Biography

Lang Lang

Current as of August 2022

Lang Lang is a leading figure in classical music today – as a pianist, educator and philanthropist he has become one of the 21st century’s most influential and committed ambassadors for the arts worldwide. Equally happy playing for billions of viewers at the 2008 Olympic Opening Ceremony in Beijing or for just a few hundred children in schools, he is a master of communicating through music. 

Heralded by the New York Times as ‘the hottest artist on the classical music planet’, Lang Lang plays sold-out concerts all over the world. He has formed ongoing collaborations with conductors including Simon Rattle, Gustavo Dudamel, Daniel Barenboim and Christoph Eschenbach and performs with the world’s top orchestras. Lang Lang frequently steps into different musical worlds. His performances at the Grammy Awards with Metallica, Pharrell Williams and jazz legend Herbie Hancock were watched by millions of viewers. 

For more than a decade Lang Lang has contributed to musical education worldwide. In 2008 he founded the Lang Lang International Music Foundation, aimed at cultivating tomorrow’s top pianists, championing music education at the forefront of technology and building a young audience through live music experiences. In 2013 the Secretary General of the United Nations designated Lang Lang as a Messenger of Peace focussing on global education. 

He started playing the piano aged three, and gave his first public recital before the age of five. He entered Beijing’s Central Music Conservatory aged nine, and won First Prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians at 13. He subsequently went to Philadelphia to study with Gary Graffman at the Curtis Institute of Music. He was 17 when his big break came, substituting for André Watts at the Gala of the Century, playing Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Christoph Eschenbach.  

His boundless drive to attract new audiences to classical music has brought him tremendous recognition: he was presented with the 2010 Crystal Award in Davos and was picked as one of the 250 Young Global Leaders by the World Economic Forum. He is also the recipient of honorary doctorates from the Royal College of Music, the Manhattan School of Music and New York University. In December 2011 he was honoured with the highest prize awarded by the Ministry of Culture of the People’s Republic of China and received the highest civilian honours in Germany (Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany) and France (Medal of the Order of Arts and Letters). He has performed for numerous international dignitaries, including President Barack Obama, Pope Francis and Queen Elizabeth II. 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Lang Lang Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Lang Lang Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Lang Lang Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Lang Lang Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Lang Lang Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Lang Lang Piano Player Piano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Lang Lang

Stand: August 2022

Lang Lang gilt als Meister der Kommunikation durch Musik. Er ist weltweit als einflussreicher und engagierter Kultur-Botschafter des 21. Jahrhunderts unterwegs, nicht nur als Pianist, sondern auch als Pädagoge und Förderer. Dabei fühlt er sich in Konzerten vor einem Millionenpublikum, wie 2008 zur Eröffnung der Olympischen Spiele in Peking, ebenso wohl wie im kleinen Rahmen vor Schulklassen.  

Lang Lang konzertiert weltweit in ausverkauften Konzertsälen, weshalb die New York Times ihn als „den heißesten Künstler auf dem Planeten der klassischen Musik” bezeichnete. Er arbeitet regelmäßig mit Dirigenten wie Simon Rattle, Gustavo Dudamel, Daniel Barenboim und Christoph Eschenbach zusammen und tritt mit allen großen Orchestern der Welt auf. Dabei taucht er gerne in andere musikalische Welten ein. Seine Auftritte bei den Grammy Awards mit Metallica, Pharrell Williams und der Jazzlegende Herbie Hancock begeisterten Millionen von Fernsehzuschauern.  

Seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt setzt sich Lang Lang weltweit für die musikalische Bildung ein. 2008 gründete er die Lang Lang International Music Foundation, deren Ziel es ist, die besten Pianisten der Zukunft mit modernsten Mitteln und Unterrichtsmethoden auszubilden und junges Publikum mit Hilfe von Live-Events für die klassische Musik zu begeistern. 2013 wurde er zum Friedensbotschafter für globale Bildung ernannt. 

Lang Lang begann im Alter von drei Jahren mit dem Klavierspiel und gab bereits mit fünf Jahren sein erstes öffentliches Konzert. Mit neun Jahren trat er in das Zentrale Musikkonservatorium in Peking ein und gewann mit 13 Jahren den Ersten Preis beim Internationalen Tschaikowski-Wettbewerb für junge Musiker. Anschließend studierte er bei Gary Graffman am Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. Mit 17 Jahren gelang ihm der große Durchbruch, als er bei der Gala of the Century für André Watts einsprang und mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Christoph Eschenbach Tschaikowskis 1. Klavierkonzert spielte.  

Lang Langs unermüdliches Bestreben, ein neues Publikum für die klassische Musik zu gewinnen, hat ihm große Anerkennung eingebracht. Er wurde 2010 in Davos mit dem Crystal Award ausgezeichnet und vom Weltwirtschaftsforum in die Liste der 250 Young Global Leaders aufgenommen. Außerdem erhielt er die Ehrendoktorwürde des Royal College of Music, der Manhattan School of Music und der New York University; er wurde mit der höchsten Auszeichnung des Kulturministeriums der Volksrepublik China, in Deutschland mit dem Verdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und in Frankreich mit dem Ordre des Arts et des Lettres geehrt. Lang Lang ist bereits vor zahlreichen internationalen Würdenträgern aufgetreten, darunter Präsident Barack Obama, Papst Franziskus und Königin Elisabeth II. 

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Lang Lang Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Lang Lang Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Lang Lang Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Lang Lang Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Lang Lang Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Lang Lang Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen