Biography

Mauro Peter

Current as of August 2019

Swiss tenor Mauro Peter was born in Lucerne and studied with Fenna Kügel-Seifried at Munich’s University of Music and Performing Arts. In 2012 he won the first prize and audience prize at the International Robert Schumann Competition in Zwickau and made his acclaimed recital debut at the Schubertiade in Schwarzenberg with Schubert’s Die schöne Müllerin. His accompanist on that occasion was Helmut Deutsch. Since then he has appeared regularly in Schwarzenberg and Hohenems as well as in leading concert halls and opera houses all over the world.

Mauro Peter has given song recitals at Lucerne’s Culture and Convention Centre, London’s Wigmore Hall, Vienna’s Musikverein and Konzerthaus, the Graz Musikverein, the Berlin Konzerthaus, the Dortmund Konzerthaus, the Pierre Boulez Hall in Berlin, the Frankfurt Opera, the Zurich Opera and the Teatro de la Zarzuela in Madrid. As a concert artist he has performed at the Munich Gasteig, the Royal Festival Hall in London, the Salzburg Mozarteum and the Verbier Festival. He is also a regular visitor to the Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence and the Salzburg Festival, where he made his debut in 2012. More recently he has been heard in Salzburg as Ferrando (Così fan tutte) in 2016, as Andres (Wozzeck) in 2017 and as Tamino in a new production of Die Zauberflöte in 2018.

Among the conductors with whom he has worked with are Ivor Bolton, Constantinos Carydis, Teodor Currentzis, Gustavo Dudamel, Iván Fischer, John Eliot Gardiner, James Gaffigan, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Rainer Honeck, Vladimir Jurowski, Fabio Luisi, Cornelius Meister, Riccardo Minasi, Zubin Mehta and Trevor Pinnock. Since 2013/14, Mauro Peter has been a member of the Zurich Opera. Guest appearances have taken him to the Bavarian State Opera, La Scala in Milan, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Paris Opéra, the Komische Oper in Berlin, the Theater an der Wien, the Canadian Opera Company in Toronto and the Opéra de Lyon.

Following a live recording of Die schöne Müllerin from the Wigmore Hall, his debut album for Sony Classical was released in 2015, featuring some of Schubert’s Goethe settings. In 2016 a recording of Dichterliebe and a selection of other Schumann lieder was released.

Plans for 2019/20 include performances as Tamino (Die Zauberflöte) at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin and at the Zurich Opera House, where he will also perform the title role of Handel’s Belshazzar and Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni). He will appear in concert at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, in Salzburg, Lucerne, at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam as well as in recitals in London, Graz and the Schubertiade Schwarzenberg.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Mauro Peter Singer Tenor
open gallery
Mauro Peter Singer Tenor
open gallery
Mauro Peter Singer Tenor
open gallery
Mauro Peter Singer Tenor
open gallery
Mauro Peter Singer Tenor
open gallery
Mauro Peter Singer Tenor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Mauro Peter

Stand: August 2019

Der aus Luzern stammende Tenor Mauro Peter studierte an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München bei Fenna Kügel-Seifried. 2012 gewann er den ersten Preis sowie den Publikumspreis beim Internationalen Robert-Schumann-Wettbewerb in Zwickau. Im selben Jahr feierte er mit Schuberts Die schöne Müllerin, begleitet von Helmut Deutsch, sein umjubeltes Liederabend-Debüt bei der Schubertiade in Schwarzenberg. Seither ist er regelmäßig in Schwarzenberg und Hohenems sowie auf allen führenden internationalen Konzert- und Opernbühnen zu erleben.

Liederabende haben Mauro Peter in das KKL Luzern, die Wigmore Hall in London, den Musikverein und das Konzerthaus in Wien, den Musikverein in Graz, die Konzerthäuser in Berlin und Dortmund, den Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin, die Oper Frankfurt, das Opernhaus Zürich und das Teatro de la Zarzuela in Madrid geführt. Als Konzertsänger war er in der Philharmonie im Gasteig in München, der Royal Festival Hall in London, im Salzburger Mozarteum und beim Verbier Festival zu hören. Regelmäßig gastiert er auch beim Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence und bei den Salzburger Festspielen, wo er 2012 debütierte. Zuletzt sang er hier 2016 Ferrando (Così fan tutte), 2017 Andres (Wozzeck) und 2018 Tamino in einer Neuproduktion von Die Zauberflöte.

Zu den Dirigenten, mit denen Mauro Peter zusammengearbeitet hat, zählen u. a. Ivor Bolton, Constantinos Carydis, Teodor Currentzis, Gustavo Dudamel, Iván Fischer, John Eliot Gardiner, James Gaffigan, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Rainer Honeck, Vladimir Jurowski, Fabio Luisi, Cornelius Meister, Riccardo Minasi, Zubin Mehta und Trevor Pinnock. Seit der Spielzeit 2013/14 ist Mauro Peter Ensemblemitglied des Opernhauses Zürich. Gastengagements führten ihn an die Bayerische Staatsoper, die Mailänder Scala, das Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, die Pariser Opéra, die Komische Oper Berlin, das Theater an der Wien, die Canadian Opera Company in Toronto und die Opéra de Lyon.

Nach einem Live-Mitschnitt der Schönen Müllerin aus der Wigmore Hall erschien 2015 sein Debüt-Album bei Sony Classical mit Goethe-Liedern von Schubert, der 2016 eine CD-Einspielung der Dichterliebe und anderen Schumann-Liedern folgte.

Zu Mauro Peters Projekten für die Saison 2019/20 zählen Auftritte als Tamino (Die Zauberflöte) an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin und am Opernhaus Zürich, wo er auch in der Titelrolle von Händels Belshazzar und als Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni) zu erleben sein wird. Konzerte folgen beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, in Salzburg, Luzern, am Concertgebouw Amsterdam sowie Liederabende in London, Graz und bei der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg.

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Mauro Peter Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Mauro Peter Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Mauro Peter Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Mauro Peter Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Mauro Peter Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Mauro Peter Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen