Biography

Harald B. Thor

Current as of August 2019

Harald B. Thor studied set and costume design at the Mozarteum in his native Salzburg. After an initial engagement at the Coburg Landestheater, he joined the Bavarian State Opera in Munich in 1984 and two years later became its head of design. In 1999 August Everding appointed him head of design and lecturer in stage design at his Bavarian Theatre Academy in Munich. In addition to his many designs for Munich’s Prinzregententheater, he has also created designs for theatres in Berlin, Mannheim, Vienna, Basel, Zurich, Moscow and Seoul.

Since 2001 Harald B. Thor has worked as a freelance designer. In the spoken theatre most of his set and costume designs have been for productions directed by Andreas Kriegenburg. Their work has been seen at the Deutsches Theater in Berlin, the Thalia Theatre in Hamburg, the Frankfurt Schauspiel, the Dresden Staatsschauspiel, the Akademietheater and Residenztheater in Munich, the Zurich Schauspielhaus and the Vienna Burgtheater, where his designs for Gorky’s Vassa Zheleznova won the coveted Nestroy Theatre Award in 2016.

Harald B. Thor has also designed the sets for numerous works of music theatre in Berlin, Dresden, Frankfurt, Havana, Seoul, Tokyo and Munich. Between 2002 and 2004 he was the artistic director on several opera productions at the Richard Strauss Festival in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. In 2009 he designed the sets for Die Zauberflöte at the Gran Teatro in Havana and worked with the distinguished Cuban artist Kcho on the sets for Der fliegende Holländer at the Teatro Nacional de Cuba.

In the music theatre, too, Harald B. Thor has for many years worked closely with Andreas Kriegenburg. In 2014 he designed the sets for Kriegenburg’s production of Die Soldaten at the Bavarian State Opera. His designs won the Faust Theatre Award. He additionally designed the sets for Kriegenburg’s Munich productions of Wozzeck (2008) and Rigoletto (2013), both of which were also seen at the New National Theatre in Tokyo. Their staging of the Ring was mounted in Munich in 2012. They first worked together at the Salzburg Festival on Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District in 2017.

In 2018/19 Harald B. Thor designed the sets for Kriegenburg’s productions of Les Huguenots at the Paris Opéra, Widmann’s Babylon at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin and Ibsen’s Peer Gynt at the Frankfurt Schauspiel.

 

read more collapse

Biografie

Harald B. Thor

Stand: August 2019

Harald B. Thor ist gebürtiger Salzburger und absolvierte am Salzburger Mozarteum sein Studium zum Bühnen- und Kostümbildner. Nach einem ersten Engagement am Landestheater Coburg kam er 1984 an die Bayerische Staatsoper in München, wo er 1986 die Ausstattungsleitung übernahm. 1999 wurde er von August Everding als Ausstattungsleiter und Dozent für Bühnenbild an die Bayerische Theaterakademie in München geholt. Neben zahlreichen Bühnenbildern im Münchner Prinzregententheater entwarf er weiterhin Ausstattungen für Theater in Berlin, Mannheim, Wien, Basel, Zürich, Moskau und Seoul.

Seit 2001 ist Harald B. Thor freiberuflich tätig und entwirft im Schauspielbereich in erster Linie Bühnenbilder und Kostüme für den Regisseur Andreas Kriegenburg. Gemeinsame Produktionen entstanden u.a. am Deutschen Theater in Berlin, am Thalia Theater in Hamburg, am Schauspiel Frankfurt, am Staatsschauspiel Dresden, am Akademietheater und am Residenztheater in München, am Schauspielhaus Zürich und am Burgtheater in Wien, wo er für sein Bühnenbild für Gorkis Wassa Schelesnowa 2016 den begehrten Nestroy-Theaterpreis erhielt.

Als Bühnenbildner für Musiktheaterproduktionen hat er u.a. für die Opernhäuser in Berlin, Dresden, Frankfurt, Havanna, Seoul, Tokio und München gearbeitet. Von 2002 bis 2004 hatte Harald B. Thor die künstlerische Leitung für mehrere Opernproduktionen bei den Richard-Strauss-Tagen in Garmisch-Partenkirchen inne. 2009 entwarf er das Bühnenbild für Die Zauberflöte am Gran Teatro in Havanna (Kuba) und gestaltete zusammen mit dem bekannten kubanischen Künstler Kcho das Bühnenbild für Der fliegende Holländer am Teatro Nacional de Cuba.

Auch im Musiktheater verbindet ihn eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Kriegenburg. So entwarf er 2014 das Bühnenbild für Die Soldaten an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, das mit dem Theaterpreis Der Faust ausgezeichnet wurde. Außerdem schuf er die Bühnenbilder für Kriegenburgs Münchner Inszenierungen von Wozzeck (2008) und Rigoletto (2013), die auch am New National Theatre Tokyo zu sehen waren, 2012 für Der Ring des Nibelungen sowie 2017 für Lady Macbeth von Mzensk, mit der er erstmals bei den Salzburger Festspielen zu Gast war.

In der Spielzeit 2018/19 entwarf er die Bühnenbilder für Andreas Kriegenburgs Inszenierungen von Les Huguenots an der Pariser Opéra, Widmanns Babylon an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und Peer Gynt am Schauspiel Frankfurt.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen