Biography

Francesco Piemontesi

Current as of August 2020

Pianist Francesco Piemontesi, born in Locarno, studied with Arie Vardi before working with Alfred Brendel, Murray Perahia, Cécile Ousset and Alexis Weissenberg. He rose to prominence by winning prizes at several competitions, including the 2007 Queen Elisabeth Competition. Between 2009 and 2011 he was a BBC New Generation Artist. He is widely renowned for his inter-pretations of Mozart and the early Romantic repertoire, though he also has a close affinity with later 19th and 20th-century works.

Francesco Piemontesi appears with major ensembles worldwide, including the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, the St Petersburg Philharmonic, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Orchestre National de France, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, the Israel Philharmonic, the Cleveland and the Pittsburgh Symphony orchestras and the Los Angeles Philharmonic.
He has given solo recitals at many prestigious venues including the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, De Doelen in Rotterdam, the Philharmonie in Berlin, the Tonhalle in Zurich, the Konzerthaus and the Musikverein in Vienna, the Carnegie Hall and Avery Fisher Hall in New York and the Suntory Hall in Tokyo. His chamber music partners include Leif Ove Andsnes, Yuri Bashmet, Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, Emmanuel Pahud, Heinrich Schiff, Christian Tetzlaff, Tabea Zimmermann and the Emerson String Quartet.
He has also performed at renowned festivals such as the Verbier, the Edinburgh International Festival, La Roque d’Anthéron, the Chopin International Music Festival in Warsaw, the festivals in Lucerne, Aix-en-Provence and Schleswig-Holstein, the Rheingau Music Festival and the Mostly Mozart Festival in New York. He launched major Schubert cycles in August 2018 and in the 2019/20 season at the Schubertiade as well as in October 2019 at Wigmore Hall.

Francesco Piemontesi has made a number of recordings, including the Debussy Préludes, the Schumann and Dvořák piano concertos (with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Jiří Bělohlávek) on Naïve Classique, Mozart’s 25th and 26th piano concertos with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Andrew Manze on Linn Records in 2017 and Liszt’s Années de pèlerinage on Orfeo in May 2019, combined with a documentary by filmmaker Bruno Monsaingeon. His debut album on the Pentatone label with the last three Schubert sonatas was released in October 2019.

He has been artistic director of the Settimane Musicali di Ascona since 2012.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Francesco Piemontesi Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Francesco Piemontesi Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Francesco Piemontesi Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Francesco Piemontesi Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Francesco Piemontesi Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Francesco Piemontesi Piano Player Piano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Francesco Piemontesi

Stand: August 2019

Der Pianist Francesco Piemontesi wurde in Locarno geboren und studierte zunächst bei Arie Vardi, bevor er mit Alfred Brendel, Murray Perahia, Cécile Ousset und Alexis Weissenberg arbeitete. Als Preisträger mehrerer renommierter Wettbewerbe, etwa des Concours Reine Elisabeth 2007, erlangte er internationales Ansehen. Zwischen 2009 und 2011 war er BBC New Generation Artist. Bekannt für seine Interpretationen von Werken Mozarts und des frühen romantischen Repertoires, hat Francesco Piemontesi auch eine hohe Affinität zu Kompositionen des späten 19. und des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Der Pianist tritt weltweit mit den renommiertesten Orchestern auf, u. a. mit dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, den Wiener Symphonikern, der Tschechischen Philharmonie, dem Festival Orchester Budapest, den Sankt Petersburger Philharmonikern, dem London Symphony Orchestra, dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, dem Orchestre National de France, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe, dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Cleveland Orchestra, dem Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra und dem Los Angeles Philharmonic.

Francesco Piemontesi widmet einen großen Teil seiner Arbeit der Kammermusik und trat bereits mit verschiedenen Partnern wie Leif Ove Andsnes, Yuri Bashmet, Renaud und Gautier Capuçon, Emmanuel Pahud, Heinrich Schiff, Christian Tetzlaff, Tabea Zimmermann und dem Emerson String Quartet auf.

Als Solist trat Francesco Piemontesi in vielen namhaften Konzertsälen auf, darunter in der Wigmore Hall, im Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, in De Doelen in Rotterdam, der Berliner Philharmonie, in der Tonhalle in Zürich, im Wiener Konzerthaus und Musikverein, in der Carnegie Hall und der Avery Fisher Hall in New York sowie der Suntory Hall in Tokio.

Zudem ist er regelmäßig beim Verbier Festival, Edinburgh International Festival, Festival International de Piano La Roque d’Anthéron, Internationalen Musikfestival Chopin and his Europe in Warschau, Lucerne Festival, bei der Schubertiade, beim Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence, Rheingau Musik Festival, Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival und beim Mostly Mozart Festival in New York zu Gast.

Zu den Höhepunkten der Saison 2018/19 zählten Debüts mit dem Boston Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Andrew Manze und dem National Symphony Orchestra unter Gianandrea Noseda sowie Solo-Rezitale in der Queen Elizabeth Hall in London, im Lincoln Center in New York und im Herbst Theater in San Francisco. 2018 war er bei der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg mit Klavierwerken von Schubert zu hören und wird dort in der Saison 2019/20 wieder mit Werken von Liszt, Brahms, Schumann und Schubert zu erleben sein.

Francesco Piemontesi legte eine Reihe von Aufnahmen vor, u. a. Debussys Préludes, Klavierwerke von Mozart sowie die Klavierkonzerte von Schumann und Dvořák (mit dem BBC Symphony Orchestra und Jiří Bělohlávek) bei Naïve Classique. Seine Aufnahme von Mozarts Klavierkonzerten KV 503 und KV 537 mit dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra und Andrew Manze wurde 2017 bei Linn Records veröffentlicht; seine neueste CD mit Liszts Années de pèlerinage erschien im Mai 2019 beim Label Orfeo.

Seit 2012 ist Francesco Piemontesi Künstlerischer Leiter der Settimane Musicali di Ascona.

 

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Francesco Piemontesi Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Francesco Piemontesi Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Francesco Piemontesi Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Francesco Piemontesi Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Francesco Piemontesi Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Francesco Piemontesi Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen