Biography

Christof Loy

Current as of November 2019

Christof Loy is one of the most sought-after theatre and opera directors of his generation. Among his many awards and honours are the German Theatre Prize Der Faust as best music theatre director for his production of Così fan tutte in Frankfurt in 2008 and an Olivier Award in 2010 for his production of Tristan und Isolde at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. His production of Peter Grimes at the Theater an der Wien was voted New Production of the Year at the 2016 International Opera Awards and in 2017 he was named Director of the Year at the same awards. In 2003, 2004 and 2008 he was voted Director of the Year in a poll of critics conducted by Opernwelt magazine.

Christof Loy studied theatre directing at the Folkwang University in his home city of Essen as well as philosophy, art history and Italian philology in Munich. He has worked as a freelance director since 1990, initially directing operas in parallel with his work in the spoken theatre, notably in Stuttgart and at the Munich Kammerspiele. By the late 1990s he had increasingly shifted his focus to the world of music theatre, where his psychological insights, honed in the spoken theatre, brought forth fruitful new interpretations.

Important stages in his career have been the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf, La Monnaie in Brussels and the Frankfurt Opera. Opera houses where he has worked over many years include the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, the Theater an der Wien, Dutch National Opera in Amsterdam and the Zurich Opera. Other engagements have taken Christof Loy to the Deutsche Oper in Berlin and the Glyndebourne Festival. He made his Salzburg Festival debut with Haydn’s Armida in 2007, returning for Theodora, Die Frau ohne Schatten and Ariodante.

Christof Loy’s most recent work includes Tannhäuser in Amsterdam, Capriccio in Madrid, Der ferne Klang in Stockholm, Don Pasquale in Zurich and Eugene Onegin in Oslo.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Christof Loy Director Direction
open gallery
Christof Loy Director Direction
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Christof Loy

Stand: Juli 2022

Christof Loy zählt zu den international gefragtesten Opern- und Schauspielregisseuren seiner Generation. Er erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Ehrungen, darunter der Deutsche Theaterpreis Der Faust 2008 als Bester Musiktheater-Regisseur für Così fan tutte in Frankfurt und den Olivier Award 2010 für Tristan und Isolde am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Bei den International Opera Awards wurde Peter Grimes in seiner Inszenierung am Theater an der Wien 2016 zur Neuproduktion des Jahres und Loy 2017 zum Regisseur des Jahres gekürt. Aus der Kritikerumfrage der Zeitschrift Opernwelt ging er 2003, 2004 und 2008 als Regisseur des Jahres hervor.

Christof Loy studierte Regie an der Folkwang-Hochschule seiner Heimatstadt Essen und Philosophie, Kunstgeschichte und Italienische Philologie in München. Seit 1990 als freischaffender Regisseur tätig, arbeitete er zunächst parallel in der Oper und im Sprechtheater, u. a. in Stuttgart und an den Münchner Kammerspielen. Ende der 1990er-Jahre verlagerte sich der Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit zunehmend auf das Musiktheater, wo ihm mit seinem im Schauspiel geschulten psychologischen Blick fruchtbare Neuinterpretationen gelangen.

Wichtige Stationen seiner Arbeit waren die Deutsche Oper am Rhein, die Opéra La Monnaie in Brüssel und die Oper Frankfurt. Zu den Opernhäusern, mit denen ihn nunmehr eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit verbindet, gehören die Bayerische Staatsoper, das Theater an der Wien, die Niederländische Nationaloper in Amsterdam und das Opernhaus Zürich. Weitere Arbeiten führten Christof Loy an die Deutsche Oper Berlin und zum Glyndebourne Festival. 2007 gab er mit Haydns Armida sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen, wohin er für Theodora, Die Frau ohne Schatten, Ariodante und Così fan tutte zurückkehrte.

Zu Christof Loys neuesten Arbeiten zählen Zandonais Francesca da Rimini und Schrekers Der Schatzgräber an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, Rimski-Korsakows Die Nacht vor Weihnachten in Frankfurt, das Schubert-Projekt Eine Winterreise am Theater Basel sowie Salome an der Finnischen Nationaloper in Helsinki.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Christof Loy Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Christof Loy Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen