Biography

Diana Damrau

Current as of August 2019

Soprano Diana Damrau has been performing on the world’s leading opera and concert stages for two decades. Her repertoire includes the title roles in Lucia di Lammermoor (La Scala, Milan, the Bavarian State Opera, the Metropolitan Opera, New York, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden), Manon (the Vienna State Opera, the Met) and La traviata (La Scala, the Met, Covent Garden, the Paris Opéra, Munich) and the Queen of the Night in Die Zauberflöte (the Met, the Salzburg Festival, Vienna, Covent Garden, Bavarian State Opera).

Made a Kammersängerin of the Bavarian State Opera in 2007 and awarded the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art in 2010, Diana Damrau has close links with the Bavarian State Opera. She also performed various signature roles at the Met, which have been broadcast to cinemas worldwide. She was the first singer in Met history to appear as both Pamina and the Queen of the Night in different performances of the same run of Die Zauberflöte. Diana Damrau has twice participated in the annual inaugural performance at La Scala. She has also appeared in contemporary operas written especially for her, including the main role in Iain Bell’s A Harlot’s Progress at the Theater an der Wien in 2013 and in Lorin Maazel’s 1984 at Covent Garden in 2005.

Diana Damrau is one of today’s most sought-after interpreters of song, enjoying a close artistic partnership with pianist Helmut Deutsch. She also frequently performs in recital with harpist Xavier de Maistre, as featured on their CD Nuit d’étoiles and a DVD of a performance from the Festspielhaus in Baden-Baden.

Recording exclusively for Warner / Erato, Diana Damrau made her debut on disc with Arie di Bravura, a collection of Mozart and Salieri arias. Subsequent releases include Donna, featuring Mozart arias, COLORaturaS, with a selection of coloratura arias from the Romantic period, Poesie, with orchestral songs by Richard Strauss, which was awarded the Echo Klassik Prize in 2011, and songs by Franz Liszt. Forever, featuring highlights from operetta, film and musical theatre, was awarded the Echo Klassik Prize in 2014, followed by the release of Fiamma del Belcanto.

In September 2017 Diana Damrau opened the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra’s season. She also appeared at a gala marking the reopening of the Berlin State Opera with the Staatskapelle Berlin and Daniel Barenboim in Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. In December 2017 she performed in a Christmas concert with the Staatskapelle Dresden and Christian Thielemann, which was broadcast on ZDF, followed by an invitation to appear at the 2018 Dresden Opera Ball.

Following the release of her album Grand Opéra, Diana Damrau was named singer of the year at the 2018 Opus Classic Awards. In February 2018 she appeared alongside tenor Jonas Kaufmann and pianist Helmut Deutsch at the most prestigious concert halls in Europe singing Wolf’s Italienisches Liederbuch. A live recording was released by Warner/Erato. She also made her debut in the title role in Maria Stuarda at the Zurich Opera in spring 2018 and returned to the Met in December 2018 as Violetta in a new production of La traviata. She has also been artist in residence at the Barbican Centre in London and, as well as giving recitals with Helmut Deutsch, recently performed with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Mariss Jansons.

During the 2019/20 season she will continue her successful collaboration with the Orchestra, performing Strauss’s Four Last Songs at various European cultural centres and at Carnegie Hall. She will also give recitals with Antonio Pappano and appear at La Scala in Roméo et Juliette, at the Bavarian State Opera in I masnadieri and at the Met in Maria Stuarda.

www.diana-damrau.com

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Diana Damrau Singer Soprano
open gallery
Diana Damrau Singer Soprano
open gallery
Diana Damrau Singer Soprano
open gallery
Diana Damrau Singer Soprano
open gallery
Diana Damrau Singer Soprano
open gallery
Diana Damrau Singer Soprano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Diana Damrau

Stand: August 2019

Seit ihrem Bühnendebüt ist die Sopranistin Diana Damrau nunmehr seit 20 Jahren Gast an den international führenden Opern- und Konzerthäusern sowie bei den renommierten Musikfestivals. Ihr umfangreiches Repertoire beinhaltet die Titelrollen in Lucia di Lammermoor (Mailänder Scala, Bayerische Staatsoper, Metropolitan Opera, New York, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden), Manon (Wiener Staatsoper, Metropolitan Opera) und La traviata (La Scala, Met, Covent Garden, Pariser Opéra, Bayerische Staatsoper) sowie die Königin der Nacht in Die Zauberflöte (Met, Salzburger Festspiele, Wiener Staatsoper, Bayerische Staatsoper, Covent Garden).

Als Kammersängerin der Bayerischen Staatsoper (2007) und Trägerin des Bayerischen Maximiliansordens für Wissenschaft und Kunst (2010) hat Diana Damrau eine starke Bindung zur Bayerischen Staatsoper in München. Auch an der Metropolitan Opera war sie in bedeutenden Produktionen zu sehen, die weltweit live in Kinos übertragen wurden. Sie ist die erste Sängerin in der Geschichte der Met, die sowohl Pamina als auch die Königin der Nacht in verschiedenen Vorstellungen derselben Serie der Zauberflöte gesungen hat. Diana Damrau wirkte bisher zweimal an der Saisoneröffnung der Mailänder Scala mit und ist immer wieder mit zeitgenössischem Repertoire auf der Opernbühne zu erleben. Die Hauptpartien in Iain Bells A Harlot’s Progress am Theater an der Wien 2013 und in Lorin Maazels 1984 in Covent Garden 2005 wurden für sie komponiert.

Diana Damrau zählt zu den gefragtesten Liedinterpretinnen. Eine enge künstlerische Partnerschaft verbindet sie mit dem Pianisten Helmut Deutsch. Häufig tritt sie auch mit dem Harfenisten Xavier de Maistre auf, was u. a. auf ihrer CD Nuit d’étoiles und auf einer DVD mit einem Auftritt im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden dokumentiert ist.

Als Exklusivkünstlerin von Warner Classics / Erato spielte sie Arie di Bravura, eine Sammlung von Mozart- und Salieri-Arien, ein. Es folgten Solo-Alben wie Donna mit Mozart-Arien, COLORaturaS mit romantischen Koloraturarien, das mit einem ECHO prämierte Album Poesie mit Orchesterliedern von Richard Strauss sowie Liedern von Franz Liszt. Die CD Forever mit Highlights aus Operette, Film und Musical wurde mit dem ECHO Klassik 2014 ausgezeichnet, darauf folgte das Album Fiamma del Belcanto.

Im September 2017 eröffnete Diana Damrau die Konzertsaison des Concertgebouworkest. Zur Wiedereröffnung der Berliner Staatsoper interpretierte sie gemeinsam mit der Staatskapelle Berlin unter Daniel Barenboim Beethovens 9. Symphonie. Beim ZDF-Weihnachtskonzert konzertierte sie im Dezember 2017 gemeinsam mit der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden unter Christian Thielemann und Anfang 2018 gastierte sie auf dem SemperOpernball.

Anlässlich der Veröffentlichung ihres Albums Grand Opéra wurde Diana Damrau als „Sängerin des Jahres“ mit dem OPUS KLASSIK 2018 ausgezeichnet. Im Februar 2018 gastierte sie in den renommiertesten Konzerthäusern Europas und interpretierte – u. a. auch bei den Salzburger Festspielen – zusammen mit dem Tenor Jonas Kaufmann und dem Pianisten Helmut Deutsch Hugo Wolfs Italienisches Liederbuch. Das gleichnamige Live-Album wurde von Warner/Erato veröffentlicht. Des Weiteren debütierte sie im Frühjahr 2018 in der Titelpartie in Maria Stuarda am Opernhaus Zürich und kehrte im Dezember 2018 als Violetta in einer Neuproduktion von La traviata an die MET zurück. Zudem ist Diana Damrau Artist in Residence am Barbican Centre in London. Neben einem Liederabend mit Helmut Deutsch gastierte sie jüngst zusammen mit dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks und Mariss Jansons.

In der Saison 2019/20 setzt sie die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit diesem Klangkörper fort und präsentiert in ausgewählten Kulturmetropolen Europas sowie in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall die Vier letzten Lieder von Richard Strauss. Ferner gibt sie Liederabende mit Antonio Pappano und gastiert an der Mailänder Scala in Romeo et Juliette, an der Bayerischen Staatsoper in I masnadieri sowie Maria Stuarda an der MET.

www.diana-damrau.com

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Diana Damrau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Diana Damrau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Diana Damrau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Diana Damrau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Diana Damrau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Diana Damrau Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen