Biography

Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester

Current as of August 2019

The Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester (GMJO) was founded in Vienna in 1986–7 under the initiative of Claudio Abbado. Today it is regarded as the world’s leading youth orchestra and was honoured by the European Cultural Foundation in 2007.

As well as supporting young musicians and their work, Claudio Abbado was keen to encourage the music-making of young Austrian musicians together with colleagues from the then socialist republics of Czechoslovakia and Hungary. The GMJO consequently became the first international youth orchestra to hold open auditions in the former Eastern Bloc. In 1992 the GMJO was open to musicians aged up to 26 from all over Europe. As the leading youth orchestra in Europe, it is under the patronage of the Council of Europe.

An international jury selects candidates from around 2,500 applicants at auditions that take place every year in over 25 European cities. Prominent orchestral musicians are members of the jury and are also responsible for the preparation of the repertoire within the individual sections of the Orchestra during the rehearsal periods.

The GMJO’s repertoire ranges from Classical to contemporary music, with an emphasis on the great symphonic works of the Romantic and late-Romantic periods. Its artistic excellence and international success have prompted many leading conductors and soloists to perform with the GMJO, including Claudio Abbado, David Afkham, Herbert Blomstedt, Pierre Boulez, Myung-Whun Chung, Colin Davis, Péter Eötvös, Christoph Eschenbach, Iván Fischer, Daniele Gatti, Bernard Haitink, Paavo Järvi, Mariss Jansons, Philippe Jordan, Daniel Harding, Vladimir Jurowski, Ingo Metzmacher, Kent Nagano, Václav Neumann, Jonathan Nott, Seiji Ozawa, Antonio Pappano, Lorenzo Viotti and Franz Welser-Möst. Among the renowned soloists who have worked with the GMJO are Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Martha Argerich, Yuri Bashmet, Lisa Batiashvili, Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, Christian Gerhaher, Matthias Goerne, Susan Graham, Thomas Hampson, Leonidas Kavakos, Evgeny Kissin, Christa Ludwig, Radu Lupu, Yo-Yo Ma, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Anne Sofie von Otter, Tamara Stefanovich, Maxim Vengerov and Frank Peter Zimmermann.

The GMJO has been a regular guest at the most prestigious concert halls and festivals for many years, such as the Musikverein in Vienna, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Suntory Hall in Tokyo, the Mozarteum Argentino in Buenos Aires, the Salzburg Festival and the Salzburg Easter Festival, the Edinburgh Festival, the BBC Proms, the Semperoper Dresden and the Lucerne Festival.

Many former players from the GMJO are now members of leading European orchestras, some of them in principal positions. In 2012 an intensive partnership with the renowned Staatskapelle Dresden was announced, including concerts and projects involving members of both orchestras.

The GMJO was appointed Ambassador UNICEF Austria on the occasion of its 25th anniversary. Erste Bank and Vienna Insurance Group are the main sponsors of the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester.

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester orchestra
open gallery
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester orchestra
open gallery
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester orchestra
open gallery
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester orchestra
open gallery
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester orchestra
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester

Stand: Juli 2021

Das Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester (GMJO) wurde 1986/87 auf Initiative von Claudio Abbado in Wien gegründet. Es gilt heute als das weltweit führende Jugendorchester und wurde 2007 mit einem Preis der Europäischen Kulturstiftung gewürdigt.

Neben der Förderung des musikalischen Nachwuchses und der Arbeit mit jungen Musikerinnen und Musikern war es Abbado ein wichtiges Anliegen, das gemeinsame Musizieren junger österreichischer Musikerinnen und Musiker mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus der damaligen ČSSR und Ungarn zu fördern. So führte das GMJO als erstes internationales Jugendorchester freie Probespiele in Ländern des ehemaligen Ostblocks durch. 1992 wurde das GMJO für Musikerinnen und Musiker bis zum 26. Lebensjahr aus ganz Europa zugänglich. Es steht als das gesamteuropäische Jugendorchester unter dem Patronat des Europarates.

Bei den jährlich stattfindenden Probespielen in mehr als 25 europäischen Städten trifft die aus professionellen Orchestermusikern bestehende Jury – die auch die Erarbeitung der Tournee-Programme betreut – eine Auswahl aus mehr als 2500 Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern.

Das Repertoire des GMJO erstreckt sich von der Klassik bis hin zu zeitgenössischer Musik mit einem Schwerpunkt auf den großen Werken der Romantik und Spätromantik. Sein hohes künstlerisches Niveau und der internationale Erfolg animierten zahlreiche bedeutende Musiker, mit dem GMJO zu arbeiten. So haben in der Vergangenheit Dirigenten wie Claudio Abbado, David Afkham, Herbert Blomstedt, Pierre Boulez, Myung-Whun Chung, Colin Davis, Peter Eötvös, Christoph Eschenbach, Iván Fischer, Daniele Gatti, Bernard Haitink, Daniel Harding, Paavo Järvi, Mariss Jansons, Philippe Jordan, Vladimir Jurowski, Ingo Metzmacher, Kent Nagano, Václav Neumann, Jonathan Nott, Seiji Ozawa, Antonio Pappano, Christian Thielemann, Lorenzo Viotti und Franz Welser-Möst das GMJO geleitet. Zu den Solistinnen und Solisten, die bisher mit dem Orchester zusammengearbeitet haben, zählen u. a. Martha Argerich, Yuri Bashmet, Lisa Batiashvili, Renaud und Gautier Capuçon, Christian Gerhaher, Matthias Goerne, Susan Graham, Thomas Hampson, Leonidas Kavakos, Evgeny Kissin, Christa Ludwig, Radu Lupu, Yo-Yo Ma, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Anne Sofie von Otter, Maxim Vengerov und Frank Peter Zimmermann.

Seit Jahren ist das GMJO ständiger Gast bei renommierten Konzertveranstaltern und Festivals auf der ganzen Welt, wie etwa dem Wiener Musikverein, dem Concertgebouw Amsterdam, der Suntory Hall in Tokio, dem Mozarteum Argentino in Buenos Aires, den Osterfestspielen Salzburg, dem Edinburgh Festival, den BBC Proms, der Semperoper Dresden und dem Lucerne Festival. Eine besondere Zusammenarbeit verbindet das GMJO seit seinen Gründungsjahren mit den Salzburger Festspielen.

Zahlreiche ehemalige Mitglieder des GMJO sind heute in großen europäischen Orchestern, zum Teil in führenden Positionen, engagiert. Im Jahr 2012 wurde eine intensive Partnerschaft mit der renommierten Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden vereinbart, die auch Konzerte und Projekte unter Beteiligung von Mitgliedern beider Orchester umfasst.

Anlässlich seines 25-jährigen Jubiläums wurde das Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester zum Botschafter UNICEF Österreich ernannt.

Das Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester wird seit seiner Gründung 1986/87 wesentlich unterstützt vom Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport sowie von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.

Erste Group und Vienna Insurance Group – Hauptsponsoren des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester Orchester
Galerie öffnen
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester Orchester
Galerie öffnen
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester Orchester
Galerie öffnen
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester Orchester
Galerie öffnen
Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester Orchester
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen