Biography

Ivor Bolton

Current as of August 2021

Ivor Bolton is music director of the Teatro Real in Madrid, chief conductor of the Basel Symphony Orchestra, chief conductor of the Dresden Festival Orchestra and conductor laureate of the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg.

In the UK, he has been music director of English Touring Opera and Glyndebourne Touring Opera, as well as chief conductor of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra. He enjoys a close relationship with the Bavarian State Opera where, since 1994, he has conducted a wide range of new productions, most notably of works by Monteverdi, Handel and Mozart. He has been awarded the prestigious Bavarian Theatre Prize for his outstanding work in Munich.

He has been a regular guest at the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino and the Paris Opéra and his other engagements include the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, and English National Opera, as well as the opera houses in Bologna, Brussels, Amsterdam, Lisbon, Sydney, Berlin, Hamburg and Geneva. Ivor Bolton’s orchestral engagements include the BBC Proms, Lincoln Center in New York, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Orchestre de Paris, the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, the Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra.

His many recordings, apart from those with the Mozarteum Orchestra and with the Basel Symphony Orchestra include Monteverdi’s L’incoronazione di Poppea and Handel’s Serse, as well as Ariodante with the Bavarian State Opera.

Highlights of the 2019/20 season included Die Zauberflöte at the Teatro Real and Così fan tutte at the Dutch National Opera. He gave several concerts as artist in residence at the Philharmonie in Essen and in Japan. During the 2020/21 season, despite restrictions caused by the pandemic, Ivor Bolton conducted three acclaimed new productions at the Teatro Real: Rusalka, Don Giovanni and Peter Grimes. He has also worked extensively with the Basel Symphony Orchestra.

Within two decades, he has conducted eight staged productions and four operas in concert at the Salzburg Festival, as well as conducting concerts every year. This Festival, he is returning for his 22nd summer in a row.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Ivor Bolton Conductor
open gallery
Ivor Bolton Conductor
open gallery
Ivor Bolton Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Ivor Bolton

Stand: August 2021

Ivor Bolton ist Musikdirektor des Teatro Real in Madrid, Chefdirigent des Sinfonieorchesters Basel, Chefdirigent des Dresdner Festspielorchesters und Ehrendirigent des Mozarteumorchesters Salzburg.

In Großbritannien war Ivor Bolton Musikdirektor der English Touring Opera, der Glyndebourne Touring Opera und Chefdirigent des Scottish Chamber Orchestra. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit verbindet ihn mit der Bayerischen Staatsoper, an der er seit 1994 zahlreiche Neuproduktionen dirigiert hat, insbesondere Werke von Monteverdi, Händel und Mozart. Für seine herausragende Münchner Tätigkeit erhielt er den begehrten Bayerischen Theaterpreis.

Ivor Bolton ist regelmäßig zu Gast beim Maggio Musicale Fiorentino und an der Pariser Opéra, außerdem an den führenden Opernhäusern in London, Amsterdam, Berlin, Bologna, Brüssel, Genf, Hamburg, Lissabon und Sydney. Als Konzertdirigent gastierte er u. a. bei den BBC Proms, am Lincoln Center New York, beim Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, dem Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, dem Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, dem Orchestre de Paris, dem Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest, den Wiener Symphonikern und dem Freiburger Barockorchester.

Neben viel gelobten Aufnahmen mit dem Mozarteumorchester und mit dem Sinfonieorchester Basel sind auch seine Einspielungen von Monteverdis L’incoronazione di Poppea sowie Händels Serse und Ariodante an der Bayerischen Staatsoper zu nennen.

Zu Höhepunkten der Saison 2019/20 zählten u. a. Mozarts Die Zauberflöte am Teatro Real in Madrid und Così fan tutte an der Niederländischen Nationaloper Amsterdam. Als Artist in Residence führten ihn Konzerte in die Philharmonie Essen und nach Japan. In der Spielzeit 2020/21 konnte Ivor Bolton – trotz aller durch die Pandemie bedingten Einschränkungen – drei viel beachtete Neuproduktionen am Teatro Real in Madrid realisieren: Rusalka, Don Giovanni und Peter Grimes. Darüber hinaus blieb er auch mit dem Sinfonieorchester Basel aktiv.

Bei den Salzburger Festspielen hat Ivor Bolton im Laufe von zwei Jahrzehnten bereits die musikalische Leitung von acht szenischen Produktionen und vier konzertant aufgeführten Opern übernommen sowie alljährlich Konzerte dirigiert. Dieses Jahr kehrt er zu seinem 22. Festspielsommer in Folge wieder.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Ivor Bolton Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ivor Bolton Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ivor Bolton Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen