Biography

Helmut Deutsch

Current as of August 2019

Helmut Deutsch ranks among the finest, most successful and sought-after song recital accompanists in the world. He was born in Vienna, where he studied at the Conservatory, the Music Academy and the University. He was awarded the Composition Prize of Vienna in 1965 and appointed professor at the age of 24.

Although he has also performed with leading instrumentalists as a chamber musician, he has concentrated primarily on accompanying song recitals. At the beginning of his career, he worked with soprano Irmgard Seefried, but the most important singer of his early years was Hermann Prey, whom he accompanied for 12 years.

Subsequently, he has worked with many of the most important recital singers and played in the world’s major music centres. His collaborations with Jonas Kaufmann, Diana Damrau, Michael Volle and young Swiss tenor Mauro Peter are currently among his most important. Helmut Deutsch has recorded more than a hundred CDs.

In recent years, the development of young talent has been especially close to his heart. After his professorship in Vienna he continued his teaching primarily in Munich at the University of Music and the Performing Arts, where he has worked as a professor of song interpretation for 28 years. He is also a visiting professor at various other universities and gives an increasing number of masterclasses in both Europe and the Far East.

Current as of June 2018

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Helmut Deutsch Pianist
open gallery
Helmut Deutsch Pianist
open gallery
Helmut Deutsch Piano Player Piano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Helmut Deutsch

Stand: August 2019

Helmut Deutsch zählt zu den weltweit erfolgreichsten und gefragtesten Liedbegleitern. In Wien geboren, studierte er am Konservatorium, an der Musikakademie und der Universität seiner Heimatstadt. Er erhielt 1965 den Kompositionspreis der Stadt Wien und wurde mit 24 Jahren zum Professor ernannt.

Schon in seiner Studienzeit konzentrierte sich sein Hauptinteresse auf die Liedbegleitung, daneben betätigte er sich auch über mehrere Jahrzehnte als Kammermusiker in verschiedenen Formationen. Seine internationale Karriere als Liedbegleiter begann mit der Sopranistin Irmgard Seefried, wichtigster Sänger seiner jungen Jahre aber wurde Hermann Prey, dessen fester Partner er für zwölf Jahre in mehreren hundert Konzerten war.

In weiterer Folge arbeitete Helmut Deutsch mit einem Großteil der bedeutendsten Liedsänger zusammen und spielte in allen wichtigen Musikzentren der Welt. In der Gegenwart zählen die Sänger Jonas Kaufmann, Diana Damrau, Michael Volle und der junge Schweizer Tenor Mauro Peter zu seinen bevorzugten Partnern. Die Arbeit von Helmut Deutsch ist auf mehr als hundert Tonträgern dokumentiert.

Eine andere Aufgabe, die im Laufe der Jahre immer mehr zu seiner Herzenssache wurde, ist die Ausbildung und Förderung junger Talente. Seine Lehrtätigkeit setzte sich nach den Jahren in Wien vor allem an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München fort, wo er für 28 Jahre Professor für Liedgestaltung war. Daneben gibt er bis heute eine ständig wachsende Anzahl von Meisterkursen in Europa und im Fernen Osten und bleibt durch Gastprofessuren weiterhin mit verschiedenen Hochschulen verbunden.

Stand: Juni 2018

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Helmut Deutsch Pianist
Galerie öffnen
Helmut Deutsch Pianist
Galerie öffnen
Helmut Deutsch Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen