Biography

Julia Lezhneva

Current as of April 2019

Russian soprano Julia Lezhneva has appeared in leading concert halls and opera houses all over the world since her sensational performance of ‘Fra il padre’ from Rossini’s La donna del lago at the 2010 Classical Brit Awards in London. She was born in 1989 and was five when she began to play the piano and sing. She later studied at the Gretchaninov School of Music and the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow. She was 17 when she won the International Elena Obraztsova Singing Competition and 18 when she opened the Rossini Opera Festival in Pesaro alongside Juan Diego Flórez. In addition to studying with Dennis O’Neill in Cardiff and with Yvonne Kenny at London’s Guildhall School of Music and Drama, she has attended masterclasses with Elena Obraztsova, Alberto Zedda and Thomas Quasthoff. In 2009 she won the first prize at the Paris International Opera Competition and in 2012 scored a major triumph at the Gala of the Victoires de la Musique Classique in Paris.

Julia Lezhneva made her Salzburg Festival debut in 2010. Her most recent appearances at the Festival were as Asteria in concert performances of Handel’s Tamerlano alongside Plácido Domingo and Bejun Mehta.

She made her Hamburg State Opera debut in September 2018 as Morgana (Alcina), later appearing with the company as Rosina (Il barbiere di Siviglia). In addition to her return to Salzburg in Porpora’s Polifemo and further appearances as Morgana in Hamburg, she will be heard in 2019/20 in concert performances of Porpora’s Germanico in Germania, Handel’s Rodrigo and Alessandro and Vivaldi’s Orlando furioso in Moscow, Vienna, Paris, Basel and elsewhere.

Concerts with ensembles such as La Voce Strumentale, Concerto Köln, Il Giardino Armonico, MusicAeterna, the Venice Baroque Orchestra and the Basel Chamber Orchestra have taken her to Berlin, Munich, Moscow, Vienna, Paris, Madrid, Amsterdam and elsewhere as well as to festivals that include the Lucerne Festival and the Rheingau and Schleswig-Holstein Music Festivals. In 2019 she is artist-in-residence at the Bad Kissingen Summer Festival.

Among the orchestras with which Julia Lezhneva has been invited to appear are the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchester, the Munich Philharmonic, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie of Bremen, the Mariinsky Orchestra, the Russian National Orchestra, the Orquesta Nacional de España, the Seoul Philharmonic and the Seattle Symphony Orchestra. She makes her Berlin Philharmonic debut under Ádám Fischer in October 2019 and in February 2020 will be appearing for the first time in the Vienna Musikverein.

As an exclusive Decca artist, Julia Lezhneva has already released three solo albums: her acclaimed debut album Alleluia (2014) and a Handel CD (2015), both with Il Giardino Armonico, and a recital of arias by Carl Heinrich Graun with Concerto Köln (2017) that received an Opus Klassik Award in 2018.

read more collapse

Biografie

Julia Lezhneva

Stand: Mai 2019

Die russische Sopranistin Julia Lezhneva ist seit ihrem sensationellen Auftritt mit „Fra il padre“ aus Rossinis La donna del lago bei den Classical Brit Awards 2010 in London auf führenden Konzert- und Opernbühnen zu Gast. 1989 geboren, begann sie mit fünf Jahren ihre Klavier- und Gesangsausbildung, die sie in Moskau an der Gretschaninow-Musikschule und am Konservatorium fortsetzte. Als 17-Jährige gewann sie den Internationalen Elena-Obraztsova-Gesangswettbewerb und mit 18 Jahren eröffnete sie zusammen mit Juan Diego Flórez das Rossini Opera Festival in Pesaro. Neben weiterem Unterricht bei Dennis O’Neill in Cardiff und bei Yvonne Kenny an der Londoner Guildhall School of Music and Drama besuchte sie Meisterklassen bei Elena Obraztsova, Alberto Zedda und Thomas Quasthoff. 2009 gewann sie den ersten Preis bei der Paris International Opera Competition, und 2012 feierte sie einen überwältigenden Erfolg bei der Gala der Victoires de la Musique Classique in Paris.

Bei den Salzburger Festspielen, wo sie 2010 debütiert hatte, sang sie zuletzt 2012 die Asteria in konzertanten Aufführungen von Händels Tamerlano an der Seite von Plácido Domingo und Bejun Mehta.

Im September 2018 debütierte sie an der Staatsoper Hamburg als Morgana (Alcina) und stand dort anschließend als Rosina (Il barbiere di Siviglia) auf der Bühne. Neben ihrer Rückkehr nach Salzburg in Porporas Polifemo und weiteren Auftritten als Morgana in Hamburg ist sie 2019/20 in konzertanten Aufführungen von Porporas Germanico in Germania, Händels Rodrigo und Alessandro sowie Vivaldis Orlando furioso u. a. in Moskau, Wien, Paris und Basel zu hören.

Konzerte mit Ensembles wie La Voce Strumentale, Concerto Köln, Il Giardino Armonico, MusicAeterna, dem Venice Baroque Orchestra und dem Kammerorchester Basel führten Julia Lezhneva u. a. nach Berlin, München, Moskau, Wien, Paris, Madrid und Amsterdam sowie zu Festivals wie dem Lucerne Festival, dem Rheingau Musik Festival und dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. 2019 ist sie Artist in Residence beim Kissinger Sommer.

Zu den Orchestern, von den sie Einladungen erhielt, zählen das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, die Münchner Philharmoniker, die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, das Mariinski-Orchester, das Russische Nationalorchester, das Orquesta Nacional de España, das Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra und das Seattle Symphony Orchestra. Im Oktober 2019 debütiert sie bei den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Ádám Fischer und im Februar 2020 im Wiener Musikverein.

Als Decca-Exklusivkünstlerin veröffentlichte Julia Lezhneva bereits drei Soloalben: ihr gefeiertes Debütalbum Alleluia (2014) und eine Händel-CD (2015), beide mit Il Giardino Armonico, sowie ein Album mit Arien von Carl Heinrich Graun mit Concerto Köln (2017), das mit dem Opus Klassik 2018 ausgezeichnet wurde.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Julia Lezhneva Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Julia Lezhneva Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Julia Lezhneva Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen