Biography

William Kentridge

Current as of July 2017

William Kentridge (born Johannesburg, South Africa, 1955) is internationally acclaimed for his drawings, films, theatre and opera productions.

His practice is born out of a cross-fertilization between mediums and genres. His work responds to the legacies of colonialism and apartheid, within the context of South Africa’s socio-political landscape. His aesthetics are drawn from the medium of film’s own history, from stop-motion animation to early special effects. Kentridge’s drawing, specifically the dynamism of an erased and redrawn mark, is an integral part of his expanded animation and filmmaking practice, where the meanings of his films are developed during the process of their making. Kentridge’s practice also incorporates his theatre training.

Kentridge’s work has been seen in museums and galleries around the world since the 1990s, including documenta in Kassel, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Albertina Museum in Vienna, the Musée du Louvre in Paris, the Whitechapel Gallery in London and the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art near Copenhagen. Opera productions include Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte (Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels, Festival d’Aix-en-Provence and La Scala, Milan, amongst others), Shostakovich’s The Nose (Metropolitan Opera, New York, Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, Opéra de Lyon) and Berg’s Lulu (Dutch National Opera, Amsterdam, Metropolitan Opera, New York and English National Opera, London).

The 5-channel video and sound installation The Refusal of Time was made for documenta (13) in Kassel, Germany, in 2012; since then it has been seen in cities around the world. Other recent projects include More Sweetly Play the Dance, an 8-channel video projection shown first seen in Amsterdam in April 2015, and Notes Toward a Model Opera, a three-screen projection looking at the Chinese Cultural Revolution, made for an exhibition in Beijing in 2015; both have been presented in many other cities since. Kentridge’s ambitious public art project for Rome, Triumphs & Laments (a 500 meter frieze of figures power-washed from pollution and bacterial growth on the walls of the Tiber River) opened in April 2016 with a performance of live music composed by Philip Miller and a procession of shadow figures.

In 2010 Kentridge received the prestigious Kyoto Prize. In 2011 he was elected as an honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and received the degree of Doctor of Literature honoris causa from the University of London. In 2012 Kentridge presented the Charles Eliot Norton Lectures at Harvard University and was elected member of the American Philosophical Society and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2013 he was awarded an honorary doctorate in fine arts by Yale University. In 2015 Kentridge was appointed as an honorary academician of the Royal Academy in London.

read more collapse

Biografie

William Kentridge

Stand: August 2017

William Kentridge wurde 1955 in Johannesburg (Südafrika) geboren und hat sich mit seinen Zeichnungen und Filmen sowie Theater- und Opernproduktionen internationales Ansehen erworben.

Seine künstlerische Praxis wurzelt in der wechselseitigen Befruchtung zwischen unterschiedlichen Medien und Genres. Seine Arbeiten reagieren auf das Erbe von Kolonialismus und Apartheid im Kontext der gesellschaftlich-politischen Landschaft Südafrikas. Seine Ästhetik rekurriert auf die Geschichte des Mediums Film – von Stop-Motion-Animation bis hin zu frühen Spezialeffekten. Das Zeichnen, insbesondere die Dynamik von Ausradieren und Neuzeichnen, bildet einen integralen Bestandteil seiner zahlreichen Arbeiten in den Bereichen Animation und Film, bei denen die Bedeutungsebenen im Zuge ihres Entstehungsprozesses entwickelt werden. Kentridges künstlerische Praxis verweist auch auf seine Theaterausbildung.

Kentridges Werke sind seit den 1990er Jahren in Museen und Galerien auf der ganzen Welt zu sehen, u.a. auf der documenta in Kassel, im Museum of Modern Art in New York, in der Albertina in Wien, im Musée du Louvre in Paris, in der Whitechapel Gallery in London und im Louisiana Museum of Modern Art bei Kopenhagen. Zu seinen Opernproduktionen zählen Die Zauberflöte, die u.a. am Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel, beim Festival d’Aix-en-Provence und an der Mailänder Scala gezeigt wurde, Schostakowitschs Die Nase an der Metropolitan Opera in New York, beim Festival d’Aix-en-Provence und an der Opéra de Lyon sowie Bergs Lulu an der Niederländischen Nationaloper in Amsterdam, der Metropolitan Opera und der English National Opera in London.

Die 5-Kanal-Video- und Klanginstallation The Refusal of Time entstand für die documenta 13 im Jahr 2012 und war seither in Städten auf der ganzen Welt zu sehen. Zu weiteren Projekten der jüngeren Zeit zählen More Sweetly Play the Dance, eine 8-Kanal-Videoprojektion, die erstmals im April 2015 in Amsterdam gezeigt wurde, und Notes Toward a Model Opera, eine Projektion für drei Flächen, die sich mit der chinesischen Kulturrevolution auseinandersetzt und für eine Ausstellung 2015 in Peking entstand; beide Arbeiten wurden seither auch in zahlreichen weiteren Städten präsentiert. Ein ambitioniertes Projekt von Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, Kentridges Triumphs & Laments in Rom – ein 500 Meter langer Fries, für das Verschmutzung und Bakterienwucherungen dermaßen mit einem Hochdruckreiniger von einer Uferwand des Tibers entfernt wurden, dass Figuren entstanden –, wurde im April 2016 mit Live-Musik von Philip Miller und einer Prozession von Schattenfiguren eingeweiht.

2010 erhielt Kentridge den renommierten Kyoto-Preis. 2011 wurde er zum Ehrenmitglied der American Academy of Arts and Letters ernannt und mit einem Ehrendoktorat in Literatur der University of London gewürdigt. 2012 gestaltete Kentridge die Charles Eliot Norton Lectures an der Harvard University und wurde Mitglied der American Philosophical Society sowie der American Academy of Arts and Sciences. 2013 wurde ihm von der Yale University ein Ehrendoktorat in bildender Kunst verliehen. 2015 ernannte die Royal Academy in London William Kentridge zu einem Ehrenmitglied.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen