Biography

Ingo Metzmacher

Current as of August 2021

Ingo Metzmacher is a passionate and committed advocate for the music of the 20th and 21st centuries. His most recent projects include the world premiere of Johannes Maria Staud’s Die Weiden at the Vienna State Opera, a new production of Shostakovich’s Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District at the Paris Opéra, and the French premiere of Wolfgang Rihm’s Jakob Lenz at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. In 2019 he conducted the Vienna Philharmonic in the first production of Enescu’s Œdipe to be presented at the Salzburg Festival.

Ingo Metzmacher has made guest appearances with the Cleveland Orchestra, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the German Symphony Orchestra Berlin, the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and Ensemble Modern. In spring 2021 the KunstFestSpiele Herrenhausen took place for the sixth time under his artistic direction.

Highlights of the 2020/21 season included a new production of Walter Braunfels’s Die Vögel at the Bavarian State Opera, a concert for the 40th anniversary of Ensemble Modern at the Alte Oper Frankfurt, and various guest conducting engagements – among them, a streaming project with the Southwest German Radio Symphony Orchestra and Pierrot lunaire at the Wiener Festwochen in a staging by Marlene Monteiro Freitas.

He is a regular guest at major international opera houses such as the Berlin State Opera, the Vienna State Opera, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, La Scala, the Teatro Real in Madrid, the Paris Opéra, and the Zurich Opera House. At the Salzburg Festival, he has conducted new productions of music theatre works by Luigi Nono, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Harrison Birtwistle and Wolfgang Rihm. He has also made frequent appearances with leading orchestras: the Berlin Philharmonic, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Czech Philharmonic, the Russian National Orchestra, the Saint Petersburg Philharmonic, the Orchestre de Paris and the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

From 1997 to 2005 Ingo Metzmacher was general music director of the Hamburg State Opera. He was subsequently chief conductor at the Dutch National Opera in Amsterdam, and chief conductor and artistic director of the German Symphony Orchestra Berlin from 2007 to 2010.

As a pianist, he has appeared in recital with Christine Schäfer, Christian Gerhaher and Matthias Goerne at the Wigmore Hall, the Aspen Music Festival, the Schubertiade in Schwarzenberg and the Salzburg Festival.

His extensive discography includes Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s complete symphonies with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, the world premiere of Henze’s Ninth Symphony with the Berlin Philharmonic, Olivier Messiaen’s Éclairs sur l’Au-delà… with the Vienna Philharmonic, Pfitzner’s Von deutscher Seele and Humperdinck’s Königskinder with the German Symphony Orchestra Berlin, and live recordings of Shostakovich’s Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District from the Vienna State Opera and Luigi Nono’s Prometeo from the Salzburg Festival.

Ingo Metzmacher is the author of Keine Angst vor neuen Tönen (2005), a passionate plea for pioneering composers such as Nono, Ives, Messiaen, Schoenberg, Varèse, Stockhausen and Cage. His book Vorhang auf! Oper entdecken und erleben (2009) explains the process behind creating a music theatre production.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Conductor Ingo Metzmacher Felsenreitschule Salzburg
open gallery
Ingo Metzmacher Conductor
open gallery
Ingo Metzmacher Conductor
open gallery
Ingo Metzmacher Conductor
open gallery
Ingo Metzmacher Conductor
open gallery
Ingo Metzmacher Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Ingo Metzmacher

Stand: August 2021

Ingo Metzmacher setzt sich konsequent und mit großer Leidenschaft für die Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts ein. Zu seinen jüngsten Projekten zählen die Uraufführung von Johannes Maria Stauds Die Weiden an der Staatsoper Wien sowie die Neuproduktion von Schostakowitschs Lady Macbeth von Mzensk an der Pariser Opéra und die französische Erstaufführung von Wolfgang Rihms Jakob Lenz beim Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. 2019 leitete er die Erstaufführung von Enescus Œdipe bei den Salzburger Festspielen mit den Wiener Philharmonikern.

Er gastierte beim Cleveland Orchestra, dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, dem NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester sowie dem Ensemble Modern. Im Frühjahr 2021 fanden die KunstFestSpiele Herrenhausen zum sechsten Mal unter seiner künstlerischen Leitung statt.

Höhepunkte der Saison 2020/21 waren die Neuproduktion von Walter Braunfels‘ Die Vögel an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, das Konzert zum 40-jährigen Jubiläum des Ensemble Modern an der Alten Oper Frankfurt sowie Gastdirigate u. a. beim SWR Symphonieorchester mit einem Streaming-Projekt und mit Pierrot lunaire in der Regie von Marlene Monteiro Freitas bei den Wiener Festwochen.

Ingo Metzmacher ist regelmäßig zu Gast an den großen internationalen Opernhäusern, darunter die Berliner und die Wiener Staatsoper, das Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, die Mailänder Scala, das Teatro Real in Madrid, die Pariser Opéra sowie das Opernhaus Zürich. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen leitete er Neuproduktionen von Musiktheaterwerken von Luigi Nono, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Harrison Birtwistle und Wolfgang Rihm. Zudem gab er zahlreiche Konzerte mit führenden Orchestern, darunter die Berliner und die Wiener Philharmoniker, das Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, das Chicago Symphony Orchestra, die Tschechische Philharmonie, das Russische Nationalorchester, die Sankt Petersburger Philharmoniker, das Orchestre de Paris und das BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Von 1997 bis 2005 war Ingo Metzmacher Generalmusikdirektor der Hamburgischen Staatsoper. Danach war er Chefdirigent an der Niederländischen Nationaloper Amsterdam und von 2007 bis 2010 Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin.

Als Pianist trat er zusammen mit Christine Schäfer, Christian Gerhaher und Matthias Goerne in der Londoner Wigmore Hall, beim Aspen Music Festival, bei der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg sowie bei den Salzburger Festspielen auf.

Seine umfangreiche Diskografie umfasst u. a. die Gesamteinspielung der Symphonien von Karl Amadeus Hartmann mit den Bamberger Symphonikern, die Uraufführung von Henzes 9. Symphonie mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, Olivier Messiaens Éclairs sur l’Au-delà… mit den Wiener Philharmonikern, Pfitzners Von deutscher Seele und Humperdincks Königskinder mit dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin sowie Livemitschnitte von Schostakowitschs Lady Macbeth von Mzensk aus der Wiener Staatsoper und Luigi Nonos Prometeo bei den Salzburger Festspielen.

Ingo Metzmacher ist Autor der Bücher Keine Angst vor neuen Tönen. Eine Reise in die Welt der Musik (2005), einem leidenschaftlichen Plädoyer für wegweisende Komponisten wie Nono, Ives, Messiaen, Schönberg, Varèse, Stockhausen und Cage, und Vorhang auf! Oper entdecken und erleben (2009), in dem er Einblick in die Entstehung einer Musiktheaterproduktion gibt.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Dirigent Ingo Metzmacher Felsenreitschule Salzburg
Galerie öffnen
Ingo Metzmacher Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ingo Metzmacher Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ingo Metzmacher Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ingo Metzmacher Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ingo Metzmacher Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen