Biography

Daniil Trifonov

Current as of May 2024

The Russian pianist Daniil Trifonov was named Artist of the Year by the magazine Musical America in 2019, and has conquered the classical music world as a soloist, chamber musician and song accompanist, and also as a composer. He is an exclusive recording artist with Deutsche Grammophon, and received his first Grammy Award for his 2018 album Transcendental, featuring music by Liszt.

His 2023/24 season includes return invitations to perform with the Cleveland Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic and the Orchestre de Paris. He also performs the piano concerto written for him by Mason Bates with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, and tours the USA and Europe with the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and the Philadelphia Orchestra. In addition, he undertakes a tour of Europe with the cellist Gautier Capuçon, and presents his new solo recital programme of works by Rameau, Mozart, Mendelssohn and Beethoven (among others) in Vienna, Munich, Barcelona, Madrid, Milan as well as in Boston, San Francisco and New York. Following artistic residencies at the Vienna Musikverein, at Carnegie Hall, with the London Symphony Orchestra and with the Berlin Philharmonic, in the 2022/23 season Daniil Trifonov was artist in residence with the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and with Radio France.
Daniil Trifonov is a regular guest at prestigious international festivals such as the Verbier Festival, the Tanglewood Festival, the Lucerne Festival, the BBC Proms and the Salzburg Festival. He appears regularly in recitals at leading concert halls, among them the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, the Zurich Tonhalle, the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris, the Barbican Centre and the Royal Festival Hall in London, BOZAR in Brussels, the Palau de la Música Catalana in Barcelona and Suntory Hall in Tokyo. His chamber music partners include Sergei Babayan, Gautier and Renaud Capuçon, Vilde Frang, Clemens Hagen, Joshua Bell and Matthias Goerne.
Since 2013 he has been an exclusive recording artist for Deutsche Grammophon. His discography includes the Grammy-nominated live recording of his recital debut at Carnegie Hall; Silver Age, for which he was awarded an OPUS Klassik in 2021; and the double album Bach: The Art of Life, which was also nominated for a Grammy. He has recorded three albums of works by Rachmaninoff with the Philadelphia Orchestra under Yannick Nézet-Séguin, two of which received Grammy nominations; in 2019, the third album was awarded the Best Concerto Recording of the Year award by BBC Music Magazine.
Daniil Trifonov was born in 1991 in Nizhny Novgorod, attended Moscow’s Gnessin Institute and went on to further studies at the Cleveland Institute of Music with Sergei Babayan. In 2011 he won first prize at the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition in Tel Aviv, third prize at the Chopin Competition in Warsaw and first prize and the grand prix of the jury at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. In 2016 he was named Gramophone’s Artist of the Year and in 2021 he was made a Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres by the French government.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Daniil Trifonov

Stand: Mai 2024

Der russische Pianist Daniil Trifonov wurde 2019 vom Magazin Musical America als Künstler des Jahres ausgezeichnet und eroberte die Klassikwelt sowohl als Solist, Kammermusiker und Liedbegleiter als auch als Komponist. Für das Album Transcendental mit Werken von Liszt erhielt der Exklusivkünstler der Deutschen Grammophon 2018 seinen ersten Grammy Award.

In der Saison 2023/24 folgt er Wiedereinladungen zum Cleveland Orchestra, dem New York Philharmonic, dem Los Angeles Philharmonic und dem Orchestre de Paris. Er spielt das für ihn komponierte Klavierkonzert von Mason Bates mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra, dem Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia und dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin und tourt mit dem Philharmonischen Orchester Rotterdam und dem Philadelphia Orchestra durch die USA und Europa. Mit dem Cellisten Gautier Capuçon unternimmt er eine Europatournee und präsentiert sein neues Soloprogramm mit Werken von Rameau, Mozart, Mendelssohn Bartholdy und Beethoven u. a. in Wien, München, Barcelona, Madrid, Mailand sowie in Boston, San Francisco und New York. Nach künstlerischen Residenzen im Wiener Musikverein, in der Carnegie Hall, beim London Symphony Orchestra und den Berliner Philharmonikern war Daniil Trifonov in der Saison 2022/23 Artist in Residence des Philharmonischen Orchesters Rotterdam sowie bei Radio France.
Daniil Trifonov ist regelmäßig zu Gast bei namhaften internationalen Festivals wie dem Verbier Festival, dem Tanglewood Festival, dem Lucerne Festival, den BBC Proms und den Salzburger Festspielen. In Rezitalen tritt er in renommierten Konzertsälen auf, darunter das Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, die Tonhalle Zürich, das Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris, das Barbican Centre und die Royal Festival Hall in London, das BOZAR in Brüssel, der Palau de la Música Catalana in Barcelona und die Suntory Hall in Tokio. Seine Kammermusikpartner sind u. a. Sergei Babayan, Gautier und Renaud Capuçon sowie Vilde Frang, Clemens Hagen, Joshua Bell und Matthias Goerne.

Seit 2013 ist er Exklusivkünstler der Deutschen Grammophon. Seine Diskografie umfasst u. a. den Grammy nominierten Live-Mitschnitt seines Recital-Debüts in der Carnegie Hall, das Album Silver Age, für das er 2021 mit einem OPUS Klassik ausgezeichnet wurde und das Doppelalbum Bach: The Art of Life, das ebenfalls für einen Grammy nominiert wurde. Zuvor hatte er mit dem Philadelphia Orchestra unter Yannick Nézet-Séguin drei Alben mit Werken von Rachmaninow veröffentlicht, von denen zwei Grammy-Nominierungen erhielten und das dritte vom BBC Music Magazine als beste Konzertaufnahme des Jahres 2019 ausgezeichnet wurde.
1991 in Nischni Nowgorod geboren, besuchte Daniil Trifonov das Moskauer Gnessin-Institut und setzte seine Studien am Cleveland Institute of Music bei Sergei Babayan fort. 2011 erhielt er den Ersten Preis des Arthur-Rubinstein-Wettbewerbs in Tel Aviv, den Dritten Preis des Chopin-Wettbewerbs in Warschau und den Ersten Preis sowie den Grand Prix der Jury des Moskauer Tschaikowski-Wettbewerbs. 2016 kürte ihn das Musikmagazin Gramophone zum Künstler des Jahres, und 2021 ernannte ihn die französische Regierung zum Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos und Videos

Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen