Biography

Ernst Raffelsberger

Current as of July 2019

Ernst Raffelsberger was born in Gmunden in Upper Austria and studied music teaching and church music at the Academy of Music and the Performing Arts in Vienna, where his teachers included Erwin Ortner for choral conducting. He later attended Walter Hagen-Groll’s course in choral conducting at the Salzburg Mozarteum. From 1983 to 1986 he conducted the Vienna Boys Choir both in Vienna and on tours of Europe, South Africa, Canada and the United States. In 1986 he was appointed chorus master and assistant conductor at the Salzburg Landestheater, leading to his involvement in the Mozart Week Festival and the Salzburg Festival. In 1989 Donald Runnicles invited him to join the Freiburg Theatre as chorus master and conductor.
Since autumn 1993 Ernst Raffelsberger has been chorus master at the Zurich Opera, where he has been in charge of more than one hundred new productions, working with many leading conductors such as Riccardo Chailly, Christoph von Dohnányi, Vladimir Fedoseyev, John Eliot Gardiner, Daniele Gatti, Bernard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Zubin Mehta and Franz Welser-Möst. Guest appearances with the company have taken him to Vienna, London, Paris and Tokyo. Numerous CDs and DVDs document his work with them.
Since 2012 Ernst Raffelsberger has worked as chorus master of the Concert Association of the Vienna State Opera Chorus at the Salzburg Festival, preparing the chorus for opera productions that have included Die Zauberflöte (2012 and 2018), Così fan tutte, Le nozze di Figaro, Fidelio, Fierrabras, Il trovatore, Ernani, La bohème, Carmen, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Der Rosenkavalier, Die Liebe der Danae, Aida, Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, Wozzeck, Lucrezia Borgia and The Queen of Spades, while his concert work includes Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms, Berlioz’s Messe solennelle, Verdi’s Requiem, Haydn’s Die Jahreszeiten, Bruckner’s Te Deum and Schubert’s Mass in E flat major. Among the conductors with whom he has worked in Salzburg are Harnoncourt, Gatti, Welser-Möst, Simon Rattle, Riccardo Muti, Ingo Metzmacher, Valery Gergiev, Philippe Jordan, Gianandrea Noseda, Dan Ettinger, Ottavio Dantone, Marco Armiliato, Mariss Jansons, Vladimir Jurowski and Constantinos Carydis.

read more collapse

Biografie

Ernst Raffelsberger

Stand: Juli 2019

Ernst Raffelsberger stammt aus Gmunden/Oberösterreich. Er studierte Musikpädagogik und Kirchenmusik an der Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien (Chorleitung bei Prof. Erwin Ortner) und anschließend Chordirigieren am Salzburger Mozarteum bei Prof. Walter Hagen-Groll. Von 1983 bis 1986 war er Kapellmeister der Wiener Sängerknaben. In dieser Zeit leitete er das Ensemble in Wien und auf Tourneen durch Europa, Südafrika, Kanada und die USA. Ab 1986 war Ernst Raffelsberger Chordirektor und Kapellmeister am Salzburger Landestheater (Mitwirkung bei der Salzburger Mozartwoche und den Salzburger Festspielen). 1989 wurde er von Donald Runnicles als Chordirektor und Kapellmeister an das Theater in Freiburg / Breisgau berufen.
Seit Herbst 1993 ist Ernst Raffelsberger am Opernhaus Zürich als Chordirektor engagiert. Dort hat er inzwischen über 100 Premieren betreut und mit vielen namhaften Dirigenten wie Riccardo Chailly, Christoph von Dohnányi, Vladimir Fedoseyev, John Eliot Gardiner, Daniele Gatti, Bernard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Zubin Mehta und Franz Welser-Möst zusammengearbeitet. Gastspiele mit dem Opernhaus Zürich führten ihn nach Wien, London, Paris und Tokio. Zahlreiche CD- und DVD-Aufnahmen dokumentieren diese Arbeit.
Seit 2012 war Ernst Raffelsberger bei den Salzburger Festspielen als Chordirektor der Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor für die Einstudierungen in Die Zauberflöte (2012 und 2018), Così fan tutte, Le nozze di Figaro, Fidelio, Fierrabras, Il trovatore, Ernani, La bohème, Manon Lescaut, Carmen, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Der Rosenkavalier, Die Liebe der Danae, Aida, Lady Macbeth von Mzensk, Wozzeck, Lucrezia Borgia und Pique Dame sowie im Konzertbereich für Strawinskys Psalmensymphonie, Berlioz’ Messe solennelle, Verdis Requiem, Haydns Jahreszeiten, Bruckners Te Deum und Schuberts Es-Dur-Messe verantwortlich. Dabei arbeitete er mit Dirigenten wie Harnoncourt, Gatti, Welser-Möst, Simon Rattle, Riccardo Muti, Ingo Metzmacher, Valery Gergiev, Philippe Jordan, Gianandrea Noseda, Dan Ettinger, Ottavio Dantone, Marco Armiliato, Mariss Jansons, Vladimir Jurowski und Constantinos Carydis zusammen.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen