Biography

Jakub Hrůša

Current as of July 2022

Jakub Hrůša comes from Brno in the Czech Republic, and is chief conductor of the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra and principal guest conductor of the Czech Philharmonic and of the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. He was formerly principal guest conductor of the Philharmonia Orchestra.

He appears as a guest conductor with many of the world’s greatest orchestras, and enjoys close relationships with the Vienna, Berlin and Munich Philharmonics, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Dresden Staatskapelle, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Lucerne Festival Orchestra, the Concertgebouw Orchestre, the Orchestre de Paris, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the NHK Symphony Orchestra and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. In the USA, he works regularly with the Cleveland Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Jakub Hrůša’s opera conducting engagements have included new productions of The Makropulos Affair at the Vienna State Opera and the Zurich Opera, Carmen and (in spring 2022) Lohengrin at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, and Rusalka at the Paris Opéra. He is a regular guest at Glyndebourne Festival where he has conducted Vanessa, The Cunning Little Vixen, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Carmen, The Turn of the Screw, Don Giovanni and La bohème; he was also music director of Glyndebourne on Tour for three years.

Jakub Hrůša has worked with many outstanding instrumentalists and singers. His recordings have won numerous prizes and nominations. His recording of Martinů’s violin concertos with Frank Peter Zimmermann and the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra won a Gramophone Award in 2021; in the same year his recording of Dvořák’s Violin Concerto with Augustin Hadelich and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra was nominated for a Grammy Award. In 2020 two of his recordings – of Dvořák and Martinů piano concertos with Ivo Kahánek and the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra and of Vanessa at Glyndebourne – won BBC Music Magazine Awards. His recent discography also includes symphonies by Dvořák and Brahms with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, Josef Suk’s Asrael Symphony with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Dvořák’s Requiem and Te Deum with the Czech Philharmonic.

Jakub Hrůša studied conducting at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague, where his teachers included Jiří Bělohlávek. He is president of the International Martinů Circle and of the Dvořák Society. He was the inaugural recipient of the Sir Charles Mackerras Prize and in 2020 was awarded the Antonín Dvořák Prize from the Czech Republic’s Academy of Classical Music and – together with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra – the Bavarian State Prize for Music

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Conductor Jakub Hrůša
open gallery
Conductor Jakub Hrůša
open gallery
Conductor Jakub Hrůša
open gallery
Dirigent Jakub Hrůša
open gallery
Conductor Jakub Hrůša
open gallery
Conductor Jakub Hrůša
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Jakub Hrůša

Stand: Dezember 2021

Der aus Brno stammende Jakub Hrůša ist Chefdirigent der Bamberger Symphoniker und Erster Gastdirigent sowohl der Tschechischen Philharmonie als auch des Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. Zuvor war er Erster Gastdirigent des Philharmonia Orchestra.

Er gastiert am Pult von vielen der weltweit bedeutendsten Orchester, mit engen Beziehungen zu den Wiener, Berliner und Münchner Philharmonikern, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, dem Leipziger Gewandhausorchester, der Staatskapelle Dresden, dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, dem Lucerne Festival Orchestra, dem Concertgebouw-Orchester, dem Orchestre de Paris, dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, dem NHK Symphony Orchestra und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra sowie – in den USA – zum Cleveland Orchestra, dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra, dem New York Philharmonic Orchestra und dem Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Als Operndirigent hat Jakub Hrůša in Neuproduktionen Die Sache Makropulos an der Wiener Staatsoper und am Opernhaus Zürich, Carmen am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, und Rusalka an der Pariser Opéra geleitet. In der Spielzeit 2021/22 kehrt er für Lohengrin nach Covent Garden zurück. Als regelmäßiger Gast beim Glyndebourne Festival dirigierte er Vanessa, Das schlaue Füchslein, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Carmen, The Turn of the Screw, Don Giovanni und La bohème; außerdem war er drei Jahre lang Music Director von Glyndebourne on Tour.

Jakub Hrůša hat mit vielen herausragenden Instrumentalistinnen und Instrumentalisten sowie führenden Sängerinnen und Sängern zusammengearbeitet. Für seine Einspielungen erhielt er renommierte Preise und Nominierungen. Seine Aufnahme der Violinkonzerte von Martinů und Bartók mit Frank Peter Zimmermann und den Bamberger Symphonikern wurde 2021 für einen Gramophone Award, seine Aufnahme von Dvořáks Violinkonzert mit Augustin Hadelich und dem BR-Symphonieorchester im selben Jahr für einen Grammy Award nominiert. 2020 wurden zwei seiner Aufnahmen – die Klavierkonzerte von Dvořák und Martinů mit Ivo Kahánek und den Bambergern Symphonikern und Vanessa aus Glyndebourne – mit dem BBC Music Magazine Award ausgezeichnet. Zu den jüngsten Veröffentlichungen zählen auch Symphonien von Dvořák und Brahms mit den Bamberger Symphonikern, Josef Suks Asrael-Symphonie mit dem BR-Symphonieorchester und Dvořáks Requiem und Te Deum mit der Tschechischen Philharmonie.

Jakub Hrůša studierte Dirigieren an der Akademie der musischen Künste in Prag, wo er u.a. von Jiří Bělohlávek unterrichtet wurde. Er ist Präsident des International Martinů Circle und der Dvořák Society. Er erhielt als Erster den Sir Charles Mackerras Prize und wurde 2020 mit dem Antonín-Dvořák-Preis der Tschechischen Akademie der klassischen Musik sowie – gemeinsam mit den Bamberger Symphonikern – mit dem Bayerischen Staatspreis für Musik ausgezeichnet.

Jakub Hrůša lebt mit seiner Frau und seinen beiden Kindern in London und in Prag.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Dirigent Jakub Hrůša
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Jakub Hrůša
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Jakub Hrůša
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Jakub Hrůša
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Jakub Hrůša
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Jakub Hrůša
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen