Biography

musicAeterna Choir

Current as of February 2020

The musicAeterna Choir was founded by Teodor Currentzis in Novosibirsk in 2004 and was the resident choir of the Perm Opera from 2011 to 2019. It entered a new phase of its existence in September 2019, when it became an independent, privately financed ensemble and chose St Petersburg as its base of operations. Its principal chorus master is Vitaly Polonsky.

The choir’s wide-ranging repertoire includes works by European and Russian Baroque composers, masterpieces of Russian choral music from the 18th to the 20th centuries, operas and new commissions. As the resident chorus at the Perm Opera, musicAeterna took part in new productions of Così fan tutte (2011), Le nozze di Figaro (2012) and Don Giovanni (2014), Purcell’s The Indian Queen (2013), Les Contes d’Hoffmann (2015), Prince Igor (2015), La traviata (2016) and La bohème (2017) as well as a series of new works specially written for the ensemble and including Dmitri Kourliandski’s Nosferatu (2014), Philippe Hersant’s Tristia (2015) and Alexey Syumak’s Cantos (2016).

MusicAeterna has an exclusive recording contract with Sony Classical. Among the CDs that the label has released are critically acclaimed recordings of works by Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Rameau and Stravinsky that have won many international prizes, including an Echo Klassik Award, an Edison Klassiek Award, a Japanese Record Academy Award and the BBC Music Magazine’s Opera Award. In 2018 the musicAeterna Choir was the recipient of an International Opera Award.

Under its artistic director Teodor Currentzis, the choir has performed in Salzburg, Vienna, Paris, Amsterdam, Lucerne, London, Madrid, Hamburg, Berlin, Moscow, St Petersburg, Perm, Athens and elsewhere. Among the leading international festivals where it is regularly invited to appear are the Ruhrtriennale, the Lucerne Festival, the Brussels Klarafestival, Moscow’s Golden Mask Festival and Perm’s Diaghilev Festival. The choir first appeared at the Salzburg Festival in 2017 in Peter Sellars’ production of La clemenza di Tito. In 2018 they performed in Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and returned in 2019 for Idomeneo, which was again staged by Peter Sellars.

Since 2019 musicAeterna has toured much more widely, with the choir made its critically acclaimed United States debut in Verdi’s Requiem in New York’s The Shed. It will make its Japanese debut in Beethoven’s Ninth in 2020.

The musicAeterna Choir works regularly with guest conductors, including Vincent Dumestre, Andres Mustonen, Paul Hillier, Raphaël Pichon, Andrea Marcon and Jérémie Rhorer.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

musicAeterna Choir
open gallery
musicAeterna Choir
open gallery
musicAeterna Choir
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

musicAeterna Choir

Stand: Februar 2020

Der musicAeterna Choir wurde 2004 in Nowosibirsk von Teodor Currentzis gegründet und war von 2011 bis 2019 der Residenzchor am Opernhaus Perm. Im September 2019 trat musicAeterna in eine neue Phase seines Bestehens ein: als unabhängiges, privat finanziertes Ensemble. Als Hauptsitz wurde St. Petersburg gewählt.

Das breitgefächerte Repertoire des Chors, dessen erster Chorleiter Vitaly Polonsky ist, umfasst Werke europäischer und russischer Barockkomponisten und Meisterwerke russischer Chormusik vom 18. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert ebenso wie Opern und zeitgenössische Auftragskompositionen. Als Residenzchor des Opernhauses Perm wirkte musicAeterna in Neuproduktionen von Così fan tutte (2011), Le nozze di Figaro (2012) und Don Giovanni (2014), Purcells The Indian Queen (2013), Les Contes d’Hoffmann (2015), Fürst Igor (2015), La traviata (2016) und La bohème (2017) sowie in einer Reihe neuer, eigens für das Ensemble entstandener Werke mit, darunter Dmitri Kourliandskis Nosferatu (2014), Philippe Hersants Tristia (2015) und Alexey Syumaks Cantos (2016).

MusicAeterna hat einen exklusiven Aufnahmevertrag mit Sony Classical. Die bei diesem Label erschienenen CDs mit Werken von Mozart, Tschaikowski, Rameau und Strawinsky wurden von der Kritik hoch gelobt und erhielten zahlreiche internationale Preise: den ECHO Klassik, den Edison Klassiek, den Japanese Record Academy Award und den Opera Award des BBC Music Magazine. 2018 wurde der musicAeterna Choir mit einem International Opera Award ausgezeichnet.

Unter der Leitung seines künstlerischen Leiters Teodor Currentzis ist der Chor in Salzburg, Wien, Paris, Amsterdam, Luzern, London, Madrid, Hamburg, Berlin, Moskau, St. Petersburg, Perm, Athen und anderen Städten aufgetreten. Zu den führenden internationalen Festivals, von denen musicAeterna regelmäßig Einladungen erhält, zählen die Ruhrtriennale, das Lucerne Festival, das Klarafestival in Brüssel, das Festival Goldene Maske in Moskau und das Diaghilev-Festival in Perm. Sein Salzburger Festspieldebüt gab der Chor 2017 in Peter Sellars’ Inszenierung von La clemenza di Tito. Nach einer Aufführung von Beethovens 9. Symphonie im Festspielsommer 2018 war er hier 2019 in einer weiteren Produktion von Sellars – Idomeneo – zu erleben.

2019 wurde die Tourneetätigkeit von musicAeterna geografisch stark ausgeweitet: Der Chor feierte sein USA-Debüt in Verdis Requiem im New Yorker Kulturzentrum The Shed, und 2020 wird er in Beethovens Neunter sein Japan-Debüt geben.

Der musicAeterna Choir arbeitet regelmäßig mit Gastdirigenten zusammen, darunter Vincent Dumestre, Andres Mustonen, Paul Hillier, Raphaël Pichon, Andrea Marcon und Jérémie Rhorer.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

musicAeterna Choir
Galerie öffnen
musicAeterna Choir
Galerie öffnen
musicAeterna Choir
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen