinszenierung von Laurent Pelly unter Jérémie Rhorer am Théâtre des Champs-Élysées sowie in Gastspielen dieser Produktion in Luxemburg und beim Edinburgh Festival.

Der aus Budapest gebürtige Peter Kálmán ist regelmäßig an der Ungarischen Staatsoper zu Gast und stand dort u.a. in Così fan tutte, The Rake’s Progress, L’elisir d’amore und Der Rosenkavalier sowie in den Titelrollen in Don Pasquale und Gianni Schicchi auf der Bühne.

Sein Salzburger Festspieldebüt gab er zu Pfingsten 2012 als Curio (Giulio Cesare). Seitdem war er hier als Boland (Fierrabras), Elmiro in Rossinis Otello, Cadmus/Somnus in Händels Semele und Mustafà zu hören. Weitere Erfolge feierte er als Alberich (Götterdämmerung) mit dem Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, als Oroveso (Norma) in Paris, Baden-Baden und Monte Carlo, als der Erzieher (Le Comte Ory) am Theater an der Wien sowie als Bartolo (Le nozze di Figaro) an der Vlaamse Opera und am Theater an der Wien.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Peter Kálmán Bass Opernsänger
Galerie öffnen
Peter Kálmán Bass Opernsänger
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen