Biography

András Schiff

Current as of August 2022

Sir András Schiff is among the best and most versatile pianists of our age and works internationally with leading conductors and orchestras. One focus of his career is directing piano concertos by Bach, Mozart and Beethoven from the keyboard. In 1999 he founded his own chamber orchestra, the Cappella Andrea Barca, with which — as well as with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment — he works regularly as a conductor and soloist.  

In his piano recitals, he is particularly drawn to cyclical programmes; accordingly, he has focussed especially on piano works by Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Chopin, Schumann and Bartók. Since 2004 he has performed the complete cycle of Beethoven’s piano sonatas, in chronological order, in more than twenty cities. The live recordings from the Zurich Tonhalle received the highest awards.  

In 2012, András Schiff won the International Classical Music Award in the category ‘Solo Instrument. Recording of the Year’ for his CD recording of works by Robert Schumann, Geistervariationen. His recent recordings include a 2020 album with the clarinettist and composer Jörg Widmann that features Brahms’s clarinet sonatas op. 120 alongside intermezzi for piano by Jörg Widmann dedicated to András Schiff, and a 2021 recording of both of Johannes Brahms’s piano concertos with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.  

Highlights of the 2022/23 season will include a European tour with the Cappella Andrea Barca, conducting a production of Don Giovanni at the Salzburg Mozartwoche, and Schubertiade evenings at the Vienna Konzerthaus.  

Since his early youth András Schiff has been a passionate chamber musician. From 1989 to 1998 he directed the chamber music festival Musiktage Mondsee, from 1995 to 2013 he and Heinz Holliger were joint artistic directors of the Ittingen Whitsun Concerts at the Ittingen Charterhouse, and since 1998 he has directed the concert series Omaggio a Palladio at the Teatro Olimpico in Vicenza.  

András Schiff was born in 1953 in Budapest. He began piano lessons at the age of five with Elisabeth Vadász. He subsequently continued his studies at the Franz Liszt Academy in Budapest with Professor Pál Kadosa, György Kurtág and Ferenc Rados, and with George Malcolm in London.  

András Schiff has received numerous international prizes and in June 2006 was made an honorary member of the Beethoven House in Bonn for his exceptional work as a Beethoven interpreter. In 2012 he received the Golden Mozart Medal from the International Mozarteum Foundation. He is a recipient of the Order Pour le Mérite for Sciences and Arts, and of the Great Cross of Merit with Star of the Federal Republic of Germany. He has received honorary doctorates from the University of Leeds and the Royal College of Music. He was awarded an English knighthood in 2014 by Queen Elizabeth II for his services to music.  

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

András Schiff

Stand: August 2022

Sir András Schiff zählt zu den besten und vielseitigsten Pianisten der Gegenwart und arbeitet international mit bedeutenden Dirigenten und Orchestern. Einen Schwerpunkt seiner Aufführungen bilden die Klavierkonzerte von Bach, Mozart und Beethoven unter seiner eigenen Leitung. 1999 gründete er ein eigenes Kammerorchester, die Cappella Andrea Barca, mit der er, ebenso wie mit dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und dem Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, als Dirigent und Solist eng zusammenarbeitet. 

In seinen Klavierabenden legt er besonderen Wert auf zyklische Programme, so war er vor allem mit Klavierwerken von Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Chopin, Schumann und Bartók zu erleben. Seit 2004 hat er in über 20 Städten den kompletten Zyklus sämtlicher Klaviersonaten Ludwig van Beethovens in chronologischer Reihenfolge aufgeführt. Die Live-Mitschnitte aus der Tonhalle Zürich erhielten höchste Auszeichnungen.  

Für seine CD-Einspielung Geistervariationen bei ECM mit Werken von Robert Schumann erhielt András Schiff 2012 den International Classical Music Award in der Kategorie „Solo Instrument. Recording of the Year“. Zu den jüngsten Einspielungen zählen das 2020 entstandene Album mit dem Klarinettisten und Komponisten Jörg Widmann, das neben den Klarinettensonaten op. 120 von Brahms die András Schiff gewidmeten Intermezzi für Klavier von Jörg Widmann enthält, und die 2021 erschienene Aufnahme der beiden Klavierkonzerte von Johannes Brahms mit dem Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. 

Highlights der Saison 2022/23 schließen eine Europatournee mit der Cappella Andrea Barca, eine Don Giovanni-Produktion bei der Salzburger Mozartwoche unter András Schiffs Leitung sowie Schubertiade-Abende im Wiener Konzerthaus mit ein. 

Seit früher Jugendzeit ist András Schiff ein leidenschaftlicher Kammermusiker. Von 1989 bis 1998 leitete er das Kammermusikfestival Musiktage Mondsee, von 1995 bis 2013 hatte er gemeinsam mit Heinz Holliger die Künstlerische Leitung der Ittinger Pfingstkonzerte in der Kartause Ittingen in der Schweiz inne und seit 1998 leitet er die Konzertreihe Omaggio a Palladio im Teatro Olimpico in Vicenza. 

András Schiff wurde 1953 in Budapest geboren. Den ersten Klavierunterricht erhielt er im Alter von fünf Jahren bei Elisabeth Vadász. Später setzte er sein Studium an der Franz-Liszt-Akademie in Budapest bei Prof. Pál Kadosa, György Kurtág und Ferenc Rados sowie bei George Malcolm in London fort.  

András Schiff wurde mit vielen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet und im Juni 2006 für seinen außerordentlichen Rang als Beethoven-Interpret zum Ehrenmitglied des Beethoven-Hauses in Bonn gewählt. 2012 wurde ihm die Goldene Mozart- Medaille der Internationalen Stiftung Mozarteum verliehen. Er ist Träger des Ordens Pour le Mérite für Wissenschaften und Künste und des Großen Verdienstkreuzes mit Stern der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Ehrendoktorwürden erhielt er von der University of Leeds und vom Royal College of Music. Er wurde 2014 von Königin Elizabeth II. für seine Verdienste um die Musik in den englischen Ritterstand erhoben.  

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen