Biography

Katie Coventry

Current as of July 2020

Scottish mezzo-soprano Katie Coventry returned to the English National Opera in the autumn of 2019 for the Second Woman in Harrison Birtwistle’s The Mask of Orpheus. Further performances in 2019/20 – the Turnspit (Rusalka) for ENO and for her debut with the Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg and Kate Pinkerton (Madama Butterfly) for her debut with the Hallé Orchestra – unfortunately had to be cancelled because of the Covid-19 pandemic. In 2018/19 Katie Coventry was regularly heard at the Salzburg Landestheater, where her repertoire included Rosette (Manon), Doralice in Rossini’s La gazzetta, Cherubino (Le nozze di Figaro), Zerlina (Don Giovanni) and Frau Grubach and the Bailiff’s Wife in Philip Glass’s The Trial. She was a Harewood Artist at the ENO, where she made her debut as Edith in Gilbert and Sullivan’s The Pirates of Penzance, later appearing with the company as Cherubino. She made her debut at the Teatro Real in Madrid as Jennie Hildebrand in Kurt Weill’s Street Scene.

On the concert platform Katie Coventry sang the second soprano part in Mozart’s C minor Mass with the Salzburg Camerata under Roger Norrington at the 2018 Salzburg Festival. She has also been heard in performances of Mozart’s Requiem in London’s Royal Albert Hall and Cadogan Hall, in Duruflé’s Requiem in Southwark Cathedral and in Haydn’s ‘Nelson’ Mass in Riga Cathedral and in numerous other sacred works in St James’s, Piccadilly, and St Martin-in-the-Fields.

Following her return to the Salzburg Festival for Elektra, Katie Coventry will make her debut at the Theater an der Wien as Cherubino in a new production of Le nozze di Figaro in November 2020.

Katie Coventry is a graduate of the Royal College of Music International Opera School, where she studied as an Independent Opera Voice Scholar with Tim Evans-Jones. She was a participant in the Young Singers Project at the 2018 Salzburg Festival.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Katie Coventry
open gallery
Katie Coventry
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Katie Coventry

Stand: Juli 2020

Die schottische Mezzosopranistin Katie Coventry kehrte im Herbst 2019 an die English National Opera zurück, um die Zweite Frau in Harrison Birtwistles The Mask of Orpheus zu singen. Weitere Engagements der Spielzeit 2019/20 – der Küchenjunge (Rusalka) an der ENO und für ihr Debüt am Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg sowie Kate Pinkerton (Madama Butterfly) für ihr Debüt beim Hallé Orchestra – wurden aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie leider abgesagt. In der Saison 2018/19 war Katie Coventry regelmäßig am Salzburger Landestheater zu erleben, so als Rosette (Manon), Doralice in Rossinis La gazzetta, Cherubino (Le nozze di Figaro), Zerlina (Don Giovanni) sowie Frau Grubach und Frau des Gerichtsdieners in Philip Glass’ The Trial. Sie war ein Harewood Artist der English National Opera, wo sie als Edith in Gilbert und Sullivans The Pirates of Penzance debütierte und danach als Cherubino auf der Bühne stand. Am Teatro Real in Madrid debütierte sie als Jennie Hildebrand in Weill’s Street Scene.

Auf dem Konzertpodium übernahm Katie Coventry bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2018 die Partie des zweiten Solosoprans in Mozarts c-Moll-Messe mit der Camerata Salzburg unter Roger Norrington. Außerdem war sie in Mozarts Requiem in der Royal Albert Hall und der Cadogan Hall, Duruflés Requiem in der Southwark Cathedral und Haydns Nelson-Messe im Dom von Riga sowie in vielen weiteren Sakralwerken in St James’s, Piccadilly, und St Martin-in-the-Fields zu hören.

Nach ihren Salzburger Auftritten in Elektra wird sie im November 2020 ihr Debüt am Theater an der Wien als Cherubino in einer Neuproduktion von Le nozze di Figaro geben.

Katie Coventry ist Absolventin der Royal College of Music International Opera School, wo sie als Independent Opera Voice Scholar bei Tim Evans-Jones studierte. 2018 war sie Teilnehmerin des Young Singers Project der Salzburger Festspiele.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Katie Coventry
Galerie öffnen
Katie Coventry
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen