Biography

Jonas Kaufmann

Current as of May 2021

Jonas Kaufmann is regularly acclaimed by public and press alike as the greatest tenor of the present day, impressing audiences with his flawless technique, his refined musicality and his dramatic charisma onstage. He has performed more than 70 roles in the world’s leading opera houses in addition to being in demand as an outstanding lieder recitalist and concert artist. His appearances and his recordings have earned him numerous honours and awards, including eight Echo Klassik Awards (since 2018 Opus Klassik Awards), the accolade of Singer of the Year from multiple classical music magazines including Opernwelt, Diapason and Musical America, the title of Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres and membership of the Bavarian Order of Maximilian.

Among Jonas Kaufmann’s roles in 2020/ 21 have been Rodolfo (La Bohème) at the Bavarian State Opera, Radamès in a new production of Aida at the Paris Opéra and the title roles in a revival of Don Carlos and a new production of Parsifal at the Vienna State Opera. On the concert platform he has been heard at La Scala, Milan, as well as in Bergamo, Bologna and Madrid.

Jonas Kaufmann’s two most recent recordings for Sony Classical have been Selige Stunde, a selection of German songs with Helmut Deutsch at the piano, and It’s Christmas, an album of Christmas songs in English, French, German and Italian.

Blessed with a voice that excels in a wide-ranging repertoire, Jonas Kaufmann has gained recognition in French, German and Italian roles. Central to his repertoire are Don José, Werther, Don Carlo(s), Otello, Andrea Chénier, Maurizio, Lohengrin, Parsifal and Florestan, which he has sung at La Scala, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Bavarian State Opera, the Metropolitan Opera in New York, the Zurich Opera, the Paris Opéra, the Vienna State Opera and elsewhere. The range of his repertoire is also documented in an extensive discography that features operas, lieder, operettas and other genres.

Jonas Kaufmann was born in Munich, where he completed his vocal studies at the University of Music and Performing Arts, while additionally attending masterclasses with Hans Hotter, James King and Josef Metternich. During his early engagement at the Saarbrücken State Theatre, he also continued his vocal training with Michael Rhodes in Trier.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Jonas Kaufmann Tenor
open gallery
Jonas Kaufmann Tenor
open gallery
Jonas Kaufmann Tenor
open gallery
Jonas Kaufmann Tenor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Jonas Kaufmann

Stand: Mai 2021

Jonas Kaufmann wird von Presse und Publikum regelmäßig als der größte Tenor der Gegenwart gefeiert und beeindruckt gleichermaßen durch seine makellose Technik, seine feine Musikalität und sein dramatisches Bühnencharisma. Er hat über 70 Rollen an den bedeutendsten Opernhäusern der Welt gesungen, ist aber auch als herausragender Liedinterpret und Konzertsänger äußerst gefragt. Seine Auftritte und Einspielungen haben ihm zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Preise eingebracht, darunter acht Mal den ECHO bzw. OPUS Klassik, Ehrungen als „Sänger des Jahres“ von Fachzeitschriften wie Opernwelt, Diapason und Musical America, den Titel eines Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres sowie die Aufnahme in den Bayerischen Maximiliansorden.

In der Saison 2020/21 sang Jonas Kaufmann u.a. Rodolfo (La Bohème) an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Radamès in einer Neuproduktion von Aida an der Pariser Opéra sowie die Titelrollen in Don Carlos und in einer Neuproduktion von Parsifal an der Wiener Staatsoper. Auf dem Konzertpodium war er an der Mailänder Scala, in Bergamo, Bologna und Madrid zu hören.

Seine beiden jüngsten Einspielungen für Sony Classical sind Selige Stunde, eine Auswahl von deutschen Liedern mit Helmut Deutsch am Klavier, und It’s Christmas, ein Album mit Weihnachtsliedern in englischer, französischer, deutscher und italienischer Sprache.

Mit einer Stimme begabt, die in einem breiten und vielfältigen Repertoire glänzt, erwarb sich Jonas Kaufmann in französischen, deutschen und italienischen Rollen höchste Anerkennung. Zentrale Partien bilden Don José, Werther, Don Carlo(s), Otello, Andrea Chénier, Maurizio, Lohengrin, Parsifal und Florestan, die er an Opernhäusern wie der Mailänder Scala, dem Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, der Bayerischen Staatsoper, der New Yorker Metropolitan Opera, dem Opernhaus Zürich, der Pariser Opéra und der Wiener Staatsoper gesungen hat. Die Vielfalt seines Repertoires spiegelt sich auch in seiner umfangreichen Diskografie, die Oper, Lied, Operette und weitere Genres umfasst.
Jonas Kaufmann stammt aus München, wo er sein Gesangsstudium an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater abschloss. Außerdem besuchte er Meisterkurse bei Hans Hotter, James King und Josef Metternich. Während seiner ersten Bühnenjahre am Staatstheater Saarbrücken setzte er seine Ausbildung bei Michael Rhodes in Trier fort.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Jonas Kaufmann Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Jonas Kaufmann Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Jonas Kaufmann Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Jonas Kaufmann Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen