Biography

Lawrence Power

Current as of August 2018

Lawrence Power is one of today’s leading viola players and a sought after soloist and chamber music partner around the world, who is well received by audiences and critics alike. Over the past decade he has enjoyed regular collaborations with leading international orchestras including the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Chicago and Boston Symphony Orchestras, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic in Stockholm and the London Symphony, London Philharmonic and Philharmonia Orchestras.

Highlights of the 2017/18 season include his debut with the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, performing Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante at the opening concert of the Zurich Chamber Orchestra’s season, giving recitals at the Dresden and the Savannah Music Festivals and leading a concert series at Kings Place in London.

Lawrence Power has a keen interest in contemporary music and has built up an extensive repertoire of works composed specially for him, including Esa-Pekka Salonen’s Pentatonic Étude, Mark-Anthony Turnage’s Power Play, Julian Anderson’s Prayer, Alexander Goehr’s Hymn to Night and Huw Watkins’s Fantasy.

He regularly gives recitals at Wigmore Hall and LSO St Luke’s in London, as well as at Lincoln Center in New York. Lawrence Power works regularly with musicians such as Maxim Vengerov and Joshua Bell. He was also artist in residence at the Bergen Philharmonic and has developed a close relationship with the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

His recordings have been highly praised by critics and nominated several times for the Gramophone Award. His complete account of Hindemith’s works for viola on Hyperion is considered a benchmark recording. His most recent releases include Berlioz’s Harold en Italie with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra and Erkki-Sven Tüür’s Illuminatio with the Tapiola Sinfonietta on the Ondine label, both of which were released in 2018.

Lawrence Power is the founder and artistic director of the West Wycombe Chamber Music Festival and he plays a rare viola made by Antonio Brenzi in Bologna around 1610.

read more collapse

Biografie

Lawrence Power

Stand: August 2018

Lawrence Power zählt zu den führenden Bratschisten der Gegenwart. Er ist weltweit als Solist und Kammermusikpartner gefragt ist und wird regelmäßig von Kritikern und Publikum gefeiert. Im vergangenen Jahrzehnt hat sich eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit den international führenden Orchestern wie dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, dem hr-Sinfonieorchester, dem Chicago und dem Boston Symphony Orchestra, dem Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest, der Königlichen Philharmonie Stockholm sowie dem London Symphony, dem London Philharmonic und dem Philharmonia Orchestra entwickelt.

Höhepunkte in der Saison 2017/18 waren sein Debüt beim Schwedischen Radiosinfonieorchester, Mozarts Sinfonia concertante beim Saisoneröffnungskonzert des Zürcher Kammerorchesters sowie Rezitale bei den Dresdner Musikfestspielen, beim Savannah Music Festival und eine Konzertreihe am Londoner Kings Place.

Mit seinem großen Interesse an zeitgenössischer Musik hat Lawrence Power ein umfangreiches Repertoire aufgebaut, das auch zahlreiche für ihn komponierte Werke beinhaltet, darunter Esa-Pekka Salonens Pentatonic Étude, Mark-Anthony Turnages Power Play, Julian Andersons Prayer, Alexander Goehrs Hymn to night und Huw Watkins’ Fantasy.

Rezitale gibt er regelmäßig in der Wigmore Hall, bei LSO St Luke’s, dem musikalischen Bildungszentrum des London Symphony Orchestra und im Lincoln Center, New York. Lawrence Power arbeitet regelmäßig mit Musikern wie Maxim Vengerov und Joshua Bell zusammen. Er war weiters Artist in Residence bei der Philharmonie Bergen und hat eine enge Beziehung zum London Philharmonic Orchestra aufgebaut.

Seine zahlreichen Aufnahmen wurden von der Presse hochgelobt und mehrfach für den Gramophone Award nominiert. Die Gesamteinspielung aller Werke Hindemiths für Bratsche beim Label Hyperion gilt als Referenz-Aufnahme. Zu seinen jüngsten Veröffentlichungen zählen Berlioz’ Harold en Italie mit der Philharmonie Bergen und Erkki-Sven Tüürs Konzert für Bratsche Illuminatio mit der Tapiola Sinfonietta beim Label Ondine, die beide 2018 erschienen sind.

Lawrence Power ist Gründer und Künstlerischer Leiter des West Wycombe Chamber Music Festivals. Er spielt eine seltene Viola von Antonio Brenzi (Bologna, ca. 1610).

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen