Biography

Anne-Sophie Mutter

Current as of August 2019

Anne-Sophie Mutter is a musical phenomenon. For more than 40 years she has been a fixture in all the world’s major concert halls, making her mark on the classical music scene as a soloist, mentor and visionary. She began her international career at the 1976 Lucerne Festival. The following year she performed as a soloist at the Salzburg Whitsun concerts under Herbert von Karajan.

The four-time Grammy Award winner is equally committed to traditional composers as to the future of music. She has given world premieres of 27 works. Unsuk Chin, Sebastian Currier, Henri Dutilleux, Sofia Gubaidulina, Witold Lutosławski, Norbert Moret, Krzysztof Penderecki, André Previn, Wolfgang Rihm and John Williams have all composed for Anne-Sophie Mutter.

She also dedicates herself to numerous benefit projects and supporting tomorrow’s musical elite. In the autumn of 1997 she founded the Association of Friends of the Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation, to which the Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation was added in 2008. These two charitable institutions provide support for the scholarship recipients, support which is tailored to the fellows’ individual needs. Since 2011, Anne-Sophie Mutter has regularly shared the spotlight on stage with her ensemble of fellows, Mutter’s Virtuosi.

Anne-Sophie Mutter also takes a keen interest in alleviating the medical and social problems of our time. She supports various causes through regular benefit concerts. In 2017, for example, she performed a benefit concert for cancer research at the Fred and Pamela Buffett Cancer Center in Omaha.

Her 2019 concert calendar features performances in Asia, Europe and North and South America. In March she gave the world premiere of Sebastian Currier’s Ghost Trio at Carnegie Hall, as well as the world premiere of Jörg Widmann’s String Quartet, both of which she commissioned and are dedicated to her. In September she will appear as part of an open-air concert for the first time. The event takes place on Königsplatz in Munich and features new arrangements of works by the multi-award-winning composer John Williams, which also feature on a new CD, that will be released at the end of August.

Another focus of 2019 was Mozart’s violin concertos, which Anne-Sophie Mutter has performed throughout Europe and in the USA. Other appearances include the Beethoven Triple Concerto with Daniel Barenboim, Yo-Yo Ma and the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra in South America and Europe. She also appears with Mutter’s Virtuosi for the first time in South America.

Anne-Sophie Mutter has received numerous awards including four Grammies, nine Echo Klassik Awards, the German Record Prize, the Record Academy Prize, the Grand Prix du Disque and the International Record Prize. A double CD, Mutterissimo — The Art of Anne-Sophie Mutter, was released in 2016 to mark the 40th anniversary of her performing debut, featuring highlights from her multi-faceted discography, predominantly from the last two decades of her impressive career.

In December 2016 the Spanish Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports awarded her the Gold Medal for Merit in the Fine Arts. In January 2015 Anne-Sophie Mutter was named an honorary fellow of Keble College, Oxford. In October 2013 she became a foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2012 the Atlantic Council gave her the Distinguished Artistic Leadership Award. In 2011 she received the Brahms Prize as well as the Erich Fromm Prize and the Gustav Adolf Prize for her commitment to social projects. In 2010 the Technical University of Norway in Trondheim awarded her an honorary doctorate. In 2009 she won the European St Ulrich Prize as well as the Cristobal Gabarron Award. In 2008 Anne-Sophie Mutter was the recipient of the International Ernst von Siemens Music Prize, as well as the Mendelssohn Prize in Leipzig.

In June 2019 Anne-Sophie Mutter received the Polar Music Prize and in March 2018 Poland awarded her the Gloria Artis Gold Medal for cultural achievements, making her the first German artist to receive such an honour. She has also been awarded the German Grand Order of Merit, the French Medal of the Legion of Honour, the Bavarian Order of Merit, the Decoration of Honour for Services to the Republic of Austria and numerous other honours.

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Anne-Sophie Mutter Violinist Violin
open gallery
Anne-Sophie Mutter Violinist Violin
open gallery
Anne-Sophie Mutter Violinist Violin
open gallery
Anne-Sophie Mutter Violinist Violin
open gallery
Anne-Sophie Mutter Violinist Violin
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Anne-Sophie Mutter

Stand: August 2019

Anne-Sophie Mutter ist ein musikalisches Phänomen: Seit über 40 Jahren konzertiert die Virtuosin weltweit in allen bedeutenden Musikzentren und prägt die Klassikszene als Solistin, Mentorin und Visionärin. Ihre internationale Karriere begann sie 1976 bei den Festspielen in Luzern. Ein Jahr danach trat sie als Solistin bei den Salzburger Pfingstkonzerten unter der Leitung von Herbert von Karajan auf.

Die viermalige Grammy Award-Gewinnerin ist der Aufführung traditioneller Kompositionen genauso verpflichtet wie der Zukunft der Musik: 27 Werke hat sie bislang uraufgeführt — Unsuk Chin, Sebastian Currier, Henri Dutilleux, Sofia Gubaidulina, Witold Lutosławski, Norbert Moret, Krzysztof Penderecki, André Previn, Wolfgang Rihm und John Williams haben für Anne-Sophie Mutter komponiert.

Darüber hinaus widmet sie sich zahlreichen Benefizprojekten und der Förderung des musikalischen Spitzennachwuchses: Im Herbst 1997 gründete sie den Freundeskreis Anne-Sophie Mutter Stiftung e. V., dem 2008 die Anne-Sophie Mutter Stiftung zur Seite gestellt wurde. Im Rahmen dieser beiden gemeinnützigen Institutionen werden die Stipendiaten nach ihren individuellen Bedürfnissen unterstützt. Seit 2011 teilt Anne-Sophie Mutter regelmäßig das Rampenlicht mit ihrem Stipendiaten-Ensemble Mutter’s Virtuosi.

Wichtig ist Anne-Sophie Mutter auch die Arbeit an medizinischen und sozialen Problemen unserer Zeit. Sie unterstützt diese Anliegen durch regelmäßige Benefizkonzerte. So spielte sie im Jahr 2017 beispielsweise für die Krebsforschung am Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center in Omaha.

Anne-Sophie Mutters Konzertkalender 2019 schließt Auftritte in Asien, Europa sowie Nord- und Südamerika ein. Im März gab sie die Uraufführung von Sebastian Curriers Ghost Trio in der Carnegie Hall sowie die Uraufführung von Jörg Widmanns Streichquartett – beide neuen Werke wurden von ihr beauftragt und sind ihr gewidmet. Im September wird sie erstmals im Rahmen eines Open-Air-Konzertes auftreten. Die Veranstaltung findet auf dem Königsplatz in München statt und beinhaltet neue Bearbeitungen von Werken des mehrfach preisgekrönten Komponisten John Williams, die Ende August 2019 auch auf CD erscheinen werden.

Als Schwerpunkt des Jahres 2019 wählte Anne-Sophie Mutter Mozarts Violinkonzerte, die sie in ganz Europa und in den USA aufführte. Zu weiteren Höhepunkten zählen Aufführungen von Beethovens Tripelkonzert mit Daniel Barenboim, Yo-Yo Ma und dem West-Eastern Divan Orchestra in Südamerika und Europa. Außerdem gastiert sie gemeinsam mit Mutter’s Virtuosi erstmals in Südamerika.

Für ihre zahlreichen Einspielungen erhielt Anne-Sophie Mutter viele Preise, darunter vier Grammies, neun Auszeichnungen mit dem ECHO Klassik, den Deutschen Schallplattenpreis, den Record Academy Prize, den Grand Prix du Disque und den Internationalen Schallplattenpreis. Zu ihrem 40-jährigen Bühnenjubiläum erschien 2016 die Doppel-CD Mutterissimo — The Art of Anne-Sophie Mutter mit Highlights aus der facettenreichen Diskografie der Geigerin, primär aus den vergangenen zwei Dekaden ihrer beeindruckenden Karriere.

Im Dezember 2016 zeichnete sie das spanische Ministerium für Bildung, Kultur und Sport mit der Medalla de oro al Mérito en las Bellas Artes aus. Im Januar 2015 wurde Anne-Sophie Mutter zum Honorary Fellow des Keble College der University of Oxford ernannt. Seit Oktober 2013 ist sie ausländisches Ehrenmitglied der American Academy of Arts & Sciences. 2012 verlieh ihr der Atlantic Council den Distinguished Artistic Leadership Award. 2011 erhielt sie den Brahms-Preis sowie für ihr soziales Engagement den Erich-Fromm-Preis und den Gustav-Adolf-Preis. 2010 verlieh ihr die Technisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Universität Norwegens in Trondheim die Ehrendoktorwürde; 2009 wurde sie mit dem Europäischen St.-Ulrichs-Preis sowie dem Cristobal Gabarron Award ausgezeichnet. 2008 wurde Anne-Sophie Mutter der internationale Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis sowie der Leipziger Mendelssohn-Preis zuerkannt.

Im Juni 2019 erhielt Anne-Sophie Mutter den Polar-Musikpreis. Polen erkannte ihr im März 2018 als erster deutscher Künstlerin die Gloria Artis Goldmedaille für kulturelle Verdienste zu. Die Stargeigerin ist Trägerin des Großen Bundesverdienstkreuzes, des französischen Ordens der Ehrenlegion, des Bayerischen Verdienstordens, des Großen Goldenen Ehrenzeichens für Verdienste um die Republik Österreich und zahlreicher renommierter Auszeichnungen.

 

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Anne-Sophie Mutter Violinistin Violine
Galerie öffnen
Anne-Sophie Mutter Violinistin Violine
Galerie öffnen
Anne-Sophie Mutter Violinistin Violine
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen