Biography

Isabelle Faust

Current as of August 2021

Isabelle Faust fascinates audiences with her outstanding musical interpretations, imbued with profundity and intense playing. She dives deep into every piece, considering its historical context and suitable instruments. She complements this sense of authenticity with the need to approach a composition from the present.

After winning the renowned Leopold Mozart Competition and the Paganini Competition at a very early age, she began appearing regularly with the world’s major orchestras, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra. Close and sustained collaborations with conductors including Claudio Abbado, Giovanni Antonini, Frans Brüggen, John Eliot Gardiner, Bernard Haitink, Daniel Harding, Philippe Herreweghe, Andris Nelsons and Robin Ticciati have likewise evolved.

Isabelle Faust’s artistic curiosity embraces all eras and forms of musical collaboration. As well as performing the major symphonic violin concertos, she also plays works such as Schubert’s Octet on historical instruments, Kurtág’s Kafka-Fragmente with Anna Prohaska and Stravinsky’s L’Histoire du soldat with Dominique Horwitz. She is also committed to contemporary music and will give the premieres of works by Peter Eötvös, Brett Dean, Ondřej Adámek and Oscar Strasnoy over the coming seasons.

Her recordings have been unanimously praised by critics, as well as being awarded the Diapason d’Or, the Gramophone Award, the Choc de l’année du Monde de la Musique and various other prizes. Her most recent recordings include Bach’s violin concertos with the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E minor op. 64 with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and Pablo Heras-Casado. In 2018 a recording of Bach’s sonatas for violin and harpsichord was released in collaboration with Kristian Bezuidenhout. Isabelle Faust’s other acclaimed recordings include Bach’s solo violin sonatas and partitas, as well as the Beethoven and Berg violin concertos with Claudio Abbado. She enjoys a long-standing collaboration with pianist Alexander Melnikov and their recordings include sonatas for piano and violin by Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms.

This season, Isabelle Faust is artist in residence at the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Isabelle Faust
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Isabelle Faust

Stand: August 2021

Isabelle Faust begeistert ihr Publikum mit souveränen Interpretationen, geprägt von Tiefgründigkeit und intensivem Spiel. Dabei nähert sie sich jedem Werk mit Respekt und Verständnis für den musikgeschichtlichen Kontext wie auch für das authentische Instrumentarium. Dank ihres feinen Stilempfindens gelingt ihr die Balance zwischen größtmöglicher Werktreue und der Begegnung mit einer Komposition aus der Gegenwart heraus.

Seitdem Isabelle Faust in jungen Jahren Preisträgerin des renommierten Internationalen Violinwettbewerbs Leopold Mozart und des Premio Paganini in Genua war, gastiert sie regelmäßig mit den bedeutendsten Orchestern der Welt wie den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Boston Symphony Orchestra, dem NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und dem Freiburger Barockorchester. Dabei entstanden enge und nachhaltige Kollaborationen mit Dirigenten wie Claudio Abbado, Giovanni Antonini, Frans Brüggen, John Eliot Gardiner, Bernard Haitink, Daniel Harding, Philippe Herreweghe, Andris Nelsons und Robin Ticciati.

Isabelle Fausts künstlerische Neugier schließt alle Epochen und musikalischen Formationen ein. Neben Aufführungen der großen symphonischen Violinkonzerte zählen etwa Interpretationen von Schuberts Oktett auf historischen Instrumenten, Kurtágs Kafka-Fragmente mit Anna Prohaska und Strawinskys L’Histoire du soldat mit Dominique Horwitz zu Höhepunkten ihrer Karriere. Darüber hinaus hat sich Isabelle Faust schon früh um die Aufführung zeitgenössischer Musik verdient gemacht. Projekte der kommenden Saisonen umfassen Uraufführungen von Peter Eötvös, Brett Dean, Ondřej Adámek und Oscar Strasnoy.

Ihre zahlreichen Einspielungen wurden von der Kritik einhellig gelobt und mit Preisen wie dem Diapason d’Or, dem Gramophone Classical Music Award und dem Choc de l’année du Monde de la Musique ausgezeichnet. Jüngste Aufnahmen beinhalten Johann Sebastian Bachs Violinkonzerte mit der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und Felix Mendelssohns Violinkonzert e-Moll op. 64 mit dem Freiburger Barockorchester unter Pablo Heras-Casado. 2018 erschien eine Aufnahme von Bachs Sonaten für Violine und Cembalo in Zusammenarbeit mit Kristian Bezuidenhout. Weitere Einspielungen hat sie u. a. von Bachs Sonaten und Partiten für Violine solo sowie den Violinkonzerten von Ludwig van Beethoven und Alban Berg unter der Leitung von Claudio Abbado vorgelegt. Zudem veröffentlichte sie mehrere gemeinsame Alben mit dem Pianisten Alexander Melnikov, mit dem sie eine langjährige kammermusikalische Partnerschaft verbindet, darunter Einspielungen von Sonaten für Klavier und Violine von Mozart, Beethoven und Brahms.

Isabelle Faust ist in der Saison 2020/21 Artist in Residence im Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brüssel.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Isabelle Faust
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen