Biography

Hagen Quartett

Current as of August 2020

The Hagen Quartet has been one of the world’s finest string quartets for many years. Its concert programmes during the 2020/21 season, in which the Hagen Quartet celebrates its 40th anniversary, include Mozart’s ten great string quartets and the Clarinet Quintet, the Shostakovich and Schumann piano quintets, Schubert’s String Quintet and Jörg Widmann’s Clarinet Quintet. The Hagen Quartet’s combination of Mozart quartets and quintets, performed with leading guest musicians, will shape its concert series at the Konzerthaus in Vienna. The Quartet will also tour over the coming season to London, Brussels, Munich, Berlin, Amsterdam, Wrocław, Barcelona, Madrid, Turin and Hamburg, as well as to the Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, the Salzburg Festival and the Lucerne Festival and to the USA and Japan.

The Hagen Quartet’s unparalleled career began in Salzburg in 1981. Its first few years were distinguished by success at various competitions and an exclusive contract with Deutsche Grammophon. The Quartet’s extensive collaboration with the label resulted in numerous recordings, through which the players performed a vast repertoire and developed a unique profile.

The Hagen Quartet has worked with myrios classics since 2011. Its recordings of Brahms’s Clarinet Quintet with Jörg Widmann and Mozart’s string quartets have received critical acclaim worldwide, as well as prizes such as the Echo Klassik Award and the Diapason d’Or. A recording of Brahms’s Third String Quartet and the Piano Quintet with Kirill Gerstein followed in 2019. A new disc featuring the Mozart Clarinet Quintet and the premiere recording of Jörg Widmann’s Clarinet Quintet will be released this autumn.

The Hagen Quartet has been an honorary member of the Konzerthaus in Vienna since 2012 and received the Concertgebouw Prize in 2019, honouring years of charismatic performances at the venue. The Quartet offers engaging and intelligent programmes, with a repertoire ranging from early music through Haydn to Kurtág and reflecting the entire history of the string quartet. The Hagen Quartet has also cultivated important relationships with the composers of its own time, performing existing works and giving several world premieres. Collaborations with artistic personalities such as the late Nikolaus Harnoncourt and György Kurtág have been as a crucial to the Quartet as its appearances with musicians including Maurizio Pollini, Mitsuko Uchida, Krystian Zimerman, Jörg Widmann, Kirill Gerstein, Sol Gabetta, Gautier Capuçon and Igor Levit.

The Hagen Quartet is a role model for a number of young string quartets in terms of its sound quality, stylistic variety, teamwork and engagement with the composers and repertoire of the string quartet. As teachers and mentors at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, the University of Music in Basel and international masterclasses, the Quartet passes on a wealth of experience to its younger colleagues.

The Hagen Quartet plays instruments by old Italian masters.

read more collapse

Biografie

Hagen Quartett

Stand: August 2020

Seit langem zählt das Hagen Quartett unangefochten zu den weltweit besten Streichquartetten. Auf den Konzertprogrammen der Saison 2020/21, in der das Hagen Quartett sein 40-jähriges Jubiläum begeht, stehen die zehn großen Streichquartette und das Klarinettenquintett von Mozart, die Klavierquintette von Schostakowitsch und Schumann, das Streichquintett von Schubert und das Klarinettenquintett von Jörg Widmann. Die Zusammenstellung von Mozarts Quartetten und den Quintetten mit Gastmusikern wird insbesondere die Konzertreihe des Hagen Quartetts im Wiener Konzerthaus prägen. Tourneen führen das Ensemble in dieser Saison u.a. nach London, Brüssel, München, Berlin, Amsterdam, Wrocław, Barcelona, Madrid, Turin, Hamburg, zur Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, zu den Salzburger Festspielen und zum Lucerne Festival sowie in die USA und nach Japan.
Die beispiellose Karriere des Hagen Quartetts begann 1981 in Salzburg. Die ersten Jahre waren geprägt von Wettbewerbserfolgen und einem Exklusivvertrag mit der Deutschen Grammophon. Aus der jahrzehntelangen Zusammenarbeit mit diesem Label gingen zahlreiche Einspielungen hervor, in deren Zuge das Ensemble ein schier endloses Repertoire erarbeitete und sein unverwechselbares Profil entwickelte.

Seit 2011 arbeitet das Hagen Quartett mit dem Label myrios classics zusammen: Die Aufnahmen von Brahms’ Klarinettenquintett mit Jörg Widmann und von Mozarts Streichquartetten wurden international von der Presse hoch gelobt und mit Preisen wie dem ECHO Klassik und dem Diapason d’Or ausgezeichnet. 2019 folgte eine Einspielung von Brahms’ 3. Streichquartett und Klavierquintett mit Kirill Gerstein. Im Herbst 2020 erscheint eine Aufnahme der Klarinettenquintette von Mozart und – als Ersteinspielung – von Jörg Widmann.
Das Hagen Quartett ist seit 2012 Ehrenmitglied des Wiener Konzerthauses und erhielt 2019 den Concertgebouw-Preis für seine langjährige künstlerische Strahlkraft und Mitgestaltung. In seinen Konzerten widmet sich das Quartett reizvollen und intelligent kombinierten Programmen, deren Repertoire von Werken aus frühen Epochen über Haydn bis hin zu Kurtág reicht und die gesamte Geschichte des Streichquartetts widerspiegelt. Das Hagen Quartett pflegt und vertieft den Kontakt mit Komponistinnen und Komponisten seiner Generation, sei es mit der Aufführung von bereits bestehenden oder mit der Uraufführung neuer Werke. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlerpersönlichkeiten wie Nikolaus Harnoncourt (†) und György Kurtág ist dem Quartett ebenso wichtig wie gemeinsame Konzertauftritte mit Musikerinnen und Musikern wie Maurizio Pollini, Mitsuko Uchida, Krystian Zimerman, Jörg Widmann, Kirill Gerstein, Sol Gabetta, Gautier Capuçon und Igor Levit.
Für eine Vielzahl junger Streichquartette ist das Hagen Quartett Vorbild in Bezug auf Klangqualität, stilistische Vielfalt, Zusammenspiel und die ernsthafte Auseinandersetzung mit den Werken und Komponisten ihres Genres. Als Lehrer und Mentoren am Salzburger Mozarteum, der Hochschule für Musik in Basel und bei internationalen Meisterkursen geben die Mitglieder des Quartetts diesen großen Erfahrungsschatz an ihre jüngeren Kollegen weiter.

Das Hagen Quartett spielt auf alten italienischen Meisterinstrumenten.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen