Biography

Quatuor Ébène

Current as of July 2019

The four musicians of the Quatuor Ébène breathe new life into chamber music through their consistently direct, open-minded perspective on the works. After studying with the Quatuor Ysaÿe in Paris and with Gábor Takács-Nagy, Eberhard Feltz and György Kurtág, the Quartet had an unprecedented victory at the ARD Music Competition in 2004. This marked the beginning of their career, which has culminated in numerous other prizes and awards.
The Quatuor Ébène’s concerts are characterized by a unique élan. With their charismatic playing, fresh approach to tradition and open engagement with new forms, the four musicians have been successful in reaching a wide audience of young listeners, communicating their knowledge in regular masterclasses at the Paris Conservatoire.
The Quatuor Ébène won the 2007 Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award and was supported by the Trust from 2007 to 2012. In 2005 the Quartet won the Belmont Prize of the Forberg-Schneider Foundation. Working with the Quartet and matching the musicians’ playing styles, Gabriele Forberg-Schneider selected their instruments, which have been made available on loan since 2009: Pierre Colombet plays a violin by Francesco Ruggeri from Cremona (c 1680) with a bow by Charles Tourte from Paris (19th century); Gabriel Le Magadure plays a violin with a Guarneri label (mid-18th century) and a bow by Dominique Peccatte (c 1845); Marie Chilemme plays a viola by Marcellus Hollmayr from Füssen (1625), previously owned by Mathieu Herzog; and Raphaël Merlin plays a cello by Andrea Guarneri from Cremona (1666/80).
The Quatuor Ébène’s numerous recordings, including works by Haydn, Bartók, Debussy, Mozart, Fauré and the Mendelssohn siblings, have won numerous awards, including the Gramophone, Echo Klassik, BBC Music Magazine and Midem Classical Awards. Their 2010 album Fiction, featuring jazz arrangements, the crossover album Brazil (2014) and Eternal Stories (2017) with Michel Portal demonstrate their unique position on the chamber music scene. In 2015 and 2016 the Quatuor Ébène was dedicated to performing song, participating in Green — Mélodies françaises sur des poèmes de Verlaine with Philippe Jaroussky, which won the 2016 BBC Music Magazine Award, and a Schubert album with Matthias Goerne, featuring arrangements for string quartet, baritone and double bass by Raphaël Merlin and the Schubert String Quintet with Gautier Capuçon.
The classical quartet repertoire remains the cornerstone of the Quatuor Ébène’s work and next season centres on Beethoven’s string quartets. In 2020 the Quartet will play a complete cycle, marking both its 20th anniversary and the composer’s 250th birthday. From April 2019 through January 2020 the Quatuor Ébène will go on a world tour with the theme ’Beethoven Live Around the World’ with concerts in North America, South America, Africa, India, Australia and New Zealand as well as Asia and Europe. The Quartet will guest in concert halls including the Perelman Theater Philhadelphia, the Sala São Paulo, the Melbourne Recital Centre and the Konzerthaus Vienna.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Quatuor Ebene string quartet
open gallery
Quatuor Ebène string quartet ensemble
open gallery
Quatuor Ebène string quartet ensemble
open gallery
Quatuor Ebène string quartet ensemble
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Quatuor Ébène

Stand: August 2018

Die vier Musiker des Quatuor Ébène hauchen der Kammermusik neuen Atem ein, indem sie stets einen direkten und unvoreingenommenen Blick auf die Werke werfen. Nach Studien beim Quatuor Ysaÿe in Paris sowie bei Gábor Takács, Eberhard Feltz und György Kurtág gewannen sie den ARD Musikwettbewerb 2004. Damit begann die internationale Karriere des Quatuor Ébène, die in zahlreiche weitere Preise und Auszeichnungen mündete.

In den Konzerten des Ensembles ist ein besonderer Elan zu spüren. Mit ihrem charismatischen Spiel, ihrem frischen Zugang zur Tradition und dem offenen Umgang mit neuen Formen gelingt es den Musikern, einen weiten und jüngeren Zuhörerkreis zu begeistern und ihr Wissen in regelmäßigen Meisterkursen im Conservatoire Paris zu vermitteln.

Das Quartett war 2007 Preisträger des Borletti-Buitoni Trust und wurde von diesem von 2007 bis 2012 unterstützt. 2005 wurde das Quartett mit dem Belmont-Preis der Forberg-Schneider-Stiftung ausgezeichnet, die den Musikern seither besonders eng verbunden ist. Zusammen mit ihnen hat Gabriele Forberg-Schneider Instrumente ausgesucht, die ihrer Spielweise und Klangvorstellung entsprechen, und ihnen diese ab 2009 leihweise zur Verfügung gestellt: Pierre Colombet spielt auf einer Violine von Francesco Rugeri, Cremona (ca. 1680), mit einem Geigenbogen von Charles Tourte (Paris, 19. Jahrhundert); Gabriel Le Magadure spielt auf einer Violine mit einem Label von Guarneri versehen (Mitte 18. Jahrhundert) und mit einem Geigenbogen von Dominique Pecatte (ca. 1845); Marie Chilemme spielt auf einer Viola von Marcellus Hollmayr, Füssen (1625), aus dem Vorbesitz von Mathieu Herzog; Raphaël Merlin spielt auf einem Violoncello von Andrea Guarneri, Cremona (1666/1680).

Die Alben des Quatuor Ébène mit Einspielungen von Werken von Haydn, Bartók, Debussy, Fauré, Mozart und den Mendelssohn-Geschwistern wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet, u. a. mit dem Gramophone Award, dem ECHO Klassik, dem BBC Music Magazine Award und dem Midem Classical Award. Das 2010 erschienene Album Fiction mit Jazz-Arrangements, das Crossover-Album Brazil (2014) und die im Mai 2017 erschienene CD Eternal Stories (zusammen mit Michel Portal) zeigen die besondere Stellung des Quartetts in der Kammermusikszene. 2015 und 2016 widmeten sich die Musiker dem Lied. Sie wirkten an dem Album Green – Mélodies françaises sur des poèmes de Verlaine von Philippe Jaroussky mit, das 2016 den BBC Music Magazine Award gewann, und veröffentlichten ein Schubert-Album mit Matthias Goerne (Arrangements für Streichquartett, Bariton und Kontrabass von Raphaël Merlin) und mit Schuberts Streichquintett mit Gautier Capuçon.

Dem klassischen Repertoire der Streichquartettliteratur gilt aber weiterhin das Hauptaugenmerk: In dieser Saison setzt das Quatuor Ébène einen Schwerpunkt auf die Streichquartette von Ludwig van Beethoven. Im Jahr 2020 wird das Quartett zu seinem 20. Bestandsjubiläum und zum 250. Geburtstag von Beethoven einen Zyklus mit allen Beethoven’schen Streichquartetten spielen.

In der Saison 2017/18 standen neben Auftritten u.a. in der Berliner Philharmonie, dem Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brüssel, der Philharmonie de Paris, dem Wiener Konzerthaus, Konserthuset Stockholm und der Carnegie Hall auch Konzerte beim Musikfest Bremen und dem Verbier Festival auf der Agenda.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Quatuor Ebène Streichquartett
Galerie öffnen
Quatuor Ebène Streichquartett
Galerie öffnen
Quatuor Ebène Streichquartett
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen