Biography

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Current as of August 2022

With a combination of depth, brilliance and humour, Patricia Kopatchinskaja brings an inimitable theatricality to her performances. Whether in a violin concerto by Tchaikovsky, Ligeti or Schoenberg, or in the presentation of an original scenic project, deconstructing Beethoven, Ustvolskaya or Cage, her distinctive approach always conveys the core of a work.

In the 2020/21 season she performed music by Shostakovich under Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla among other engagements, and was artist in residence with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and the SWR Symphony Orchestra. She brought her unique creativity to these residencies, performing Schoenberg’s Pierrot lunaire and her Dies irae project. Other highlights of the season included her debut at the BBC Proms, and recitals with her regular concert partners Joonas Ahonen and Polina Leschenko throughout Europe, including at the Vienna Konzerthaus, the Copenhagen Konzerthaus and the Franz Liszt Music Academy in Budapest.

Highlights of the 2021/22 season have included Kopatchinskaja’s residencies with the Berlin Philharmonic and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, a tour with the Budapest Festival Orchestra, appearances with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, and ongoing engagements as artistic partner of Camerata Bern.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja’s recording of Pierrot lunaire was released in April 2021. Her other recent CD releases include a Vivaldi project with Il Giardino Armonico, the album Plaisirs illuminés with Sol Gabetta and Camerata Bern, and Francisco Coll’s Violin Concerto with the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg and Gustavo Gimeno. The programme Death and the Maiden, for which she, together with the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, was awarded a Grammy in 2018, was given a new lease of life by Kopatchinskaja and Camerata Bern in 2021: it was broadcast in a semi-concert performance on HarrisonParrott’s streaming platform ‘Virtual Circle’.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja regularly performs works by leading contemporary composers such as Luca Francesconi, Michael Hersch, György Kurtág and Márton Illés. From 2014 to 2018 she was artistic partner of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. She has also been an artist in residence for various festivals, among them the 2017 Lucerne Festival and the 2018 Ojai Music Festival.

She is a humanitarian ambassador for Terre des hommes, the leading Swiss child relief agency, and was awarded the Swiss Grand Award for Music in 2017.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinist Violin
open gallery
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinist Violin
open gallery
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinist Violin
open gallery
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinist Violin
open gallery
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinist Violin
open gallery
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinist Violin
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Stand: August 2022

Mit einer Kombination aus Tiefe, Brillanz und Humor bringt Patricia Kopatchinskaja eine unnachahmliche Theatralität in ihre Auftritte. Ob ein Violinkonzert von Tschaikowski, Ligeti oder Schönberg oder bei der Präsentation eines originellen szenischen Projekts, das Beethoven, Ustwolskaja oder Cage dekonstruiert – ihr unverwechselbarer Ansatz vermittelt immer den Kern des Werks.

In der Saison 2020/21 brachte sie u. a. Musik von Schostakowitsch unter Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla zur Aufführung und war Residenz-Künstlerin beim Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France sowie beim SWR Symphonieorchester. Im Rahmen dieser Residenzen, die sie mit ihrer einzigartigen Kreativität gestaltete, führte sie auch Pierrot lunaire und ihr Dies irae-Projekt auf. Zu weiteren Höhepunkten der Saison zählen ihr Debüt bei den BBC Proms und Rezitale mit ihren regelmäßigen Konzertpartnern Joonas Ahonen und Polina Leschenko in ganz Europa, darunter im Wiener Konzerthaus, im Konzerthaus Kopenhagen und in der Franz-Liszt-Musikakademie in Budapest.

Die Höhepunkte der Saison 2021/22 beinhalteten ihre Residenzen bei den Berliner Philharmonikern und dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, eine Tournee mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra, Auftritte mit dem Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra sowie ihr fortgesetztes Engagement als Artistic Partner der Camerata Bern.

Patricia Kopatchinskajas Aufnahme von Pierrot lunaire erschien im April 2021. Weitere aktuelle CD-Veröffentlichungen umfassen ein Vivaldi-Projekt mit Il Giardino Armonico, das Album Plaisirs illuminés mit Sol Gabetta und der Camerata Bern sowie Francisco Colls Violinkonzert mit dem Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg und Gustavo Gimeno. Das Programm Death and the Maiden, für das sie 2018 gemeinsam mit dem Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra mit einem Grammy ausgezeichnet wurde, hat Kopatchinskaja 2021 mit der Camerata Bern zu neuem Leben erweckt: Es wurde als semi-konzertante Aufführung auf HarrisonParrotts Streaming-Plattform „Virtual Circle“ zur Verfügung gestellt.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja führt regelmäßig Werke von lebenden Komponisten wie Luca Francesconi, Michael Hersch, György Kurtág und Márton Illés auf. Von 2014 bis 2018 war sie Artistic Partner des Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. Außerdem war sie Artist in Residence bei verschiedenen Festivals, darunter das Lucerne Festival 2017 und das Ojai Music Festival 2018.

Sie ist humanitäre Botschafterin für terre des hommes, dem führenden Schweizer Kinderhilfswerk, und wurde 2017 mit dem Schweizer Grand Prix Musik ausgezeichnet.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinistin Geigerin Violine Geige
Galerie öffnen
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinistin Geigerin Violine Geige
Galerie öffnen
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinistin Geigerin Violine Geige
Galerie öffnen
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinistin Geigerin Violine Geige
Galerie öffnen
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinistin Geigerin Violine Geige
Galerie öffnen
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Violinistin Geigerin Violine Geige
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen