Biography

Georg Nigl

Current as of July 2019

Whether for his celebrated appearances as Wozzeck at La Scala, Milan or his interpretations of the Bach cantatas with Luca Pianca, baritone Georg Nigl consistently inspires audiences and press alike with his passionate, authentic performances.
His close connection to music began during his childhood as a treble soloist with the Vienna Boys’ Choir and continued in his studies with Kammersängerin Hilde Zadek.
Georg Nigl now performs regularly at all the leading opera houses, including the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow, the Berlin State Opera, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, La Monnaie in Brussels and the Dutch National Opera, as well as appearing at festivals such as the Salzburg Festival, the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, the Ruhrtriennale and the Wiener Festwochen.
He has collaborated with renowned conductors including Daniel Barenboim, Teodor Currentzis, Valery Gergiev, Daniel Harding, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, René Jacobs, Kent Nagano, Kirill Petrenko and Simon Rattle and with directors such as Andrea Breth, Romeo Castellucci, Frank Castorf, Hans Neuenfels, Peter Sellars, Johan Simons, Dmitry Tcherniakov and Sasha Waltz.
Georg Nigl’s repertoire covers a broad spectrum, from the Baroque and Viennese classicism to contemporary music. He enjoys a particularly close working relationship with Wolfgang Rihm, having sung his chamber opera Jakob Lenz with great success in Brussels, Stuttgart and Berlin. Wolfgang Rihm has dedicated two song cycles to Georg Nigl.
In 2015 Georg Nigl was named singer of the year by Opernwelt magazine and his recording Bach privat with Anna Lucia Richter was awarded the Diapason d’Or in 2017.
Highlights of the 2018/19 season included Papageno (Die Zauberflöte) at La Monnaie, the title role in Monteverdi’s Orfeo and the world premiere of Beat Furrer’s Violetter Schnee at the Berlin State Opera, a staged production by Peter Sellars of Bach’s St John Passion with the Berlin Philharmonic and Simon Rattle, Figaro (Le nozze di Figaro) at the Hamburg State Opera and Don Alfonso (Così fan tutte) at the Stuttgart State Opera. He will also give various recitals and appear in concert in Vienna, Berlin, Munich, Hamburg and Amsterdam.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Georg Nigl singer baritone
open gallery
Georg Nigl singer baritone
open gallery
Georg Nigl singer baritone
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Georg Nigl

Stand: Juli 2019

Georg Nigl begeistert Publikum und Presse mit seinen leidenschaftlichen und authentischen Auftritten, etwa als Wozzeck an der Mailänder Scala oder mit seiner Interpretation der Bach-Kantaten mit Luca Pianca.
Seine enge Verbindung zur Musik begann bereits im Kindesalter als Sopransolist der Wiener Sängerknaben und setzte sich im Studium bei Kammersängerin Hilde Zadek fort.
Georg Nigl tritt regelmäßig an den führenden Opernhäusern auf, wie dem Bolschoi-Theater in Moskau, der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin, der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München, dem Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel und der Nationale Opera in Amsterdam sowie bei Festivals wie den Salzburger Festspielen, dem Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, der Ruhrtriennale und den Wiener Festwochen.
Er arbeitet gemeinsam mit renommierten Dirigenten wie Daniel Barenboim, Teodor Currentzis, Valery Gergiev, Daniel Harding, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, René Jacobs, Kent Nagano, Kirill Petrenko und Simon Rattle sowie Regisseuren wie Andrea Breth, Romeo Castellucci, Frank Castorf, Hans Neuenfels, Peter Sellars, Johan Simons, Dmitri Tcherniakov und Sasha Waltz.
Georg Nigls Repertoire weist ein weites Spektrum vom Barock über die Wiener Klassik bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik auf. Wolfgang Rihm, dessen Oper Jakob Lenz er mit großem Erfolg in Brüssel, Stuttgart und Berlin gesungen hat, hat ihm zwei Lieder-Zyklen gewidmet.
In der Kritikerumfrage 2015 der Zeitschrift Opernwelt wurde Georg Nigl zum Sänger des Jahres gekürt, und seine neueste Aufnahme Bach privat mit Anna Lucia Richter erhielt den Diapason d’Or 2017.
Höhepunkte der Saison 2018/19 umfassten Papageno (Die Zauberflöte) am Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel, die Titelrolle in Monteverdis L’Orfeo und die Uraufführung von Beat Furrers Violetter Schnee an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin, szenische Aufführungen der Johannes-Passion mit den Berliner Philharmonikern mit Simon Rattle und Peter Sellars, Figaro (Le nozze di Figaro) an der Staatsoper Hamburg sowie Don Alfonso (Così fan tutte) an der Staatsoper Stuttgart. Außerdem ist er auf der Konzertbühne in Wien, Berlin, München, Hamburg und Amsterdam zu erleben.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Georg Nigl Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Georg Nigl Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Georg Nigl Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen