Biography

Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor

Current as of July 2020

The Concert Association of the Vienna State Opera Chorus was founded in 1927 by one of the chorus’s members, Viktor Maiwald, as the non-operatic branch of the Vienna State Opera Chorus. In 2017 it celebrated its 90th birthday and the 95th anniversary of its first appearance at the Salzburg Festival.

The Concert Association undertakes all of the Vienna State Opera Chorus’s duties away from the State Opera, enabling its members to show off their abilities in the concert hall, too. Among the leading conductors who from the outset have championed and befriended the Concert Association are Clemens Krauss, Arturo Toscanini, Karl Böhm, Herbert von Karajan, Riccardo Muti, Franz Welser-Möst, Mariss Jansons and Philippe Jordan. Unlike other major choirs, it is made up exclusively of professional singers.

The Concert Association’s performances are distinguished by their fullness of tone, their stylistic assurance and their precision. Working with internationally renowned orchestras, the chorus has given innumerable exemplary performances of operas and concert works ranging from the Baroque to the present day, with particular emphasis on the Classical and Romantic repertoire.
The Concert Association’s history is closely bound up with its annual appearances at the Salzburg Festival. The chorus first appeared in operas under Richard Strauss and Franz Schalk in 1922, initially as the Vienna State Opera Chorus, later as the Concert Association of the Vienna State Opera Chorus. Since then it has appeared uninterruptedly at the Salzburg Festival, continuing to be the Festival’s principal choir and, as such, one of its mainstays. Countless unforgettable opera performances and concerts have stemmed from this artistic partnership.

In 1977 the Clemens Krauss Medal was established in memory of the conductor, who was the director of the Vienna State Opera from 1929 to 1934. It is conferred to those individuals who have rendered particular service to the Concert Association. Its most recent recipients have been Riccardo Muti, Helga Rabl-Stadler and Anna Netrebko.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Concert Association of the Vienna State Opera Chorus
open gallery
Concert Association of the Vienna State Opera Chorus
open gallery
Concert Association of the Vienna State Opera Chorus
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Biography

Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor

Die Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor wurde 1927 als Personalunion mit dem Wiener Staatsopernchor vom Chorsänger Viktor Maiwald gegründet und feierte 2017 ihr 90-jähriges Jubiläum und das 95. Jahr der Mitwirkung bei den Salzburger Festspielen.

Die Konzertvereinigung nimmt die Aufgaben des Chores außerhalb der Staatsoper wahr und ermöglicht so diesem Klangkörper, sein großes Können auch im Konzertsaal zur Geltung zu bringen. Bedeutende Dirigenten wie Clemens Krauss, Arturo Toscanini, Karl Böhm, Herbert von Karajan, Riccardo Muti und Franz Welser-Möst waren bzw. sind Förderer und Freunde des Chores, der sich im Gegensatz zu anderen großen Chören ausschließlich aus professionellen Sängern zusammensetzt.

Klangfülle, Stilsicherheit und Präzision zeichnen die Interpretationen der Konzertvereinigung aus. So konnten gemeinsam mit den besten Orchestern zahlreiche exemplarische Aufführungen von Werken der Opern- und Konzertliteratur erarbeitet werden. Dabei spannt sich der Bogen vom Barock über die wichtigsten Werke der Klassik und Romantik bis hin zur Moderne.

Die Geschichte der Konzertvereinigung ist wesentlich geprägt von der alljährlichen Mitwirkung bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Seit den ersten Opernaufführungen unter Richard Strauss und Franz Schalk im Jahr 1922 wirkte der Chor – zuerst als Wiener Staatsopernchor, dann als Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor – ununterbrochen bei den Salzburger Festspielen mit und ist nach wie vor als erster Chor der Festspiele eine tragende Säule des Festivals. Zahllose unvergessliche Opernaufführungen und Konzerte sind aus dieser künstlerischen Partnerschaft hervorgegangen.

Im Andenken an den Wiener Staatsoperndirektor der Jahre 1929 bis 1934 wurde von der Konzertvereinigung 1977 die Clemens-Krauss-Medaille gestiftet, mit der Persönlichkeiten ausgezeichnet werden, die sich um die Konzertvereinigung besondere Verdienste erworben haben. Zuletzt wurde die Medaille Riccardo Muti und Helga Rabl-Stadler in Salzburg verliehen.

Stand: Juli 2018

mehr dazu collapse