Biography

Clemens Hagen

Current as of July 2019

Cellist Clemens Hagen comes from a Salzburg family of musicians and received his first lessons at the age of six. Two years later he began studying at the Mozarteum University in his hometown and later moved to the University of Music in Basel. His teachers included Wilfried Tachezi and Heinrich Schiff. In addition to numerous first prizes, Clemens Hagen was awarded the special prize of the Vienna Philharmonic in 1983, as well as the Karl Böhm Prize.
Clemens Hagen has performed as a soloist with internationally renowned orchestras such as the Berlin and Vienna Philharmonics, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Camerata Salzburg, the German Chamber Philharmonic, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, the SWR Symphony Orchestra, the Cleveland Orchestra and the NHK Symphony Orchestra under conductors such as Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Claudio Abbado, Franz Welser-Möst, Ingo Metzmacher, Sándor Végh, Daniel Harding, Zoltán Kocsis, and Sylvain Cambreling.
Clemens Hagen’s extensive discography includes live recordings of Brahms’s Double Concerto with Gidon Kremer and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra under Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Beethoven’s Triple Concerto with Thomas Zehetmair, Pierre-Laurent Aimard and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, also under Harnoncourt. He has also recorded Beethoven and Schumann’s complete works for cello and piano with Paul Gulda and Stefan Vladar and his latest recording features Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major.
Chamber music is an essential complement to Clemens Hagen’s solo career, including first and foremost the Hagen Quartet, with whom he has performed worldwide for over 35 years and recorded over 45 CDs for Deutsche Grammophon. Other chamber music partners include Gidon Kremer, Renaud Capuçon, Leonidas Kavakos, Maxim Vengerov, Christian Tetzlaff, Yuja Wang, Evgeny Kissin, Mitsuko Uchida, Martha Argerich, Hélène Grimaud, Kirill Gerstein, Stefan Vladar, Leif Ove Andsnes and Sabine Meyer.
Clemens Hagen was invited by the late Claudio Abbado to join the newly founded Lucerne Festival Orchestra in 2003 and continues to be a member of the Orchestra. From the 2018/19 season on he has been the cellist of the Vienna Piano Trio. Clemens Hagen has taught the cello, as well as chamber music, at the Mozarteum University since 1988 and has held a professorship there since 2003.
He plays a cello by Antonio Stradivari from 1698.

read more collapse

Biografie

Clemens Hagen

Stand: Juli 2019

Der Cellist Clemens Hagen stammt aus einer Salzburger Musikerfamilie und erhielt im Alter von sechs Jahren ersten Unterricht. Zwei Jahre später begann er bereits sein Studium an der Universität Mozarteum; später wechselte er an die Hochschule für Musik in Basel. Zu seinen Lehrern zählen Wilfried Tachezi und Heinrich Schiff. Neben zahlreichen ersten Preisen erhielt Clemens Hagen 1983 den Spezialpreis der Wiener Philharmoniker sowie den Karl-Böhm-Preis.

Als Solist konzertierte Clemens Hagen mit international renommierten Orchestern wie den Berliner und den Wiener Philharmonikern, den Wiener Symphonikern, dem Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, der Camerata Salzburg, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe, dem SWR Symphonieorchester, dem Cleveland Orchestra sowie dem NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo unter Dirigenten wie Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Claudio Abbado, Franz Welser-Möst, Ingo Metzmacher, Sándor Végh, Daniel Harding, Zoltán Kocsis und Sylvain Cambreling.

Zu Clemens Hagens umfangreicher Diskografie zählen Live-Aufnahmen von Johannes Brahms’ Doppelkonzert für Violine, Violoncello und Orchester zusammen mit Gidon Kremer und dem Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam unter Nikolaus Harnoncourt sowie von Ludwig van Beethovens Tripelkonzert zusammen mit Thomas Zehetmair, Pierre-Laurent Aimard und dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe – ebenfalls unter Nikolaus Harnoncourt. Mit Paul Gulda und Stefan Vladar spielte er sämtliche Werke für Violoncello und Klavier von Beethoven und Schumann ein. Auf seiner jüngsten Einspielung ist Clemens Hagen im Cellokonzert C-Dur von Joseph Haydn zu hören.

Als wesentliche Ergänzung seiner solistischen Tätigkeit betrachtet Clemens Hagen die Kammermusik: An erster Stelle ist hier das Hagen Quartett zu nennen, mit dem er seit über 35 Jahren weltweit konzertiert und mit dem er für die Deutsche Grammophon über 45 CDs eingespielt hat. Zu den weiteren Kammermusikpartnern zählen u.a. Gidon Kremer, Renaud Capuçon, Leonidas Kavakos, Maxim Vengerov, Christian Tetzlaff, Yuja Wang, Evgeny Kissin, Mitsuko Uchida, Martha Argerich, Hélène Grimaud, Kirill Gerstein, Stefan Vladar, Leif Ove Andsnes und Sabine Meyer.

Von Claudio Abbado wurde Clemens Hagen 2003 in dessen neugegründetes Lucerne Festival Orchestra eingeladen, in dem er bis heute Mitglied ist. Ab der Saison 2018/19 ist er der Cellist des Wiener Klaviertrios. Seit 1988 unterrichtet er an der Universität Mozarteum Violoncello und Kammermusik, seit 2003 hat er dort eine Professur inne.

Clemens Hagen spielt ein Violoncello von Antonio Stradivari aus dem Jahre 1698.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Clemens Hagen Cellist
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen