Biography

Charles Castronovo

Current as of August 2019

American tenor Charles Castronovo is internationally acclaimed as one of the leading lyric tenors of his generation and has sung at most of the world’s major opera houses, including the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Paris Opéra, the Metropolitan Opera, the Vienna, Berlin and Munich State Operas, the Teatro Real in Madrid, the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brussels, the Liceu in Barcelona, the San Francisco Opera and the Lyric Opera of Chicago.

Plans for 2019/20 include two significant role debuts in Munich – Carlo (I masnadieri) and the title role in Don Carlo – as well as Alfredo (La traviata) in Vienna and Munich, Rodolfo (La bohème) at Covent Garden and Don José (Carmen) in Barcelona.

In 2018/19 Charles Castronovo sang his first Jason (Médée) at the Berlin State Opera, his first Hoffmann (Les Contes d’Hoffmann) in Baden-Baden and his first Admète (Alceste) in Munich. He also sang Alfredo in Paris, London and Los Angeles, Ruggero (La rondine) at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin, the title role in Donizetti’s Roberto Devereux in Munich, Faust in concert performances of La Damnation de Faust with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and the tenor solo in Verdi’s Requiem with the Monteverdi Choir and the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique at the Festival de Saint-Denis. Previous guest engagements include Don José at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin and in Toulouse, Tamino (Die Zauberflöte) and Roméo (Roméo et Juliette) at the Met, Gounod’s Faust in Zurich and Turin, Berlioz’s Faust in Berlin, Alfredo in Paris, Munich, Vienna and Toronto and for his Liceu debut, Lensky (Eugene Onegin) and Edgardo (Lucia di Lammermoor) at Covent Garden, Faust (Mefistofele) in Baden-Baden, Tom Rakewell (The Rake’s Progress) at the Paris Opéra and Belmonte (Die Entführung aus dem Serail) for his Salzburg Festival debut in 2006. In Munich he was additionally heard as Nemorino (L’elisir d’amore), Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni) and Gennaro (Lucrezia Borgia). He has repeatedly taken part in revivals of rarely performed works such as Gounod’s Cinq-Mars and Mireille, Lalo’s Le Roi d’Ys and Massenet’s Thérèse.

Among the orchestras with which he has appeared on the concert platform are the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and New York Philharmonic. He has also given concerts in China, Japan, Russia, Sweden and Denmark.

Charles Castronovo was named Best Male Singer at the 2019 International Opera Awards

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Simon Boccanegra Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Charles Castronovo
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Charles Castronovo

Stand: August 2019

Der amerikanische Tenor Charles Castronovo wird weltweit als einer der herausragenden lyrischen Tenöre seiner Generation gefeiert. Er ist regelmäßig an führenden Opernhäusern zu Gast, darunter das Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, die Pariser Opéra, die Metropolitan Opera, die Staatsopern in Wien, Berlin und München, das Teatro Real in Madrid, das Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brüssel, das Liceu in Barcelona, die San Francisco Opera und die Lyric Opera of Chicago.

In der Spielzeit 2019/20 wird er als Carlo (I masnadieri) und in der Titelrolle von Don Carlo zwei wichtige Rollendebüts in München geben und als Alfredo (La traviata) in Wien und München, als Rodolfo (La bohème) an Covent Garden und als Don José (Carmen) in Barcelona zu hören sein.

Charles Castronovo gab in der Spielzeit 2018/19 seine Rollendebüts als Jason (Médée) an der Berliner Staatsoper, in der Titelrolle von Les Contes d’Hoffmann in Baden-Baden und als Admète (Alceste) in München. Außerdem sang er Alfredo in Paris, London und Los Angeles, Ruggero (La rondine) an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, die Titelrolle in Donizettis Roberto Devereux in München und war in konzertanten Aufführungen in der Titelrolle von La Damnation de Faust mit dem Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra sowie in Verdis Requiem mit dem Monteverdi Choir und dem Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique beim Festival de Saint-Denis zu hören. Frühere Gastengagements umfassen u.a. Don José an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und in Toulouse, Tamino (Die Zauberflöte) und Roméo (Roméo et Juliette) an der Met, Gounods Faust in Zürich und Turin, Berlioz’ Faust in Berlin, Alfredo in Paris, München, Wien, Toronto und bei seinem Debüt am Liceu in Barcelona, Lenski (Eugen Onegin) und Edgardo (Lucia di Lammermoor) an Covent Garden, Faust (Mefistofele) in Baden-Baden, Tom Rakewell (The Rake’s Progress) an der Pariser Opéra sowie Belmonte (Die Entführung aus dem Serail) bei seinem Salzburger Festspieldebüt 2006. In München war er darüber hinaus u.a. als Nemorino (L’elisir d’amore), Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni) und Gennaro (Lucrezia Borgia) zu erleben. Charles Castronovo ist außerdem regelmäßig in Wiederaufführungen selten gespielter Werke wie Gounods Cinq-Mars und Mireille, Lalos Le Roi d’Ys und Massenets Thérèse zu hören.

Auf dem Konzertpodium war er u.a. mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra und dem New York Philharmonic Orchestra zu hören und gab Konzerte in China, Japan, Russland, Schweden und Dänemark.

Bei den International Opera Awards wurde Charles Castronovo 2019 als bester Sänger ausgezeichnet.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Simon Boccanegra Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Charles Castronovo
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen