Biography

Martha Argerich

Current as of August 2017

Born in Buenos Aires, Martha Argerich began learning the piano at the age of five with Vincenzo Scaramuzza. A child prodigy, she was soon giving concerts in public. She moved to Europe in 1955 to continue her studies in London, Vienna and Switzerland, with Friedrich Gulda, Nikita Magaloff, Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli and Stefan Askenase. In 1957 she won the piano competitions in Bolzano and Geneva and, in 1965, the Chopin Competition in Warsaw. Ever since, she has been regarded as one of the world’s finest pianists.

She is particularly highly regarded for her interpretations of the virtuoso piano literature of the 19th and 20th centuries. Her broad repertoire includes works by Bach, Bartók, Beethoven, Chopin, Debussy, Franck, Liszt, Messiaen, Prokofiev, Ravel, Shostakovich, Stravinsky and Tchaikovsky.

Martha Argerich is a regular guest with the most prestigious orchestras and festivals in Europe, Japan and the USA. She is also a dedicated chamber musician, playing and recording regularly with Nelson Freire, Ivry Gitlis, Mischa Maisky, Gidon Kremer and Daniel Barenboim: ‘being part of an ensemble is very soothing for me’.

In 1996 Martha Argerich was named Officier des Arts et des Lettres by the French Government and became an Academician of Santa Cecilia in Rome in 1997. In 1998 she became artistic director of the Beppu Festival in Japan and created the International Piano Competition and the Festival Martha Argerich in Buenos Aires in 1999 and the Progetto Martha Argerich in Lugano in 2002. In 2004 she was named Commander of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication. In 2005 she received the Order of the Rising Sun, awarded by the Emperor of Japan, and the prestigious Praemium Imperiale from the Japan Art Association.

Many of her concerts have been broadcast on television around the world. Martha Argerich has recorded for EMI, Sony, Philips, Teldec and Deutsche Grammophon and her recordings have won numerous awards. Her latest disc features Mozart’s 20th and 25th piano concertos, recorded with the Orchestra Mozart and Claudio Abbado for Deutsche Grammophon.

In 2000 Martha Argerich won several awards for her EMI recordings, including a Grammy for concertos by Bartók and Prokofiev, Gramophone artist of the year and best concerto recording for the Chopin concertos, Choc du Monde de la Musique for her Amsterdam recital and artist of the year from the German Record Critics. Musical America named Martha Argerich musician of the year in 2001.

In December 2016 Barack Obama awarded Martha Argerich the Kennedy Center Honor in a ceremony in Washington DC.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Martha Argerich Piano Player
open gallery
Martha Argerich Piano Player
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Martha Argerich

Stand: August 2020

Martha Argerich wurde in Buenos Aires geboren und begann mit fünf Jahren ihre pianistische Ausbildung bei Vincenzo Scaramuzza. Als „Wunderkind“ gab sie schon bald öffentliche Konzerte. Nach ihrer Übersiedlung nach Europa 1955 setzte sie ihr Studium in London, Wien und der Schweiz bei Friedrich Gulda, Nikita Magaloff, Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli und Stefan Askenase fort. 1957 gewann sie die Klavierwettbewerbe in Bozen und Genf sowie 1965 den Internationalen Chopin-Wettbewerb in Warschau. Seitdem gilt sie als eine der besten Pianistinnen der Welt.

Sie wird besonders für ihre Interpretationen virtuoser Klavierkompositionen des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts geschätzt. Ihr umfangreiches Repertoire umfasst Werke von Bach, Bartók, Beethoven, Chopin, Debussy, Franck, Liszt, Messiaen, Prokofjew, Ravel, Schostakowitsch, Strawinsky und Tschaikowski.
Martha Argerich ist regelmäßig bei den bedeutendsten Orchestern und Festivals in Europa, Japan und den USA zu Gast. Sie ist auch eine ambitionierte Kammermusikerin, die regelmäßig mit Nelson Freire, Ivry Gitlis, Mischa Maisky, Gidon Kremer und Daniel Barenboim musiziert und Aufnahmen einspielt: „Es ist sehr wohltuend für mich, Teil eines Ensembles zu sein.“
Viele Konzerte von Martha Argerich wurden weltweit im Fernsehen übertragen. Ihre Einspielungen für EMI, Sony, Philips, Teldec und die Deutsche Grammophon erhielten zahlreiche Auszeichnungen.

Martha Argerich wurde 1996 von der französischen Regierung zum Officier des Arts et des Lettres und 1997 zum Ehrenmitglied der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom ernannt. 1998 wurde sie Künstlerische Leiterin des Musikfestivals in Beppu (Japan), 1999 rief sie den Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb und das Festival Martha Argerich in Buenos Aires ins Leben, und 2002 gründete sie das Progetto Martha Argerich in Lugano. Musical America ernannte die Pianistin 2001 zur Musikerin des Jahres. Vom französischen Ministerium für Kultur und Kommunikation wurde sie 2004 mit dem Titel eines Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres geehrt. 2005 erhielt sie vom japanischen Kaiser den Orden der aufgehenden Sonne (Goldstrahlen mit Rosette) und von der Japan Art Association den prestigeträchtigen Praemium Imperiale.

Im Jahr 2000 gewann Martha Argerich mehrere Preise für ihre Aufnahmen bei EMI, darunter ein Grammy für Konzerte von Bartók und Prokofjew, die vom Gramophone Magazine verliehenen Auszeichnungen „Artist of the Year“ und „Best Piano Recording of the Year“ für die Klavierkonzerte Chopins, der Choc du Monde de la Musique für ihr Amsterdamer Rezital und der Jahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik.

Ihre jüngste Einspielung galt Mozarts Klavierkonzerten Nr. 20 und Nr. 25, die sie mit Claudio Abbado und dem Orchestra Mozart für die Deutsche Grammophon aufnahm. Im Juli 2018 wurden ihre DG-Einspielungen in einer Gesamtausgabe veröffentlicht. Im selben Jahr brachte Warner Classics die Live-Aufnahmen von Martha Argerichs Konzerten in Lugano von 2002 bis 2016 in einer Sammelbox heraus.

Im Dezember 2016 wurde Martha Argerich eine weitere hohe Ehre zuteil: In einer Zeremonie in Washington verlieh ihr Barack Obama den Kennedy-Preis. Seit Oktober 2018 ist sie Trägerin des Verdienstordens der Italienischen Republik.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Martha Argerich Pianistin Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Martha Argerich Pianistin Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen