Biography

Jörg Widmann

Current as of August 2019

Clarinettist, composer and conductor Jörg Widmann is one of the most versatile and intriguing artists of his generation. The 2018/19 season saw him appearing as a soloist with orchestras such as the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the National Symphony Orchestra of Taiwan, the NDR Radio Philharmonic Hanover and the Basel Chamber Orchestra. Jörg Widmann is currently artist in residence with the National Symphony Orchestra of Taiwan. Further residencies included the Orchestre de Paris, where his own compositions were featured in various concerts.

Chamber music performances during the 2018/19 season included concerts with the Hagen Quartet at the Elbphilharmonie and Carnegie Hall and trio recitals with Tabea Zimmermann and Dénes Várjon in Munich and Budapest. In February he gave the premiere of Péter Eötvös’s Joyce.

Jörg Widmann also conducted the Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra and the Boulez Ensemble in Berlin, and he toured with the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie throughout Germany. In August 2018 Jörg Widmann conducted the premiere of his Second Violin Concerto with soloist Carolin Widmann and the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra. Further performances followed with the Orchestre de Paris, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. A new version of his opera Babylon had its premiere at the Berlin State Opera in March 2019.

Jörg Widmann studied the clarinet with Gerd Starke in Munich and with Charles Neidich at the Juilliard School in New York. He performs regularly with renowned orchestras such as the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Orchestre National de France, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, collaborating with conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, Christoph Eschenbach and Christoph von Dohnányi.

He gave the world premiere of Mark Andre’s clarinet concerto über in Donaueschingen in 2015. Other clarinet concertos written for him include Wolfgang Rihm’s Musik für Klarinette und Orchester and Aribert Reimann’s Cantus.

Jörg Widmann was a fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study in Berlin and is a member of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts, the Free Academy of the Arts in Hamburg (2007) and the Mainz Academy of Science and Literature (2016), which awarded him the Robert Schumann Prize for Poetry and Music in 2018. In December last year he was honoured with the Maximilian Order of Bavaria.

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Joerg Widmann Composer Clarinettist Clarinet
open gallery
Joerg Widmann Composer Clarinettist Clarinet
open gallery
Joerg Widmann Composer Clarinettist Clarinet
open gallery
Joerg Widmann Composer Clarinettist Clarinet
open gallery
Joerg Widmann Composer Clarinettist Clarinet
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Jörg Widmann

Stand: August 2019

Der Klarinettist, Komponist und Dirigent Jörg Widmann gehört zu den aufregendsten und vielseitigsten Künstlern seiner Generation. Solistische Auftritte führten ihn in dieser Saison zu Orchestern wie dem National Symphony Orchestra Taiwan, der NDR Radiophilharmonie, dem Kammerorchester Basel und dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks. Zurzeit ist Jörg Widmann Artist in Residence beim National Symphony Orchestra Taiwan. Beim Orchestre de Paris stand sein Werk ebenfalls in dieser Saison im Fokus.

Seine kammermusikalischen Auftritte in der Saison 2018/19 umfassten u. a. Konzerte mit dem Hagen Quartett in der Elbphilharmonie und der Carnegie Hall sowie Triorezitale mit Tabea Zimmermann und Dénes Várjon in München und Budapest. Im Februar gab Jörg Widmann die Uraufführung von Péter Eötvös’ Joyce.

In dieser Saison dirigierte Jörg Widmann außerdem das Orchestra della Svizzera italiana, das Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra sowie das Boulez Ensemble in Berlin und mit der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie war er auf Deutschland-Tournee. Im August 2018 dirigierte er die Uraufführung seines Zweiten Violinkonzertes mit dem Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra und Carolin Widmann. Dieses Werk stand in vergangenen Spielzeit auch auf dem Programm des Orchestre de Paris, des hr-Sinfonieorchesters und des Königlichen Philharmonischen Orchesters in Stockholm. Im März 2019 wurde eine Neufassung seiner Oper Babylon an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin uraufgeführt.

Ausgebildet von Gerd Starke in München und Charles Neidich an der Juilliard School in New York ist Jörg Widmann als Klarinettist regelmäßig zu Gast bei bedeutenden Orchestern wie dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, dem Orchestre National de France, dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest sowie dem Toronto Symphony Orchestra und konzertiert mit Dirigenten wie Daniel Barenboim, Christoph Eschenbach und Christoph von Dohnányi.

Im Rahmen der SWR Donaueschinger Musiktage 2015 brachte er das Klarinettenkonzert über von Mark Andre zur Uraufführung. Mehrere Klarinettenkonzerte sind ihm gewidmet und durch ihn uraufgeführt worden, u. a. die Musik für Klarinette und Orchester von Wolfgang Rihm und Cantus von Aribert Reimann.

Jörg Widmann war Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin und ist Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste, der Freien Akademie der Künste in Hamburg (2007) und der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur in Mainz (2016), von der er 2018 mit dem Robert Schumann-Preis für Dichtung und Musik ausgezeichnet wurde. Im Dezember 2018 wurde Jörg Widmann mit dem Bayerischen Maximiliansorden geehrt.

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Jörg Widmann Komponist Klarinettist Klarinette
Galerie öffnen
Jörg Widmann Komponist Klarinettist Klarinette
Galerie öffnen
Jörg Widmann Komponist Klarinettist Klarinette
Galerie öffnen
Jörg Widmann Komponist Klarinettist Klarinette
Galerie öffnen
Jörg Widmann Komponist Klarinettist Klarinette
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen