Biography

Mitsuko Uchida

Current as of August 2017

Legendary pianist Mitsuko Uchida brings deep insight to the music she plays through her own quest for truth and beauty. Renowned for her interpretations of Mozart, Schubert, Schumann and Beethoven, she has also illuminated the music of Berg, Schoenberg, Webern and Boulez for a new generation of listeners.

Artist in Residence at the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie, Mitsuko Uchida played the opening piano recital in January 2017. This season also marks the start of a three-year collaboration with the Southbank Centre in London. In 2016 Mitsuko Uchida was appointed artistic partner to the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and began a series of concerts directing Mozart concertos from the keyboard on tour in Europe and Japan. Other recent highlights include an acclaimed performance of the Schoenberg Piano Concerto with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Vladimir Jurowski at the 2015 BBC Proms, conducting the Cleveland Orchestra from the piano at Severance Hall and Carnegie Hall and two appearances at the 2016 Baden-Baden Festival with the Berlin Philharmonic and Simon Rattle. Her recital tours in 2016 included appearances at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, the Konzerthaus in Vienna, the Royal Festival Hall and Carnegie Hall.

With a strong commitment to chamber music, Mitsuko Uchida collaborates with the world’s finest musicians, including Dorothea Röschmann, the Quatuor Ébène and Magdalena Kožená in 2015, as well appearing in chamber music programmes with members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and with Jörg Widmann and members of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra at the Alte Oper in Frankfurt.

In 2017 Mitsuko Uchida will embark on a Schubert sonata series, featuring 12 of Schubert’s major works, which she will tour throughout Europe and North America. She returns to the Salzburg and Edinburgh Festivals and will appear with the Berlin Philharmonic and Simon Rattle, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Riccardo Muti and the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and Antonio Pappano.

Mitsuko Uchida’s loyal relationship with the finest orchestras and concert halls has resulted in numerous residencies. She has been artist in residence with the Cleveland Orchestra and the Berlin Philharmonic, at the Konzerthaus and the Mozartwoche and Lucerne Festivals. Carnegie Hall also mounted a perspectives series entitled Mitsuko Uchida: Vienna Revisited and the Concertgebouw dedicated a Carte Blanche series to her.

Mitsuko Uchida records exclusively for Decca. Her extensive discography includes the complete Mozart and Schubert piano sonatas. Since 2011 she has been recording Mozart’s piano concertos live, directing from the keyboard, with the Cleveland Orchestra. The first release won a Grammy in 2011 and the last instalment, featuring the 17th and 25th piano concertos, was released in autumn 2016. Her recording of the Schoenberg Piano Concerto with Pierre Boulez and the Cleveland Orchestra won four awards, including the Gramophone Award for best concerto.

Highly committed to the development of young musicians, Mitsuko Uchida is a trustee of the Borletti-Buitoni Trust and director of the Marlboro Music Festival. In June 2009 she was made a DBE. In May 2012 she was awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society’s gold medal and in 2014 received an honorary degree from the University of Cambridge. A guest of honour at the Mozartwoche Festival in 2015, Mitsuko Uchida was awarded the Gold Mozart Medal. In October 2015 she received the Premium Imperiale from the Japan Arts Association.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Piano player Mitsuko Uchida
open gallery
Piano player Mitsuko Uchida
open gallery
Piano player Mitsuko Uchida
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Mitsuko Uchida

Stand: August 2017

Mitsuko Uchida wird weltweit für ihre stets von intellektueller Wachheit und tiefer musikalischer Einsicht geprägten Interpretationen gefeiert. Bekannt als Expertin für die Klavierwerke von Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert und Schumann, legt die Pianistin aber auch einen Schwerpunkt auf Werke von Berg, Webern, Schönberg und Boulez.

In der Saison 2016/17 war Mitsuko Uchida als Portraitkünstlerin gleich mehrfach in der Elbphilharmonie zu Gast: So gab sie im Jänner im Rahmen des Eröffnungsfestivals den ersten Klavierabend im Großen Saal, zudem war sie mit Jörg Widmann mit einem kammermusikalischen Programm im Kleinen Saal zu hören. 2016 wurde Mitsuko Uchida zum Artistic Partner des Mahler Chamber Orchestra ernannt und gestaltete eine Konzertreihe, bei der sie auf Tourneen in Europa und Japan in den großen Konzerthäusern vom Flügel aus Mozart dirigierte. Weitere Höhepunkte waren eine bejubelte Aufführung von Schönbergs Klavierkonzert mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra unter Vladimir Jurowski bei den BBC Proms 2015, Konzerte mit dem Cleveland Orchestra in der Severance Hall in Cleveland und der Carnegie Hall in New York sowie mit den Berliner Philharmonikern und Simon Rattle bei den Festspielen Baden-Baden 2016. Rezital-Tourneen führten Mitsuko Uchida 2016 zum Concertgebouw Amsterdam, ans Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris, das Wiener Konzerthaus, die Royal Festival Hall London und die Carnegie Hall.

Im Rahmen ihres Engagements im Bereich der Kammermusik arbeitete sie eng mit international renommierten Künstlern zusammen. Auf eine Europa-Tour mit Magdalena Kožená folgte eine Aufführung von Schumanns Klavierquintett mit dem Quatuor Ébène in der Londoner Wigmore Hall. Außerdem war Mitsuko Uchida in Kammermusik-Programmen mit Mitgliedern des Chicago Symphony Orchestra in den USA und des Mahler Chamber Orchestra mit Jörg Widmann in der Alten Oper Frankfurt zu hören.

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt des Jahres 2017 ist ihre Tournee durch Europa und Nordamerika, auf der Mitsuko Uchida zwölf von Schuberts Klaviersonaten präsentiert. Außerdem kehrt sie nun zu den Salzburger Festspielen und dem Edinburgh International Festival zurück und konzertiert mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Simon Rattle, dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra unter Riccardo Muti und dem Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia unter Antonio Pappano. Weitere Rezitale wird die Pianistin Ende des Jahres in London im Rahmen eines dreijährigen Projekts mit dem Southbank Centre geben.

Mitsuko Uchida tritt weltweit mit den bedeutendsten Orchestern und Musikern auf. In den vergangenen Jahren war sie Artist in Residence beim Cleveland Orchestra, den Berliner Philharmonikern, der Salzburger Mozartwoche, dem Lucerne Festival und am Wiener Konzerthaus. Die Carnegie Hall in New York präsentierte eine eigene Reihe mit dem Titel Mitsuko Uchida: Vienna Revisited. Im Concertgebouw Amsterdam gab sie im Rahmen der Reihe Carte Blanche Konzerte mit dem Hagen Quartett, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und dem Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam.

Mitsuko Uchida nimmt exklusiv für Decca auf. Sie hat u. a. sämtliche Sonaten und Konzerte von Mozart sowie alle Schubert-Sonaten eingespielt. Zu ihren aktuellen Vorhaben zählt die Aufnahme von Mozarts Klavierkonzerten mit dem Cleveland Orchestra, die sie vom Klavier aus leitet. Die erste Veröffentlichung dieser Reihe erhielt im Jahr 2011 einen Grammy Award. Im Herbst 2016 wurden die Klavierkonzerte KV 453 und KV 503 veröffentlicht. Ihre Einspielung von Schönbergs Klavierkonzert mit dem Cleveland Orchestra unter Pierre Boulez wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter ein Gramophone Award.

Die Entwicklung junger Künstler unterstützt Mitsuko Uchida durch ihre langjährige Mitarbeit im Borletti-Buitoni Trust. Außerdem leitet sie das Marlboro Music Festival in den USA. 2009 wurde sie zur Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire ernannt; 2012 erhielt sie die Goldmedaille der Royal Philharmonic Society; 2014 wurde ihr zudem die Ehrendoktorwürde der University of Cambridge verliehen. Als Ehrengast der Mozartwoche Salzburg 2015 wurde sie mit der Goldenen Mozart-Medaille der Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg ausgezeichnet. Im Oktober 2015 erhielt Mitsuko Uchida außerdem den renommierten japanischen Praemium Imperiale.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Pianistin Mitsuko Uchida Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Pianistin Mitsuko Uchida Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Pianistin Mitsuko Uchida Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen