Biography

Luca Salsi

Current as of May 2021

Italian baritone Luca Salsi was born in San Secondo Parmense. He studied with Lucetta Bizza at the Parma Conservatory before completing his training with the baritone Carlo Meliciani. His career has taken him to the world’s leading stages, including the Metropolitan Opera in New York, La Scala, Milan, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Bavarian and Berlin State Operas, the Washington National Opera, the Los Angeles Opera, the Liceu in Barcelona, the Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, the Rome Opera, the Teatro San Carlo in Naples, the Teatro Real in Madrid and the Amsterdam Concertgebouw. He made his Salzburg Festival debut in 2015 as Don Carlo in a concert performance of Ernani under Riccardo Muti, returning two years later as Amonasro (Aida), also under Muti. At the 2019 Salzburg Festival he sang the title role in Simon Boccanegra under Valery Gergiev.

Among the other conductors with whom Luca Salsi has worked are Riccardo Chailly, James Levine, Zubin Mehta, Daniele Gatti, James Conlon, Gustavo Dudamel, Nicola Luisotti, Renato Palumbo, Riccardo Frizza, Donato Renzetti, Myung-Whun Chung, Michele Mariotti and Alberto Zedda.

Luca Salsi has taken part in two new productions to open the new season at La Scala: in 2017 he appeared as Gérard (Andrea Chénier) and in 2019 as Scarpia (Tosca). He opened the 2018 Verdi Festival in Parma as Verdi’s Macbeth, reprising the role for the opening of the 2018/19 season at the Teatro La Fenice in Venice. Among other highlights have been his role debut as Iago (Otello) with the Berlin Philharmonic, Macbeth in concert performances of Verdi’s opera under Muti in Florence, Rodrigo (Don Carlo) at the Teatro Comunale in Bologna and at the Teatro Real, Carlo (Ernani) at La Scala, Germont (La traviata) and Scarpia at the Paris Opéra, Nabucco and Gérard at the Vienna State Opera and Germont at the Met. In February 2020 he made his role debut as Alfio (Cavalleria rusticana) with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under Muti. That same year he sang Iago for the first time in Italy in a new production at the Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino. On 7 December he took part in the programme A riveder le stelle at La Scala.

In January 2021 Luca Salsi made his role debut as Ernesto in Bellini’s Il pirata at the Teatro San Carlo, followed by appearances as Rodrigo at the Teatro Pavarotti in Modena and as Rigoletto at the Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino. Plans include appearances at the Vienna State Opera, the Arena di Verona, Covent Garden, the Teatro Real, the Lyric Opera of Chicago, the Teatro San Carlo and La Scala.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Luca Salsi Baritone
open gallery
Luca Salsi Singer Baritone
open gallery
Luca Salsi Singer Baritone
open gallery
Luca Salsi Singer Baritone
open gallery
Luca Salsi Singer Baritone
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Luca Salsi

Stand: Mai 2021

Der italienische Bariton Luca Salsi wurde in San Secondo Parmense geboren. Er studierte am Konservatorium in Parma bei Lucetta Bizza und vervollkommnete seine Ausbildung bei dem Bariton Carlo Meliciani. Seine Karriere hat ihn an die bedeutendsten Bühnen der Welt geführt, darunter die Metropolitan Opera in New York, die Mailänder Scala, das Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, die Bayerische und die Berliner Staatsoper, die Washington National Opera, die Los Angeles Opera, das Liceu in Barcelona, das Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, das Teatro dell’Opera in Rom, das Teatro San Carlo in Neapel, das Teatro Real in Madrid und das Amsterdamer Concertgebouw. Sein Salzburger Festspieldebüt gab er 2015 als Don Carlo in einer konzertanten Aufführung von Ernani unter Riccardo Muti, unter dessen Leitung er hier 2017 auch als Amonasro (Aida) zu erleben war. 2019 sang er in Salzburg die Titelrolle in Simon Boccanegra unter Valery Gergiev.

Zu den Dirigenten, mit denen Luca Salsi zusammengearbeitet hat, zählen auch Riccardo Chailly, James Levine, Zubin Mehta, Daniele Gatti, James Conlon, Gustavo Dudamel, Nicola Luisotti, Renato Palumbo, Riccardo Frizza, Donato Renzetti, Myung-Whun Chung, Michele Mariotti und Alberto Zedda.

Luca Salsi wirkte in zwei Neuproduktionen zur Saisoneröffnung der Mailänder Scala mit: 2017 als Gérard (Andrea Chénier) und 2019 als Scarpia (Tosca). In der Titelrolle in Macbeth eröffnete er das Festival Verdi 2018 in Parma sowie die Spielzeit 2018/19 des Teatro La Fenice in Venedig. Weitere Höhepunkte waren sein Rollendebüt als Iago (Otello) mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, Macbeth in konzertanten Aufführungen unter Muti in Florenz, Rodrigo (Don Carlo) am Teatro Comunale in Bologna und am Teatro Real, Carlo (Ernani) an der Scala, Germont (La traviata) und Scarpia an der Pariser Opéra, Nabucco und Gérard an der Wiener Staatsoper sowie Germont an der Met. Im Februar 2020 gab er sein Rollendebüt als Alfio (Cavalleria rusticana) mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra unter Muti. Im selben Jahr sang er die Rolle des Iago erstmals in Italien – in einer Neuproduktion des Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino – und am 7. Dezember wirkte er an der Scala im Programm A riveder le stelle mit.

Im Januar 2021 gab Luca Salsi sein Rollendebüt als Ernesto in Bellinis Il pirata am Teatro San Carlo, gefolgt von Auftritten als Rodrigo am Teatro Pavarotti in Modena und als Rigoletto am Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino. Künftige Engagements führen ihn u. a. an die Wiener Staatsoper, in die Arena di Verona, an das Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, das Teatro Real, die Lyric Opera of Chicago, das Teatro San Carlo und die Scala.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Luca Salsi Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Luca Salsi Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Luca Salsi Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Luca Salsi Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Luca Salsi Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen