Biography

Marina Rebeka

Current as of August 2019

Latvian soprano Marina Rebeka made her international breakthrough as Anaï in Rossini’s Moïse et Pharaon under Riccardo Muti at the 2009 Salzburg Festival. Since then she has appeared regularly at major opera houses that have included La Scala, Milan, the Metropolitan Opera in New York, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich and the Vienna State Opera. Among the distinguished conductors under whom she has worked are Zubin Mehta, Antonio Pappano, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Paolo Carignani and Daniele Gatti. Her wide-ranging repertoire extends from the Baroque and bel canto to Verdi and Tchaikovsky and also includes a number of French roles.

In the course of the 2018/19 season she sang Marguerite (Faust) at the Teatro Real in Madrid, made her house and role debut as Donizetti’s Anna Bolena at the Opéra National de Bordeaux, returned to the Vienna State Opera for Mimì (La bohème) and for her role debut as Nedda (Pagliacci) and appeared as Violetta (La traviata) at La Scala. She also sang the soprano solo in Mahler’s Fourth Symphony under Fabio Luisi at the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino.

Plans for 2019/20 include the title role in Norma at the Hamburg State Opera and for her debut at the Théâtre du Capitole in Toulouse and three productions at the Vienna State Opera: Amelia (Simon Boccanegra), Tatyana (Eugene Onegin) and her role debut as Leonora (Il trovatore). She will also sing Imogene in Bellini’s Il pirata for the first time in a concert performance at the Dortmund Konzerthaus. She will additionally return to La Scala as Violetta and for a song recital.

Her first solo CD was released in 2013 and featured Mozart arias with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra under Speranza Scappucci, followed in 2017 by Amor fatale, a collection of Rossini arias with the Munich Radio Orchestra under Marco Armiliato. Her third CD, Spirito, was released in 2018 on her own label Prima Classic and featured bel canto arias.

Marina Rebeka began her musical training in her home city of Riga. She completed her studies at the Conservatorio Santa Cecilia in Rome in 2007. She has participated in the Salzburg Mozarteum’s International Summer Academy and the Academy of the Rossini Opera Festival in Pesaro and has won various competitions, including the prestigious New Voices Competition in Gütersloh in 2007.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Marina Rebeka Singer Soprano
open gallery
Simon Boccanegra Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Marina Rebeka
open gallery
Simon Boccanegra Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Marina Rebeka
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Marina Rebeka

Stand: August 2019

Die lettische Sopranistin Marina Rebeka ist seit ihrem internationalen Durchbruch, den sie 2009 bei den Salzburger Festspielen als Anaï in Rossinis Moïse et Pharaon unter Riccardo Muti erzielte, regelmäßig an den führenden Opernhäusern zu Gast, u.a. an der Mailänder Scala, der Metropolitan Opera New York, dem Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München und der Wiener Staatsoper. Sie arbeitet mit renommierten Dirigenten wie Zubin Mehta, Antonio Pappano, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Paolo Carignani und Daniele Gatti zusammen. Ihr breit gefächertes Repertoire reicht vom Barock über den Belcanto bis zu Verdi und Tschaikowski und umfasst auch Partien des französischen Repertoires.

Die Spielzeit 2018/19 führte sie als Marguerite (Faust) ans Teatro Real in Madrid, zu ihrem Haus- und Rollendebüt als Donizettis Anna Bolena an die Opéra National de Bordeaux, als Mimì (La bohème) sowie für ihr Rollendebüt als Nedda (Pagliacci) an die Wiener Staatsoper und als Violetta (La traviata) an die Mailänder Scala. Außerdem sang sie in Mahlers 4. Symphonie unter Fabio Luisi beim Maggio Musicale Fiorentino.

In der Spielzeit 2019/20 wird sie die Titelrolle in Norma an der Staatsoper Hamburg und bei ihrem Debüt am Théâtre du Capitole in Toulouse singen und als Amelia (Simon Boccanegra), Tatjana (Eugen Onegin) und für ihr Rollendebüt als Leonora (Il trovatore) an der Wiener Staatsoper zu Gast sein. Am Konzerthaus Dortmund wird sie bei einer konzertanten Aufführung von Bellinis Il pirata erstmals Imogene singen und an der Mailänder Scala erneut als Violetta sowie in einem Liederabend zu hören sein.

Ihre erste Solo-CD mit Mozart-Arien mit dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra unter Speranza Scappucci erschien 2013. 2017 folgte die CD Amor fatale mit Rossini-Arien mit dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester unter Marco Armiliato und 2018 ihre dritte CD, Spirito, mit Arien aus dem Belcanto bei ihrem eigenen Label Prima Classic.

Marina Rebeka begann ihre musikalische Ausbildung in ihrer Heimatstadt Riga und schloss ihr Studium 2007 am Conservatorio Santa Cecilia in Rom ab. Sie nahm an der Internationalen Sommerakademie des Salzburger Mozarteums und der Akademie des Rossini Opera Festival in Pesaro teil und gewann verschiedene Gesangswettbewerbe, darunter 2007 den renommierten „Neue Stimmen“-Wettbewerb in Gütersloh.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Marina Rebeka Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Simon Boccanegra Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Marina Rebeka
Galerie öffnen
Simon Boccanegra Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Marina Rebeka
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen