Biography

Jordi Savall

Current as of July 2019

Jordi Savall is one of the most versatile musical personalities of his generation. For more than 50 years he has introduced musical gems to the world. A tireless researcher in early music, he interprets and performs both as a viola da gamba player and as a conductor. His activities as a performer, teacher, researcher and creator of new musical and cultural projects have made him a leading figure in the reappraisal of historical music. Together with Montserrat Figueras, he founded Hespèrion XXI (1974), La Capella Reial de Catalunya (1987) and Le Concert des Nations (1989), with whom he explores and creates a world of emotion and beauty shared with millions of early music enthusiasts around the world.
With his essential contribution to Alain Corneau’s film Tous les matins du monde, which won a César for best soundtrack, his busy schedule, recordings and own record label, ALIA VOX, which he founded with Montserrat Figueras in 1998, Jordi Savall has not only proved that early music does not have to be elitist, but that it can also appeal to increasingly diverse and numerous audiences. As critic Allan Kozinn wrote in The New York Times in 2005, his vast concert and recording career can be described as ‘not simply a matter of revival, but of imaginative reanimation’.
Jordi Savall has recorded and released more than 230 discs covering the medi-eval, Renaissance, Baroque and Classical periods, with a special focus on Hispanic and Mediterranean musical heritage, and he has received many awards and distinctions such as the Midem Classical Award, the International Classical Music Award and the Grammy. His concert programmes have made music an instrument of mediation to achieve understanding and peace between different and sometimes warring peoples and cultures. Accordingly, guest artists appearing with his ensembles include Arab, Israeli, Turkish, Greek, Armenian, Afghan, Mexican and North American musicians. In 2008 Jordi Savall was appointed European Union Ambassador for intercultural dialogue and, together with Montserrat Figueras, was named Artist for Peace under the UNESCO Good Will Ambassadors programme.
He has played a seminal role in the rediscovery and performance of Una cosa rara and Il burbero di buon cuore by Vicente Martín y Soler. He has also conducted Le Concert des Nations and La Capella Reial de Catalunya in performances of Monteverdi’s L’Orfeo, Vivaldi’s Farnace and Il Teuzzone and Fux’s Orfeo ed Euridice.
Jordi Savall’s prolific musical career has brought him the highest national and international distinctions, including honorary doctorates from the universities of Évora, Barcelona, Leuven and Basel, the Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur in France, the Ministry of Culture and Science of Lower Saxony’s Praetorius Music Prize for international peace, the gold medal of the Generalitat de Catalunya and the prestigious Léonie Sonning Prize, which is considered the Nobel Prize of the music world.
‘Jordi Savall testifies to a common cultural inheritance of infinite variety. He is a man for our time.’ (The Guardian, 2011)

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

conductor viol player Jordi Savall
open gallery
conductor viol player Jordi Savall
open gallery
conductor viol player Jordi Savall
open gallery
conductor viol player Jordi Savall
open gallery
conductor viol player Jordi Savall
open gallery
conductor viol player Jordi Savall
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Jordi Savall

Stand: Juli 2019

Jordi Savall ist eine der vielseitigsten Persönlichkeiten unter den Musikern seiner Generation. Seit mehr als 50 Jahren macht er die Welt mit musikalischen Wunderwerken bekannt. Er widmet sich der Erforschung der Alten Musik, weiß sie zu lesen und interpretiert sie mit seiner Gambe oder als Dirigent. Seine Konzerte, aber auch sein Wirken als Pädagoge, Forscher und Initiator neuer musikalischer oder kultureller Projekte haben wesentlich zu einer neuen Sichtweise auf die Alte Musik beigetragen. Zusammen mit Montserrat Figueras gründete er die Ensembles Hespèrion XXI (1974), La Capella Reial de Catalunya (1987) und Le Concert des Nations (1989). Mit ihnen erforscht und erschafft er seit Jahrzehnten ein Universum voller Emotion und Schönheit für Millionen von Liebhabern Alter Musik weltweit.
Durch seine mit dem César für die beste Filmmusik ausgezeichnete Mitwirkung in Alain Corneaus Film Tous les matins du monde (deutscher Titel: Die siebente Saite), durch seine intensive Konzerttätigkeit, seine zahlreichen Studioaufnahmen sowie das gemeinsam mit Montserrat Figueras 1998 gegründete Plattenlabel ALIA VOX hat Jordi Savall bewiesen, dass die Alte Musik nicht unbedingt elitär sein muss und dass sie in der Lage ist, ein immer zahlreicheres und breiteres Publikum aller Altersstufen anzusprechen. Den Worten des Musikkritikers Allan Kozinn von der New York Times zufolge (2005) liegt die in Konzerten und Aufnahmen erbrachte gewaltige Leistung Jordi Savalls „nicht nur in der Wiederentdeckung der Alten Musik, sondern vielmehr in ihrer kreativen Wiederbelebung“.
In seiner Musikerlaufbahn hat Savall mehr als 230 Tonträger aufgenommen. Das Repertoire reicht von Musik des Mittelalters über Renaissance-Musik bis hin zu Kompositionen des Barock und der Klassik, wobei er einen besonderen Schwerpunkt auf die iberische und mediterrane Tradition legt. Die CDs erhielten zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter mehrere Midem Classical Awards, International Classical Music Awards und einen Grammy. Seine Konzertprogramme haben die Musik zu einem Mittel der Verständigung und des Friedens zwischen unterschiedlichen und manchmal auch verfeindeten Völkern und Kulturen gemacht. Nicht ohne Grund wurde Jordi Savall 2008 zum „Botschafter der Europäischen Union für den kulturellen Dialog“ und gemeinsam mit Montserrat Figueras im Rahmen des UNESCO-Programms „Botschafter des guten Willens“ zum „Künstler für den Frieden“ ernannt.
Hervorzuheben ist Jordi Savalls Mitwirkung bei der Entdeckung und Aufführung von Una cosa rara und Il burbero di buon cuore von Vicente Martín y Soler. Er hat das Orchester Le Concert des Nations und das Vokalensemble La Capella Reial de Catalunya bei Aufführungen von L’Orfeo von Claudio Monteverdi, Farnace und Teuzzone von Antonio Vivaldi sowie Orfeo ed Euridice von Johann Joseph Fux dirigiert.
Jordi Savalls ertragreiches Musikschaffen wurde mit den höchsten nationalen und internationalen Auszeichnungen gewürdigt, darunter der Titel des Doctor honoris causa der Universitäten von Évora (Portugal), Barcelona (Katalonien), Löwen (Belgien) und Basel (Schweiz). Die französische Republik verlieh Jordi Savall den Titel eines Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur, und vom niedersächsischen Kultusministerium erhielt er den Praetorius Musikpreis Niedersachsen 2010 in der Kategorie „Internationaler Friedensmusikpreis“. Die katalanische Landesregierung zeichnete ihn mit der Goldmedaille für besondere Verdienste aus; im Jahr 2012 wurde sein Lebenswerk mit dem angesehenen, einem Nobelpreis für Musik gleichkommenden dänischen Léonie-Sonning-Musikpreis prämiert.
„Jordi Savall steht ein für die unendliche Vielfalt eines gemeinsamen kulturellen Erbes. Er ist ein Mann unserer Zeit.“ (The Guardian, 2011)

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Dirigent Gambist Jordi Savall
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Gambist Jordi Savall
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Gambist Jordi Savall
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Gambist Jordi Savall
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Gambist Jordi Savall
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Gambist Jordi Savall
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen